We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Nevis hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

It is a quiet family hotel. Conveniently located and very friendly staff. The beach is great and the sunset view is fantastic.
Great food at a reasonable price. Enjoyed my stay with my family. There is a great environment for a quiet weekend getaway!!!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Location great for relaxing especially in the water. Staff always courteous and polite. Beach bathing with elasmobranchs was a first and amazing experience. Restaurant served tasty food but with little choice. Allow an hour for breakfast. Rum punch overpriced at 8$ US. Rooms are in need of TLC, fixtures well past sell by date but nevertheless quaint. Land crab burrows can be inconvenient after dark. Wifi complimentary although signal strength was always poor making cloud tasks impossible without long waits and frequent disconnections. Taxi to Charlestown and anywhere in between, 15$ US before 10PM. Indian summer restaurant is within 40 mins walking distance direction Charlestown, but set out no later than 6 pm or risk a potentially dangerous last KM. Taxi return essential.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Ds23pall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 10 days here in May and had the most relaxing time. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay comfortable. A little updating is needed but I wouldn't change anything else. The food was fantastic and all freshly cooked (no fast food here). Faith and her staff work very hard and the 3 of us would return here in a flash. If you want the most relaxing and chilled holiday ever then go here. If you want party and night life then this is not for you. Wayne, Sue & Nan will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Nevis has about the population of a small town in the U.S...without the complicated life of a small town in the U.S.and your surroundings are breathtaking..it takes about 45 minutes to drive a side by side razor around the entire island...now if you want to work harder on your vacation then at work you can do that or if you want to unplug and do nothing you can do that as well....fishing, snorkeling ,ocean swims,spectacular sunsets....if you get up and go to the west side facing Part of the island you can see a sunrise and later that day to the east side of the island a Sunset..the relaxing site of a bungalow suite over looking a stunning bay water so clear you can walk out and snorkel straight from your room...they have a cat 7 catamaran that has day rentals and takes you to a great snorkeling site where you can see the most beautiful reef on the planet...Tuesday is lobster lobster lobster...and honestly I have spent more in a weekend drive to new York city from Baltimore Maryland in tolls and gas and hotel and food then I did in Oualie from Wednesday to Sunday including airfare...that's truth...and everybody has their "THING"..for me ...I grew up in big cities all my life....New York...DC...Ft Lauderdale...WEST Palm beach..etc...This place is just enough of none of that and just enough of the peace I therapeutically need....they even have a small spa on the property and try a monkey passion...great drink....Will be back for much longer next time for sure...I would even consider purchase of land to build a small home as well...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank citiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Beautiful sunsets ,super nice people,the fishing was amazing. Definitely a nice place to stay. Staff was very helpful I will definitely visit again.lovers beach is on my top ten favorite beaches.perfect place to bring a spouse .

Room Tip: Pelican point was a great room has full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Nevis isn't really a destination in the Caribbean, and the beaches aren't nice at all, most of them are basically rocky, and this Oualie Beach isn't so different from a normal run-of-the-mill kind, nothing specular or interesting. Although there's a dive shop on site, and a microstate yacht club next door.

What was disappointing was the state of the beachfront villas, the lock on the door wasn't working, and 2 days later they still haven't fixed it, wasting a lot of our time in the process, also the reality was not as the pictures online.

The thing is this resort could be considered as one of the more affordable ones on this island, but it's still rather expensive by normal standards. I wouldn't recommend coming to Nevis as a holiday, but if you had to be here, and you were trying to scrimp, and you don't mind the hassles, it would be ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a really good 3 star hotel: gorgeous location, slightly scruffy, laid back, pretty cottage rooms, friendly cats, just steps from the sea, fantastic views, good food, good staff, bathroom door that didn't close properly, generous coffee allowance in the room, fridge with small freezer, lovely screened porch, jetty on site for water taxi transfers.
We found the place utterly charming and hope to return someday. It's not perfect, but that's part of the charm. Loved it! I would give it 4.5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
204 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
8.1 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £85 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing