We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful, relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“peaceful, relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

One of the best vacations to date.
Beautiful, immaculate cottages with breath-taking views and cozy atmosphere. Lush grounds with interesting flora and keep your eyes open, there are more vervet monkeys on this island than residents.
Wonderfully welcoming and helpful staff. They truly do treat everyone like family.
The food is second to none. Everything we tried was delicious. Don't miss the Tuesday evening barbeque - and save room for the lobster and key lime pie.
Easy to get around the island. Front desk staff were very good with providing info and looking after transportation. Taxis were readily available.
Everyone we talked to encouraged us to come back to the island.
Beach was nice and water good for swimming but if you're looking for snorkeling this is not the place.
Water taxi is expensive and getting from airport to water taxi was a long, bumpy ride. Taking the ferry at Charles town was more economical and convenient.
Hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovecayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    146
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
45
235
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

ok bear with me this is my first review..
We found Oualie on Travel Advisor read a few reviews and choose it for our 20th Anniversary trip, and my God we could not have chosen a better place to go.. Our cabin on the beach was awesome kept clean and tidy by the awesome staff (they'll even do your laundry if you want), the girls at the desk Nakida and Faith were so helpful with planning all sorts of fun things even helping me surprise my hubby and dig out special souvenirs.. they arranged snorkeling trips, scuba trips, got cabs for us let us know all the great places to check out on the island and in all ways helped to make our trip better.. the restaurant food well let me tell you Chef Micheal is incredible and turned me into a seafood lover, and is even swapping some recipes with me..the restaurant has great staff, Tim is the best waiter ever and I mean the best he set up tables for us out on the beach always remembered our names and gave the best service even found tea for me, we saw him in Charlestown one day and he stopped to talk and made sure to let us know where the best bakery and gift shopping was found.. And friendly everyone was so friendly always stopping to talk and make sure we were having a good day.. even the fishing boat guys were awesome took us out one morning and my hubby caught 9 fish!! The guests were friendly and we made some friends we have kept in touch with..
Our cabin was literally steps away from the sand and water, cleaned daily by friendly staff and the rooms come with screens on all the windows and around the deck, air conditioners and large fans on the vaulted ceilings..they even leave a large water bucket for you to rinse the sand off your feet by the door. The grounds are very well kept with conch shells around the flower beds and trees..The beach is wonderful with quiet areas in front of the cabins or the larger public area for visitors and whoever else.. If you want a laid back relaxing trip or want to cram as many fun things as you can this is the place for families, couples, business, or whoever..
I can't say enough about Oualie and the staff and can guarantee my hubby and I shall be back numerous times!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Nestled into the Oualie Beach this unassuming collection of cottages and rooms hosted by a more than Friendly, Knowledgeable, and Cordial Staff has to be one of the best values on Nevis. Nothing austentacious here which is a good thing for a relaxing and fruitful holiday/vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dickd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Oualie beach was as wonderful as we had hoped in terms of its location and style. Our room was a few paces from the beach with its plentiful hammocks and sun loungers. The room was spacious and high ceilinged with (screened) windows on three sides meaning we could have a lovely breeze blowing through if we didn't want the air con on. It was on two levels with the bed area a couple of steps higher than the sitting area. This meant we could lie in bed and look out at the sea. This was especially appreciated as we both developed colds a few days after getting there and spent more time lying in bed (or under a tree) than usual!  Having wifi in the room and on tne beach was great as well. Unfortunately it disappeared after a couple of days and did not fully come back for a few days after that.  The telephone company was having a problem apparently - not something management could fix.

We were all-inclusive which caused some initial misunderstanding but was quickly and graciously resolved.  All our meals were taken in the beachside restaurant and were waitress-served from a menu.  The food was good - especially the soups and steaks - but the service was sometimes inexplicably slow. I would actually have preferred a buffet service more frequently - in particular for breakfast, which seems to work well in most hotels.

The rooms had everything you need and it all worked.  It was cleaned daily and fresh towels always provided. We were pleased to be able to borrow a kettle and (due to incorrect information on a knowledgeable-looking website) an adapter for  power sockets  (three pin but not like the UK). Everything is clean and functions well enough but is all slightly tatty. Another reviewer remarked that regular low-level maintenance would make a big difference  and this is probably true: small tears in the screens, loose screws on fittings, missing plug, sticking windows.  The air con worked despite the fact bits were missing. I have found all this to be fairly typical of the type of hotels we have stayed in the Caribbean, so would not use it as a particular criticism of the Oualie Beach. The individuality is so much nicer than slick and shiny chain hotels.

There are only a few things to see if you want to snorkel from the beach -at the far right end of the beach among the rocks. The sea was nice to swim in but a bit on the murky side for good visibility. The trees on the beach are great for shade and always plenty of sun-loungers. In fact, quite often there were only half a dozen people on the beach.    We used the bus to come and go from Charlestown and can recommend this as a way of getting about.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the whole place is very quiet and relaxing. I would certainly recommend it - it is a great pleasure to think back to lying  in a shady hammock swaying in the breeze with the waves gently breaking a few feet away.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clottieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent a week at Oualie Beach Resort and it was the most relaxing week. When you read that your cottage is steps away from the beach it is truly steps away! Plus there are hammocks to lie in. The staff is lovely and welcoming. Loved our room on the first floor. Enjoyed meeting all the guests who were friendly and very nice. This is truly a very special relaxing resort. And if you like to swim, consider doing the Nevis to St Kitts 2.5 Swim in March! It will be an experience that you will remember forever. I will!
Sonia Bendt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoniaBendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent one night at the Oualie Beach Resort on Nevis while we were waiting for our villa to be available. The staff here was very efficient and accomodating. They arranged for a taxi from the airport to the water taxi for us which was quite convenient. Upon our arrival, we were welcomed with either a fruit or rum punch. (The rum punches are delicious!) Rooms are in small cottages overlooking the sea with porches. They were very clean and also had coffee pots and a small refrigerator. We were pleasantly surprised that they had given us a extra cot in our room as we had two teen boys who don't relish the idea of sleeping in the same bed! Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was very good. All in all we had a very pleasant stay here and would recommend it!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, I would choose a room away from the restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mustangsally685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent 10 days at Oualie. Very satisfied with our stay. A few plumbing issues with our efficiency unit.However, these issues were resolved in a few days.A Great staff at Oualie Beach. Friendly, accommodating. Our unit was clean & spacious. 55 steps to the shore isn't bad either. Nice beach. onsite restaurant & bar offered good food & drink. John Yearwoood can play a mean guitar as well on entertainment nights.Rent a bike from Winston Crooke next door to the resort. Or go scuba diving or snorkeling from the onsite dive center.Plenty to do or nothing to do except chill if that's what you want. Our third year at Oualie & it won't be the last. If you're looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it. But if you're looking for a true island experience I highly recommend Oualie Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thanks for a great review. We have a wonderful location at Oualie Beach Resort, but you are absolutely correct that our friendly, genuine staff are our best asset. With our new engineer "Buzz" on board, maintenance issues are now fixed more rapidly. Of course I have to agree with your fine assessment of my guitar playing (and vocals!) but dont forget the other regular musicians that also play on Tuesday and Friday nights like Snowflakes, Frank, Per, Livi and Annelise on steel pan. Also "Baba Tungi" on pan every Wed night at the Managers cocktail party. What I love about the music evenings are that the band consists of whoever happens to be on island and shows up!. Neuro surgeon Jack on lead guitar last month was brilliant and Per has brought in lots of fans all Winter long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Property: Oualie Beach Resort
Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing