We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset dining at Oualie, A tasty menu, rich ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oualie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nevis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunset dining at Oualie, A tasty menu, rich ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

It was just the right evening, just the right sunset for a friendly get-together between two journalist friends. We decided on Oualie, lured from the road by the beckoning glistening water, and memories of welcoming smiles. The bartender whipped up strawberry smoothies which we sipped and savored, as we watched the sun sink into dusk... and then we were seated by the unrivalably charming Tim Wilkinson. I've been greeted by Tim now for over nine years, and each time is genuine, and fresh. (Ever comb the earth looking for that prince from fairytales?here he is, right in Nevis.)...We decided on our orders, and being the perfect host, Tim customized an order of pasta and shrimp for me that wasn't on the menu, and Paula ordered the chicken. In what seemed like no time at all, our dishes appeared and the presentation was that of any five diamond restaurant I've been to in LA, San Francisco or NYC. (You can't go wrong w/ fresh slices of avocado garnishing any dish coming my way....! ) Mine tasted just as good as it looked(nice sized perfectly cooked shrimp). Paula ordered the chicken and the "taste" I had was outrageously succulent and citrus-y. Delicious. From A to Z, they covered all the bases....Hats off to chef Gloria Webbe-Wallen and manager, Vaden Jones for putting it all together. Thanks for a fun evening! We'd love to come back here again...

  • Liked — access to water sports, swimmable beach, best views, friendly staff, proximity to airport, bikes available
  • Disliked — No pool!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    142
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
43
228
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed at Oualie Beach Resort for one week and had a fantastic time. The beach was clean and warm and very calm. The staff was helpful and friendly. The cottages were clean and had a comfortable bed and a good shower. The restaurant was very good, especially for lunch and dinner. We also took alot of walks around town and the island.,beautiful scenery!!! We took buses, the taxis were expensive. The buses ran frequently and were convenient. We will be back!!!

  • Liked — the beach and cottage
  • Disliked — no beach umbrellas for protection from the sun
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were looking for a quiet place in the Carribbean with just enough choices of things to do to be active when we wanted, relaxing beaches when we wanted to slow down a bit, and a pleasant local culture. We found all of that and more on Nevis and at the Oualie Beach Hotel. Every staff member that we encountered during the week, including maids, gardeners, waiters, desk staff, the manager, and the owner, was pleasant, gracious, and accommodating.

Our room was just steps from the beach, air conditioned, and clean. Food at the beach bar was excellent, though as pricey as most restaurants on the island. The desk staff arranged a scooter rental for the week (which we highly recommend as a great way to explore the island), a horseback trip, and a guided hike up Mt. Nevis, all of which were delivered by excellent local businesses without any hitches. When the battery on the scooter died, the scooter guy was there within 15 minutes with a new battery.

The room rate was quite reasonable, particularly in the off-season, and quite a bit less than the plantation inns and about a quarter of the price of the hyper-pretentious four seasons.

We were particularly fond of Tim, a waiter/bartender and all around genuinely wonderful person, who, with his gracious manner and pleasant smile always inquired about our day and seemed to embody the spirit of the island. We miss him already.

If you go, be sure to check out the snorkeling at Herbert's Beach, located on the north side of the island just east of the airport and just a few minutes' drive from the Oualie. Many fish and few people. None of the beaches we visited had more than a few people and often were empty.

For some inexpensive food and to give your wallet a rest from the restaurants, try the Fancy Jamaican Bakery across from the pier in Charlestown. They have great cinnamon buns, sausage rolls, and plenty of other items to pack with you on excursions.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Angus_Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We just returned from a week-long vacation at the Oualie Beach Hotel. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more, and we can't wait to return. The hotel is beautifully situated right on the beach. We had a bungalo the front porch of which was steps away from luxurious hammocks, coconut trees, and of course -- the most beautiful beach I'd ever experieced. The water was an intense color, perfect temperature at any time of day, and shallow enough quite a ways out so that the kids could play for hours and hours while the adults sat restfully on the beach. The service was great -- with employees asking several times throughout our stay how they could make it even more enjoyable. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and the live music in the evening a blast! While we considered staying at the better-known Four Seasons, we are quite glad that we decided to stay at Oualie. Oualie is the perfect combination of immaculate and comfortable accomodations while staying true to experiencing the country to which you visited. At Oualie you spend your time with people you meet from all over the world, as well as hanging out with Nevitians. We can't wait to go back to Oualie.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank islandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We spent a week at Oualie Beach in March and had a fabulous time. Our pretty gingerbread cottage was no more than 20 steps from the beach and it was incredible to be able to sit in bed and gaze out at the sea and St Kitts in the distance.

The staff were friendly and helpful, We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, but dined around the island for dinner. There are some excellent restaurants on Nevis, although they are not cheap. Bananas in the rainforest is particularly nice, as is the Hermitage sugar plantation. This is a great place for getting back to basics, there are NO CHAIN restaurants, and only one big resort hotel. What is not to love about an island with more monkeys than people, and a fabulous history of pirates, naval heroes, deadly duels and haunted plantations! Nevis is wonderful, and the Oualie Beach Hotel is part of what makes it so.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

Our stay at Oualie Beach was fantastic. The rooms were great. Everything was clean. The staff went above and beyond to accomidate all of the things we wanted to do. They graciouly scheduled taxis and outing for us with no charge for the service. The food at the restuarant is some of the best we have ever eaten. It is the only vacation that we have taken that we were not ready to return home. We will definitly be back.

  • Liked — Location to the Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lovi1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We are just back from our third trip to Nevis and our third stay at Oualie Beach Resort. On our first trip to St Kitts/ Nevis we stayed a few days at the Marriott, a few days at Timothy Beach Resort, and a few days at Oualie. Although we enjoyed the Marriott and TBR, we found we like Oualie Beach Resort the best.

Oualie has beautiful grounds and are adding some nice walkways to the cottages. The staff, from management to the grounds keepers are friendly and helpful. There are plenty of activities like swimming, boating, kayaking, biking, snorkeling and scuba diving available. There are always plenty of beach chair and hammocks available, so there is no need to stake claim to one, like some resorts. The food and drinks are good at the restaurant and bar, and reasonably priced. Their free wireless Internet access works great all over the resort.

The overall experience at Oualie and Nevis is what keeps us going back.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank restlesssoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.7 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Property: Oualie Beach Resort
Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing