We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxed and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxed and elegant”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We spent 5 days here in early March. With all the great reviews on TripAdvisor, we had high expectations for our stay at Nisbet. Happily we weren't disappointed. The accomodation are relaxed and comfortable with wonderful views of the beach and breaking waves. Everything was clean and well laid out. The staff were every bit as friendly and welcoming as represented in hundreds of prior reviews. Everyone really does know your name. Nisbet is not the right place for people who want ultra-posh accomodations with 50' flat screen TVs or need to have high-end golf and tennis. The Four Seasons is the place for you. Nisbet is about relaxing and slowing down in wonderful setting with really nice people. Make no mistake, there is plenty to do on Nevis - but doing most of it involves leaving Nisbet. When we visited, the clientele was on the older side, and we aren't young so be prepared for a more sedate crowd. Nevertheless, the Thursday night barbecue party was a blast with a great band. The food was excellent; however, the secret is out and the wait staff seemed a little overwhelmed with an influx of diners from the Four Seasons. We would definitely go back; although, unfortunately, given the expense it won't be soon as we would like. Many thanks to Steve for having the patience to expalin cricket to some uninformed Americans.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mombythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    83
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
104
638
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We have recently returned from our 5th visit to Nisbet, and we will go back again and again.
Nisbet is to us a paradise, offering a beautiful physical location coupled with Class A guest quarters, and outstanding food, and, importantly to us, an atmosphere of serenity.
What sets Nisbet off so dramatically from other resorts, however, is its staff. You are treated as family by all of the staff, but as very pampered members of the family. They delight in taking good care of you. Nothing is too much for them to do for you.
If you are looking for relaxation in a highly civilized manner, and being looked after by a very warm and gifted staff, Nisbet is the perfect place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Facilities give a valid plantation experience. Restaurant one of the best in Carribean. Beach nice but for water sports is a disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsmith727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We got married at Nisbet Plantation in April 1999 and finally managed to return this year, and it was just as wonderful as we remembered. It is so relaxing to be there and so different from other hotels in the Caribbean or elsewhere. We love Nisbet because of its setting and the way the rooms are scattered throughout the grounds and the staff are so friendly and the food is excellent. We also like its history and links with Nelson and the elegance of the Great House captures the past. This time, we visited with four friends, who were not with us for our wedding on our original trip, and they too loved staying there and none of us wanted to leave. We will be back again, just as soon as we can, to our island paradise as Nisbet Plantation is just perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevis
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at Nisbet Plantation 11 years ago this month for our wedding anniversary. The staff was so warm and friendly that we felt like special family, and we returned several times. They would go out of their way to accomodate food allergies or do extra things like finding a small piece of my artist's easel which had been lost in the sand. Because they showed us that Nevis is a special island, and Nevisians very warm and caring individuals, we purchased a home on the island. We have talked to other homeowners here who have the same story.

Nisbet continues to cater to each and every guest --- even those who just stop for a cold drink or a meal. We hear it from guests whenever we stop by. Last week we celebrated our anniversary with friends at the Beach Barbecue and they outdid themselves for us! What a memorable evening! Thank you Nisbet family!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancytheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week in early Feb 2011.
The cottages in the grounds were well spread out, and were charming with shutters and fans, we did not need the air con. Monkeys and humming birds frequent visitors. American manager pro Americans and best avoided. All other staff charming.
The hotel is actually on the atlantic coast, a guarded secret. The weather was too windy to sit on the beach or swim for the first 4 days. It then warmed up and was pleasant. Plenty of carribean beaches near by but a car is a must. Easily booked locally. All beaches have active pelicans, flying and diving close to shore for fish. I could watch them for hours.
Some nice restaurants around, beach and inland, lunch and evening, but we found it impossible to get B+B at Nisbet.
Snorkelling is advertised on both Nevis and St Kitts but we found none ! Locals say the hurricanes have changed the beaches.
Our day trip to St Kitts was marred by an overbearing traffic warden and cruise ship beaches. The ferry info was confusing so really check it out. We went from Cades Bay on a converted US landing craft called " Sea Bridge ". Often runs late, but fun, and used by locals. If in doubt ask them to park your car, they are much more experienced ! You have to reverse up the ramp for starters.
It is incredibly quiet ! Client age range newly weds and 50 - 80 yr olds. I felt young at 56 ! Nisbet run a beach BBQ Thursdays, attended by locals from about 9pm, with music and dancing.
If you are feeling VERY fit climb MT Nevis. The peak clears 10 - 2. I climbed at 7.30 am in the cool, but stood in cloud at the top. 5 hr round trip from hotel.
Value for money - it IS expensive. My husband felt the rooms could have been more high tech, and I preferred their simplicity. It is thought that price keeps out the rif-raf. Nisbet have an expansion plan so check for ongoing building works.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexKipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

recently my wife and I visited Nisbet Plantation for the second time, and without question it was more enjoyable than our first incredible experience. It is truly amazing that after a year the staff still remebers our last visit, and greets us by name. On one particular morning we did not show for breakfast, and upon showing the following AM we were asked if we were Ok. Two different people from the AM staff noted that we did not show, and inquired if all was well. As one other reviewer stated "you are not treated as a guest of the resort; you treated as family would be".

That said: upon reading other comments; you've got to be kidding!!!! A complaint about the wind in the palm trees, and no wifi. I had no issue connecting to the wifi in the Great House. Each night we would get a pre dinner cocktail, and check what ever we needed to on the internet. As for the wind in the palms: it was the perfect music to close yours eyes to each and every night. Another complaint that I thought was a bit much was: a self proclaimed amateur cooks' claim that they could out do the Kitchen staff. Being that I am a trained chef; now wine industry professional, I would like to see the the "Bobby Flay throw down" they were pushing for. The food was extremely flavorful and delicious, the doneness of meats and fish pefect; while the presentation was eye catching. That guest would be running for the boats in shameful defeat.

Nisbet is #1 for a reason, and I strongly feel that they deserve it. you will too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
5.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
11.9 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
2.2 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Property: Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service that has helped Nisbet Plantation be recognized as one of the top Caribbean hotels. Vacation at a top Caribbean hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing