We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston WV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

My wife and I were looking for a break from the winter cold (from West Virginia) and some time to relax and reconnect. This is the place that supposts all of the above. The weather was perfect 75-85; the service at Nisbet is very strong...a highly integrated team and this show thru all their activities. Jamie is a very visible, competant gm. The guest are about one half from the US and the other half the UK, which we enjoyed.

I am a road cyclist and this is a reccomedned activity to do with the locals. They had my rental road bike wiating for me on my arrival.

It is really a good spot and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    83
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
98
629
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

After due diligence we decided on Nisbet Plantation.

We are a family of 2 medical professionals with children aged 9 and 4 when we traveled.

Cleanliness is the rule not the exception.

Service is STELLAR! Staff knew us always and were present but unobtrusive. They went the extra mile to engage our 4 year old. He was quite shy at the beginning but with the warmth and persistence of the staff he was blossoming by the time he left. They really get the whole experience of family travel.

Our room was tastefully modest and the AC worked quite well with the ceiling fans. Water pressure on the showers was low but we did have hot water. A room deficiency was noted and swiftly dealt with by the staff.

Breakfast, lunch & tea were as expected but dinner was always upscale. Wine list was also nice.

The location on the island was nice but the beach was a bit more rough than the Caribbean side. My 4 year old still liked it.

I would come here if I was looking for: rest, relaxation and desire a beautiful location.

I would not come here if I was looking for: wild times and crazy nightlife.

Bottom Line: A great place to escape to and reconnect with your family without excess distractions. After a week here, I feel this is the best investment we have ever made in a family vacation. I got to play with my kids and wife in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlothianVAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Our family recently visited Nevis from a nearby island. Our stay at Nisbet was the icing on the cake of truly wonderful trip. While Nisbet's clientele is generally a bit older, and travelling without children, the staff made my two boys (9 & 6yrs) feel completely at home, pampered and well cared for. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfasts at the beach pavillion, dips in the pool and exploring their lovely beach and grounds. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Nisbet's caring and dedicated staff members are... From the general manager, to the restaurant staff , to housekeepers, groundskeepers and the executive chef, everyone had warm smiles and kind words not only for us, but seemingly all their guests, all of whom they seemed to know by name. A wonderful gem of a hotel on a gem of an island!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgyal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is an absolutely ideal place to honeymoon. It's a perfect place to relax, and if you're in the mood for a little adventure, they offer excursions during the day as well. My husband and I can't imagine spending our first week together anywhere else. We decided after the busy wedding weekend we had in New York, we couldn't wait to just sit on the beach. We also went horseback riding and took a hike up the gorgeous mountain which was guided by "Jungle Jim," their very enthusiastic and informative tour guide. October was a perfect time to be there, it was never too hot, not to mention we felt like we had the resort to ourselves! During the month after they first reopen isn't usually busy. Our favorite part of the day was lunch on the beach, what a rare treat to be served so close to the ocean. Nisbet is the ideal place for a romantic getaway, but if you're a single person looking to meet people, this is not the place for you. There is one party during the week on Thursday which was lots of fun, but any other sort of nightlife was nowhere to be found. This was perfect for us though, such a romantic time!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashpanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a truly wonderful place to stay. The staff were as sunny and warm as the weather, always helpful and never intrusive. They seem to really enjoy their work and it showed. All deserve an accolade, too many to name individually so here's an edited list (with apologies to those omitted): Violet, Angelina (?), Glendina, Melissa, Roslyn, Kaddy, Dan and of course Patterson. A huge thank you to all for giving the best service that my husband and I have experienced anywhere in the caribbean - and we've been to many places.

We stayed in Gingerland, a bungalow at the far end from the Great House (so no one walking in front of our room). It was decorated to a good standard, was clean, cool, quiet and hoorah! plenty of hot water.

The beach was cleaned every morning, glasses of iced water brought around without having to ask..... A couple of brave individuals went out on windsurfers. Snorkelling not so good although the reef just around to the north (by the fishermens' boats) had more fish. We went on the catamaran half day sail and snorkel to a reef off St Kitts where there was more to see, that was a really enjoyable morning. We also climbed Nevis, not advisable for the unfit. Amazing views from the top. Can't comment on the Spa as we were too busy enjoying everything else to book a massage.

The smart dress code for dinner is an excellent idea, after a day in beach wear I really appreciated putting on pretty clothes. Do try the Fanny Nesbit Marguerita! The other guests were lovely and we've made some long-term friends. Dining was excellent, to a standard very rarely seen in the caribbean, and the wine list extensive and of a high quality.

Possibly the best for us would be the staff whom I cannot praise highly enough. Only drawback was the snorkelling/sailing. That apart, we visited the other hotels and agreed that we'd definitely made the right choice of where to stay. By a mile.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca99Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Without question one of the most pleasant resort experiences we have ever had!!!!
While visiting St Kitts we popped over to Nevis for a short stay, and it was the highlight of our trip. Upon check in at Nisbet Plantation we were greeted with the warmest smiles, and perfectly refreshing rum punch. The staff immediately knew our name, and we were greeted accordingly from then on. The beach was quiet; the views were beautiful, and the room was most comfortable. Upon arriving for dinner we were joined by the GM (Jamie Holmes) who delighted us with conversation, and a brief history of the property, while we enjoyed our cocktails. "What a treat" it was like we were old friends. It is a place to be remembered.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gg245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This was our 6th visit to an island in the Caribbean and Nevis emerged as our favourite to date. The Nisbet Plantation Beach Club is the epitiome of relaxed elegance within a beauttiful and spacious setting. The cottage within the grounds was excellent and we appreciated the bath as well as a shower. It was equipped with everything we required including minibar and tea/coffee-making facilities. For us the highlights were the wonderful beach and pool, the elegance of the dining room, the amazing food and the attentive staff. We have yet to retrace our footsteps in the Caribbean but after the Nevis experience, we are sorely tempted!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardWiltshiireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
15.4 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing