We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my second time, very nice again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain View
Ranked #2 of 11 Mountain View B&B and Inns
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was my second time, very nice again”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here several years back when there were different owners, and I found it to be just as comfortable as last time. Each time I've been in Mountain View for some fiddle tune workshops. This time there was a different group in for a "thumbpicker" convention, and I ended up playing with some of them in the parlor of the the Inn. Mighty good music.

The breakfast was great, particularly the sausage patties and the potatoes. Good stuff. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and reasonable--particularly when compared with the motels that are available in town.

Room Tip: In the upstairs rooms the hot water may take a while to arrive. I would turn on the shower well befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjoist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and you heard some really good music. We want to thank you for the nice review. Come again soon.

Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place right across from the Pickin' Park. Sitting on the porch and listening to the music. The breakfast is very plentiful and tasty. But the real draw is the young couple who own the inn. They are friendly and so helpful. I will stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you. Please stop and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Inn at Mountain View is our place to get-away for a few days but feels like home. Kevin and Melissa are wonderful innkeepers. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and cozy. The breakfast is out of this world and always treats in the parlor for a late night snack with coffee if you like. Just across the yard is the "Picken Park" where you will find people getting together to play and sing folk or bluegrass music. Try The Inn at Mountain View, you will love it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It brings comfort knowing this feels like home to you. Glad you had a great stay with us. It was good having you here.

Thanks you and come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We like to stay in B&B as it seems more like staying at home. The Inn is a lovely, big, rambling victorian with lots to curl up in solitude with a book or visit with the other guests. But a B&B is defined in quality by its innkeepers, and Melissa and Kevin are friendly, kind, and very hospitable. Kevin heard us mention we were touring Blanchard Springs Cavern (wonderful, by the way), and called out to find details about a concert there, which he then shared with us. We reserved tickets and found that concert to be the highlight of our trip. We wouldn't even have know about it if Kevin hadn't taken the initiative to look into it. The location is perfect, right on the corner of the town center and within walking of all the downtown shopping and music. We will be back.

Room Tip: Read descriptions carefully. Some have baths in hall. One is an interior room with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. We are glad your visit with us was pleasing. Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The owners are excellent hosts! The house is very tastefully decorated with antiques and old world charm. My room was absolutely beautiful and my bed was extremely comfortable. The entire house was squeaky clean. Despite being located in town, the house was very serene and I enjoyed falling asleep listening to the hum of crickets instead of traffic. In the morning I was served a wonderful home cooked breakfast fit for a king! This was my first stay at a B&B and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are glad you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. Please come again. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Inn was the setting of my wedding on March 1, 2014. Kevin and Melissa were fabulous hosts and made all of the guests feel at home. The inn is spacious and beautiful and was the perfect setting for our wedding. I would recommend it as a vacation destination and/ or wedding setting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are so glad that you chose The Inn for your wedding. We enjoyed having you and your family here. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend. We had never been to Mountain View and I debated on where to stay. I'm so glad we chose to stay here! We stayed in Penelope's Chamber. It has a nice iron bed, an in room bathroom, and another adjoining room with a day bed. The house itself is absolutely beautiful. The innkeepers are very friendly and hospitable. They even stayed up to check us in when we were an hour later than we thought we would be.
Breakfast was awesome! We had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fried potatoes, biscuts, fruit, and pancakes or french toast.
Apparently the Innkeepers are relatively new to the B&B business, but we definitely couldn't tell!
I would highly recommend The Inn at Mountain View!  

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandiandTray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We purchased this Bed and Breakfast in September ,2013. It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you did make the decision to stay with us, and hope you stay with us again soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mountain View
167 reviews
19.6 mi away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
#1 of 2 in Fairfield Bay
236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dogwood Motel
Dogwood Motel
#3 of 6 in Mountain View
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
River Valley Rentals
River Valley Rentals
#3 of 11 in Mountain View
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildflower Bed and Breakfast-On the Square
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain View

Property: The Inn at Mountain View
Address: 307 W Washington St, Mountain View, AR 72560-6415
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mountain View Bed and Breakfast is a historic Mountain View B&B located on the famous courthouse square. We are at the heart of the Folk Music Capital of the World, Mountain View, Arkansas!The Inn at Mountain View is a large, two-story Bed and Breakfast on the courthouse square in Mountain View. This historic home is listed on the National Historic Register and has been overlooking the Mountain View court square since 1886. We offer 10 guest rooms and suites for overnight lodging. Each stay includes a full country breakfast full use of our common areas including parlors, porches and grounds. We also offer a number of services for business travelers including wireless Internet, a small meeting room and a larger conference/game room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing