We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise is tempting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 June 2013

What can one say about Paradise! Worth every minute. Great place, great people great stay. We look forward to our next return trip. The staff were very friendly and make you feel at home. Great that every effort is made to put on some live music. We were very lucky to coincide with some really special musicians to add to john's very own special talent as resident musician and manager. Well done all round and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was our third time at Oualie and as before,it was a great stay. The rooms are clean and anything you need all you have to do is to ask Faith or Pat or whom ever is at the desk. We had breakfast included, which I would recommend. The omelette are delicious, pancakes light and fluffy, and breakfast tacos (my favorite) very tasty! We had the seafood buffet which was great, the best seafood bisque I have ever eating. It was even better than the bisque we had at Nisbet Plantation.
We dove with Ellis at Scuba Safaris...great operation, safety minded, they pointed out a lot of critters. Everyone on the staff is great: Duece, Myron, (made us delicious Lion Fish), Ryan, and Valerie.

Room Tip: Cottages on the beach, just a few steps from the sand and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Having travelled to Nevis many times, we always find ourselves coming back to Oualie Beach. When you need to find somewhere to wind down, recharge the batteries and have a completely chilled time, this is the place to come. We have just returned from a week's holiday, yes you may think it's a long way to travel from the UK, but it's worth every penny. From the time you step on to the quay following the excitement of travelling across the water from St Kitts, taking on board the view of Mount Nevis, time seem's to stand still. The accommodation is set right on it's own beach and the service we endured was first class, being made very welcome by all who worked there, including members of the Learwood family and their friends. Within the open air restaurant there are many special evenings put on for the quests, varying from 3 course meals to buffets to bbq's, served with a good choice of wine, local beers and this may sound a bit odd, but lovely ice cold Nevis tap water, to us this tasted so refreshing. On a few evenings within the bar, entertainment is put on by the locals and members of the staff. This usually turns into a jamming session, especially with the in take of a few local ice cold beers - the night seems to go so quick when you're enjoying yourselves. Then it's back to the beach in the morning, it's a hard life, but it's well worth the visit, you should try it sometime.


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wonderfullychilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Doug and I just had the most relaxing week at Oualie Beach Resort! It was even better the second time around!! Loved our beach facing room which was scenic and peaceful. Loved waking up early in the morning and listening to the birds singing as the ocean glistened. Absolutely loved learning to scuba dive with the best instructor (Deuce) who I trusted with my life underwater. The staff starting with Stacy was terrific and welcoming ... everyone is super nice and has the best attitude. Tim and Jaynelle at the restaurant were always super friendly and so was everyone else. John, one of the owners is super nice too. What can I say but that I wish I was still there!!! Will return again! Thanks to everyone at Oualie for making our vacation special! Best, Sonia

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaBendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel arranged to have transportation for us when we arrived at the St. Kitts airport. We were promptly picked up at the airport and taken to a dock on Reggae Beach to get on a boat to take us to Nevis and the hotel - the captain also offered us a beer - what service!!

Upon arriving at the dock in Nevis - we had to get our luggage from the dock to the hotel office as no one was there to assist us. Check in was a breeze. We went to our room which was kind of like a little cottage duplex. A LARGE room with a screened in porch right on the beach. The room had a 4 poster queen bed that was quite comfortable, a sleeper sofa, a chair, coffee maker, refrigerator, safe, ample closet and big dresser. The bath room had seen its better days and could use a bit of a face lift.

The hotel bar is also right on the beach and has a full bar plus the local beers. They make a mean rum punch !!!

Food - you may want to look for another place to eat. Every thing we ordered from the restaurant beside sandwiches, came out so over done, it was hard to eat.

If you are looking for a luxury resort with tons of amenities, this is NOT your place - if you are looking for quiet and relaxation - this IS your place!

The staff at the hotel is very accommodating and super nice.

Our main purpose for choosing this hotel was because it is right next to the dive shop

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sfarmer1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I cannot recommend this resort enough - it's grounded in a way so many touristic beach resorts aren't, it feels fresh and genuine and true to the spirit of the Caribbean. And is also clean and efficient and has everything you'd need. My room was 10 metres from one of the most beautiful bays on the island and was spacious and beautiful, with a huge four-poster bed and enormous TV. The staff were helpful and wonderful people and the food was delicious - don't miss the banana pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Over Easter we took a BA Holiday all inclusive deal to the Oualie (pronounced Wahlee) Beach Resort on Nevis, in the West Indies (or Caribbean if you prefer). It was a BA Boeing 777 from Gatwick, which we thought was non-stop to St Kitts, but you do in fact stop off at Antigua to refuel, which seems a little odd, as the flight to St Kitts is only about 15 minutes. The "short stop" is in fact about an hour, but you do remain on the aircraft. Once at St Kitts, you are shepherded to waiting mini buses, which transport you to the end of the island, where the "Sea Brat", awaits to ferry you the 2 miles or so to Nevis. Arrival is at Oualie Beach's own jetty, where your bag are whisked away in bright yellow hand trolleys. After a welcoming run punch, we were shown to our chalet at the back of the beach.
The chalet, which we dubbed a shed, was largely clean and spacious, but dated. All the furniture was way past its best, as was the basin and fittings in the bathroom. On the plus side though, the air-condition was excellent, and the beds very comfortable. Soaps and shampoo was provided, together with face flannels and towels, though these and the bed linen had a noticeable grey tinge.
It had been raining the day of our arrival, so we assumed the lack of rays was the reason the water in the taps and shower, which was solar heated, was cold. However the second day and a full day of sun failed to rectify the situation, so, noting the control panel was off, we told the reception of the situation and the next day hot water was in abundance!
Food the whole week we were there was excellent and would go all inclusive again if we return. Unfortunately the staff in the restaurant and bar, weren't particularly friendly, with the exception of Tim who was in attendance most evenings. He was welcoming, amusing and the highlight of our evening meals. He is a real asset to the hotel! We were concerned about what drinks were included and what no, but anything in the bar was included, regardless of brand. Wine however, available with dinner, was extremely expensive. Personally I found the local Carib beer a good substitute!
I must mention the buffet evening. Before serving ourselves from the buffet, one of the waitresses asked if we would like lobster or shrimp too. I expected this to be an expensive addition to the bill, but no, half a large lobster arrived on a plate! My wife had the "shrimp" that appeared to be teenage offspring of the lobster! Really good, as was the buffet.
The beach was long and sandy, with shallow water reaching far out, making it ideal for swimming, snorkeling and children. Needless to say the water was pleasantly warm. I did snorkel, but failed to spot anything of interest apart from the sandy bottom and passing seaweed...
There was an ample number of sun lounger, with occasional hammocks to relax in, with sufficient trees to keep out the direct sun if you preferred. The shed, sorry, chalets, had a screened porch so you could sit there too if desired. Most of the time there was a breeze which was pleasantly cooling and presumable kept insects at bay as only 2 or 3 mosquitos were spotted in the week we were there.
Several trip could be booked from the hotel, from horse riding to deep sea fishing. We plumped for the round island tour, by taxi. You certainly get to places you would never find if you rented a car, but the roads are winding and undulating. Not recommended if you are travel sick....as I discovered!
To summarise. An excellent place to unwind, if you don't expect luxury. Good value for the area and even with the negatives,we would return again.

Room Tip: I know some travellers have said some of the chalets, near the bar, were noisy, but we were quite cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
204 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
7.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.1 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £85 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing