We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definetely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg / Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Will definetely return”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were spending - unfortunately - only a few nights in Nisbet Plantation Beach Club during March 2014.
The whole stay was just wonderful. We came over after 30 mins flight from St. Maarten. It started with a warm welcome already at the small airport of Nevis: immigration officer, border patrol, airport ground staff and taxi driver were most friendly people in one row. The welcome at the hotel was very friendly and warm hearted. Everything was taken care off. Hotel staff was greeting us by handshake when leaving the taxi, the vice manager came down to see us and it carried on like this. Got a wet refreshing towel together with a welcome drink. You do not see this that often in the Caribbean in comparison for instance with destinations in Asia.
The room / cottage was spotless. Super clean, uptodate, nicely decorated, enough towels etc. We had bbq/dinner by the beach and there was a very attentive and service minded atmosphere. But with a personal touch.

Next morning we got a friendly good morning by the breakfast crew. The selection of food was very good. Fresh fruits, fresh squeezed juices (!) etc etc.

Due to some other appointments we were unfortunately not able to make it for dinner to the great house. But we definitely will return in future. What a pleasure and difference in service when knowing how rough tourists (and residents) in general are being treated here on St. Maarten.

It is worth every effort and cent to come to Nevis and Nisbet and spend some quality time there. Simply GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourgainvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    83
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
101
635
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just got back from Nisbet and Nevis. We spent 6 days there and had a fantastic time. The staff was amazing. Violet and Angella were the highlights for us, although everyone was great.

It's a very nice resort - and very different than the Four Seasons on the other side of the island. We visited the Four Seasons while going on a sailing tour, and were very happy we were staying at Nisbet.

It's very quiet, relaxing, and never feels busy or rushed. The tennis courts were complimentary and its as easy to find time, they even give you complimentary rackets and balls.

The one downside is that it is on the Atlantic side of the ocean, and also windward. So it can be quite breezy.

We really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We had the smallest of the rooms and don't know why you'd need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillytraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

There is nowhere in the Caribbean like Nisbet Plantation. It is one of the few remaining hotels that still has that 'paradise island' feel to it. The beautiful gardens, decorated with hundreds of lush palm trees, as well as the stretch of private beach, both help make Nisbet the perfect holiday destination. The staff are the warmest and most friendly people you'd wish to meet, and they continue to go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but if you would like the extra space it is worth having a garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleej54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well it has taken me forever to write this but wanted to share the magic that is Nevis and the Nisbet Plantation. A perfect get-away in a relaxed and informal environment where you can laze away the hours, play tennis, swim in the sea. ok dinners in the main house a bit more formal and because it was october and dark at night we ate in every night but the food was varied and wonderful just sad we did not explore the islands restaurants but many were closed. the joy of this time of year is that it is quiet and peaceful. the plantation sits on its own beach which is great
and you get your own little cottage.

ok we did have an incident with a rat running around the room and they should have cut the coconuts off the palm trees before the hotel reopened for the season as I think it came from the tree. The horrific adventure with said rat did lead to upgrade, motorbike for the day and a massage but it took two visits for the said rat to finally leave but the staff were mortified and brilliant about it all so I would not put this off a visit and i certainly would go back

Room Tip: get your own cottage on the palm path to the beach - quiet and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a wonderful place. Total attention to detail throughout. Very well maintained & clean.

The 28 or so units of accommodation are spread wonderfully far apart in a plantation which leads down to the sea.

Breakfast is in on open sided building right down by the sea. Lunch is in yet another structure with a very large coved area & bar again right down by the sea. Dinner is in the main house. There are tables on a terrace overlooking the garden or inside. A very atmospheric bar & drawing room are used to have drinks before & after dinner.

All the food was way above average. A very high standard indeed. Wonderful plates, glasses & cutlery. All shiny & clean. What more do you want?

All the Management & Staff we met were a delight to be with.

Nisbet really is very, very good. There is a truly personal feel to this Hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for here but all the units of accommodation are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faldouet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I got married in St. Kitts in March 2014 and decided to have a short honeymoon in Nevis. We chose Nisbet Plantation based on these reviews and our wedding planner's recommendation. The staff was amazing! With the property being very small and intimate, all the staff members knew our names and knew we were newlyweds.

We decided to upgrade to a meal plan that included breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. I highly recommend doing so, the thursday night beach bbq was excellent with a fun atmosphere and friday night dinner in the great house was delicious with a very elegant feel.

Our little cottage was very clean and had everything we needed, including a screened in porch that was very enjoyable at night. The cottage was a short walk to the private beach and beach bar. The drinks at the beach bar were great and the bartenders were fun as well.

Our visit was not long enough, only 3 days. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can! The hotel also arranged all of our transportation upon departure- all the way to SKB.

Room Tip: The "superior rooms" are the small cottages, all are created equal- very quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Nisbet Plantation Beach Club in March 2014! We would highly recommend a visit here if you are looking for a beautiful location with a private beach, great food, friendly staff, and excellent accommodations.

After a long day of travel getting to Nevis, we were immediately greeted at the airport by a smiling Nisbet staff member ready to take us to the resort. After a couple of taxi rides sandwiched around a short water taxi, we arrived at the Nisbet Plantation. How nice it was to be greeted there by friendly people and a tropical cocktail to boot! It was a great end to a long day of travel and a wonderful way to begin our stay.

Our cottage had everything we needed, was very clean and well-maintained, and most importantly a very short walk to the private and beautiful beach. We spent a great deal of time just relaxing in either the beach chairs under the large wooden umbrellas or in the great hammocks, reading our books, listening to the ocean as a gentle breeze kept us comfortable. These were some of the best moments of our trip just relaxing and enjoying the setting. Of course, the helpful staff would check on us occasionally to see if we needed water or a cocktail. We could've spent many more days just doing this!

Being that we wanted to experience the culture of the island a bit, we did want to do some site seeing. The Nisbet staff could quickly arrange for a taxi to anywhere we wanted to go. The taxis were expensive so we inquired about renting a car. The staff made a quick phone call and within 20 minutes we were sitting in our rented car ready to hit the road. It was honestly the easiest rental car transaction I've ever experienced, including getting the temporary license to drive in Nevis. The car was $50/day and gave us a great deal of flexibility to get anywhere we wanted to go on the island whenever we wanted. If you do not plan to spend all of your time at the resort, we'd definitely recommend renting a car. For those unaccustomed to it, you will have to drive on the left-hand side of the road. However, traffic is light and driving was easy with one primary road that travels around the island.

The staff at Nisbet are outstanding. They are friendly and greet you whenever they see you. Most will call you by name which is amazing when some have only met you once before! So, we tried to learn as many of their names as we could as well. They helped us promptly with so many things - getting a taxi, a rental car, dinner reservations, snorkeling equipment, drinks, extra towels and coffee for our room, etc. The staff genuinely seemed happy to help with whatever they could. Kasey even helped us get a large number of EC coins so that my wife (a teacher) could take them home as gifts to her students. We never had to worry about anything. Service is clearly a priority at Nevis.

We had an early morning flight when we left Nevis. The staff arranged the taxis and water taxi to the airport as early as 5:00am so that we could make our flight on time. Everyone seemed happy to help us despite the early departure. It was a stress free event getting to the airport on time.

The food is also excellent at Nisbet. The breakfast has everything you could want. Lunches were light and simple but delicious. It was great to eat breakfast and lunch right on the beach in the open air. The only dinner we attended was the Monday night "surf & turf grill". The food was excellent. We did not attend dinners in the Great House. We've heard the food there is also excellent. Our issue was the dress code. We wanted to pack light and mostly brought casual clothes. We didn't want to pack a lot of extra clothes for several nights of dinners in the Great House. So, this was for our own convenience more than anything else.

We highly recommend Nisbet Plantation Beach Club and would definitely stay there again. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here for a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
193 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
2.2 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing