We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We Stayed 1 night in Jan. 2014. Drove our car over to Nevis by ferry and found Oualie Beach resort. What a great spot. Rented a cabin on ocean. It had screened sitting area, 4 poster bed and inside lounge area. Loved this hotel. Beak fest in bed the next morning if you order early enough. Beach is nice and quiet. The big long beach( Pinney) is not for away. You must walk that one. Will stay here again when back for visit. Everything is very expensive on the sister islands but you can find deals on hotels and food. Just do your homework before you go. And you must go....

Room Tip: All cabins are great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Oualie Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at Oualie Beach Resort and had a wonderful time 1/11/14-1/17/14). A very laid back place where you can just sit and relax or partake of the Islands fun opportunities. Our cottage was very nice and well anointed. The property is well maintained and the beach and view of St Kitts is unbelievable. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. We met many nice people and will make a return visit. I highly recommend it.

If you are looking for a high end resort where some will pamper you, this is not for you.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are very nice
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent five days at this quaint resort and were very happy with our choice. The people in the office make you feel at home fright from the start and are very helpful. Pat helped us get a rental car as well as booked a fishing charter for us and made other recommendations as we needed.

The restaurant has a decent menu and we did not have any complaints with the food at all. The cook even grilled up the wahoo we caught on the charter and turned it into a terrific meal with red beans and rice, cole slaw and a green salad as sides. Terrific!

When you go to Nevis remember to slow down. Nothing moves quickly and you will need to adjust to island time.

We did have some problem with not always having hot water and there were some small ants in our cabin. We kind of looked at this as the price we paid for the pleasure of having our own little home on the beach.

This really is a wonderful place to stay. When you go, make sure you get a rental car cause taking a taxi to get around the island would be cost prohibitive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On Friday 10th January, my husband and i was at Oualie Beach Resort for dinner and i must truly say that it was one of the best time we have had. The food was 'Awesome', the fish fillet was well cooked and season to taste. The local drink we had was indeed a refreshment for us. The service was outstanding, i give complement to Tim and Keyona who did a wonderful job in making our night so special. We were entertained by great local music which was of such delight. It was a well spent night at Oualie, and we will come again but this time with our entire family, and also encourage others as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I could not agree more with the review below - the food was practically inedible and mind blowingly expensive for what it was. Its a shame because the place has so much potential - it is incredibly good value for a Caribbean island and the place itself is sweet. The rooms are nice, especially if you get a one right by the shore line or one that is single story. It has all the diving, fishing and boating amenities right next door as well. The staff, however are mainly rude and unhelpful.

Please Oualie, sort out your food and staff and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose a one story building nearest the shore line
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for being so positive about our perfect beach location, quality rooms, excellent value for money and easy access to water sports facilities. However you were not happy about our food and staff. We always listen to our guests and strive to improve. If there are any specific menus items or members of staff that were not helpful do email me personally at oualie1@gmail.com . Dont worry as I am interested in re- training rather than firing anyone!

I must admit that our Oualie staff are trained a bit differently from the typical 5 star Resorts. Vacationers can get sea and sand anywhere in the World. What makes us unique on Nevis is our people, interesting Caribbean flavours, our music, dance culture, laughter and "Joi de vivre". So we train our staff to serve professionally but still be themselves. We ask them to be natural, Caribbean people providing service rather than servitude. To speak openly with our guests on all matters rather than only using management pre-approved standard phrases and topics. If guests are used to the intensely deferential, bowing and scraping service that you get in 5 star resorts in Asia then I can see why one might consider my staff less respectful. Please feel free to email me personally at oualie1@gmail with any specific details that displeased you so that I can address them with more training. For example was your problem with the staff of Housekeeping? Landscaping? Maintenance? Front Desk? Bar? Restaurant? Kitchen? Management? Water sports? or with all of my 50 staff? With your help we can improve our service and welcome you and your family back to Oualie every year.


food Everywhere has sea a

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nevis is a wonderful Island , Green and an amazing wildlife and a wonderful landscape . I would not call Oualie resort a Resort , the rooms are old , wornout, outdated . The garden , however, is well maintained with lovely lawns and trees where it's hanging hammocks that are comfortable to be in. When it comes to the staff seems most of them bitter and annoyed . few were pleasant and helpful . Housekeeping staff are possibly the best and should not be embraced in my criticism. The beach is small and not handled daily, it is grass both on the beach and as a belt in the water. Really a shame that you do not take advantage of such a beautiful beach. Water is cloudy maybe it is because it is very windy . The restaurant made ​​our stay a torment , the food was the worst I've ever eaten , tasteless, dry and incredibly expensive . 2 fried eggs $ 9 ! ! Christmas Dinner $ 75 for microwave food. Those who gave the restaurant good ratings here on tripadvisor can not be eaten there. Restaurant is a joke. on the menu, the grilled vegetables is not grilled, what you get is cooked carrots . there are many examples can not write them all. we got torment us through the lunch for 14 days and took a taxi in the evening for dinner elsewhere . taxi will cost between 30-100 dollars round trip. I called Oualie and wanted help with transfer from the airport to the hotel , they wanted $ 200 to book this , do it your selfe. Taxi to the pier $ 30, boat from the pier to Nevis Oualie Beach $ 40 . We submitted some clothes for washing a total of 6 pieces a few shirts and t shirts and two pairs of pants . Was charged $ 84 for this! ! The only thing I felt after two weeks was that we were robbed time and again. Too bad when the place has a great potential. Total : a HOSTEL and a Restaurant with Microwaved food for the price of a luxury hotel and gourmet restaurant. Will not return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We are delighted that you loved our green wonderful island, lovely landscaped gardens and tranquil hammocks in the shade on the beach. Sadly you did not like our beach with its natural beach grasses. Please understand that we at Oualie have always been the leading force in trying to make this island a truly green, Eco-friendly tourism destination. We refuse to use obnoxious herbicides to kill every living thing on the sand just to create that picture postcard beach. Instead at Oualie we encourage the natural salt resistant grasses to colonize parts of the beach to stabilize against wave and wind erosion. As a result our beach profile has increased steadily, successfully avoiding the beach erosion elsewhere on the island.

Your satisfaction is our priority. You expressed concern that your room was a bit worn. Oualie is extremely popular and usually has the highest occupancy on the island as we offer an affordable, authentic Caribbean experience in a wonderful beachfront setting. Each year we have a mad rush from October to renovate every room in time for the season. We ran 100% occupancy over this Christmas period when you said you were here. If your room was one of the few that did not make the December 21st renovation deadline then I do apologize. Feel free to contact me personally by email to oualie1@gmail.com and I would be happy to compensate you with a discount on your next visit.

I am surprised that you were not impressed with our food. Our guests are raving about our fabulous FRESH fish delivered right to our dock by the game fishing boats, filleted and kept on ice rather than frozen. With the exception of broccoli, our vegetables are sourced fresh from farmers right island.

You are correct that the waters of Nevis were cloudy and stirred up over Christmas by the bad weather and North swells for as far a half mile from shore. To be frank this usually happens each year at that time. Do come visit us again perhaps April to August when the sea around Nevis is crystal clear and calm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Xmas 2013 - visited the Caribbean many times & this has to be one of the best places to chill out.

It is not the height of luxury but that's not what this pace is about.

What it is about - Great but not over fancy food, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff - all in a fantastic location.

An easy taxi ride to any number of different bars or restaurants (fancy or otherwise).

On site - Scuba diving (c/o Ellis at Scuba Nevis), Cycle Hire (c/o Winston at Nevis Cycle club).

Many other activities & things to do nearby and on the rest of the island. Do not miss the Botanic Gardens...........

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Yearwood, Owner at Oualie Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks for taking time to write a review. I am delighted that you appreciate the Authentic Caribbean experience at Oualie. I see that you are from the UK. There are some fantastic offers this month from the UK tour operators using the low airfare sale on BA. So please book now and save on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
8.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £115 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing