We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 October 2010

If you are looking for a quiet get-a-way, this is it. You get your own romanic cabin with a beachfront room, your own beach chairs, and your own hammock. The beach was perfect. It was quiet, sandy bottomed, and essentially all your own. Plus, the beach is only 30 feet from your room! I almost don't want to say too much because I don't want to ruin this place with tourists...

Regardless, the staff was excellent. The bar and restaurant were very good as well. I recommend getting one cab driver and sticking with him or her. "Tin Tin" was our driver, and gave an excellent tour, was funny and trustworthy. The people in Nevis are great as well. I wish them all the best.

The scuba shop on site is great too. It is well worth your money to take the scuba tour. We saw sting rays, sea turtles, tons of big and small fish. The tour guide is great!

Keep in mind this is more of a 3 star hotel. It does not have the bells and whistles of a 4 star hotel, but it is nonetheless very clean and friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccaskey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Oualie Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at Oualie Beach Resort. We are avid divers and went out with Scuba Safari every morning and a couple afternoons. The reefs are in pristine condition and the dive operation is run by friendly, skilled, dedicated folks. We returned from each morning's dives to have lunch at the Resort's restaurant (we swear by the BBQ chicken and the chicken tacos) and nap in our cozy room with king-sized four-poster bed, screened porch facing a quiet beach and massive bathroom (unfortunately, no tub). There was also a small fridge where we kept sodas and milk for cereal and a clothesline on the porch for drying bathing suits.

The front desk was incredibly helpful - everything from coordinating delivery of a fruit basket from friends (and throwing in a free dinner), to arranging a rental car, to providing first aid supplies. They will also arrange airport pickup and boat taxi transfer from St. Kitts - pricey but a charming and relaxing way to arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caecilia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

My husband and I took a scuba trip to Nevis and stayed at Oualie Beach Resort and dove with Scuba Safaris; located at the resort. The gingerbread cottages were extremely clean and the bed was very confortable. The restaurant could extend or change it's menu more; which would have been better, but the food was very good. While this is their slow season and they did not do the things; i.e. beach bbq or manager's party, we still had fun at the bar talking to the workers.
The dive operator was great! The reefs aren't the best, but we did see sharks, eels, turtles, and of course TONS of lobsters.
We would definitely go back to this resort since the beach is wonderful and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We have traveled to Nevis 7 times and during 6 of our trips we have stayed at the Oualie Beach Resort. The setting is magnificent with a quiet bay and stunning views of St Kitts. The beach is quiet and inviting. Friends of ours with children have found the beach to be very kid friendly with very little surf and nice sand. We have found the Oualie staff to be warm and helpful. For great music go to the beach bar on Tuesday nights with the Oualie Beach Bays and on Friday nights Jazzique and friends will impress you with amazing talent and a huge repertoire. Most likely you will dance. The beach bar is a great place to drop in for a Carib. It is low key and has a local flavor. The rooms are large, very comfortable and all have great views of the water. We hope to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunandSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

My wife and I work in high stress positions that require long work weeks. Every other year we take a "quiet" vacation where we go someplace simply to relax. This year we chose the Oualie Beach Resort at Nevis in the West Indies. After ten days there we were refreshed and ready to return to work. Our cottage on the beach was very comfortable. The four-poster bed was one of the most comfortable that I have encountered in a vacation hotel. The screened-in front porch was a delightful place to sit and read. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, both in terms of the resources at the resort and in making reservations for us at restaurants and for activities elsewhere. I strongly recommend that, if you visit the resort. let them make the reservations for you to be met at the St. Kitts' airport and transported to Nevis by a private fishing boat. You will depart from a beach on St. Kitts that is a short boat ride from the dock at the resort. While this is a bit more expensive, it is infinitely more comfortable than taking a taxi from the airport to the public ferry and crossing that way. Do not travel to Nevis looking for nightlife. I do not believe that it exists. The beach and the location is great for small children. There was a single-mother there with two daughters, ages 6 and 7. They appeared to be having a ball. We are definitely considering a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I have stayed at the Oualie Beach Resort 3 times and enjoyed
the laid back beach front hotel each and every time . Just feet
from the beautiful beach, the rooms and food are excellent.
The bar offers exotic cocktails and live music.
There is great fishing and diving, along with all types of water sports.
jerwagn @aol.com

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerwagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

It's not fancy, but it's thoroughly comfortable and right on the beach with great views. The beach is shallow (no waves), but there's lots of shade, chairs and hammocks. The rooms are huge, and although they could use a little sprucing up, the bedding was new and everything was in working order.The staff are friendly, but then everyone on Nevis is. The restaurant has dropped a notch in quality since our last stay here a couple of years ago, but it's still pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluidExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.2 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
8.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: £115 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis/New Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing