We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay (December 2013)”
Review of Hotel Iceland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iceland
Ranked #2 of 5 Palchan B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay (December 2013)”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in Ice-Land at Solang during last week of December 2013. We are very happy to say that we did not consider any other place to stay while we were in Manali. Best place to stay. Excellent food they served thru out our stay, Excellent Q & Q. We did not experience the snow fall this year so will visit again and stay in Ice-Land Solang.
Yogesh & Family
Bangalore

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    33
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Now I am staying in this hotel, Feeling wonderfull, Awesome hotel, Awesome location, Awesome view from room, Room service is very prompt, In new wing all romms are wooden flooring, executive bathroom, Mr. Sunil & Mr.Hemraj always ready to help you, awesome public, food quality is very good, Strongly recommended this hotel who want to stay in solang

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SantuDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in Iceland for 2 nights ending our self-drive trip to Ladakh here. It provided us the comfort we needed. The rooms are cozy and the woodwork gives it a warm feel. The room balcony overlooks the valley. The sit-out area of the hotel is also quite pleasant to chill out in the evenings. The hospitality of staff, especially Hemraj, is memorable and worth mentioning.

Manali is a bit of a drive from Solang, and for sightseeing and visiting the cafes you have to take the extra effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel location , view is just awesome ! I must say the staff specifically to mention Hemraj and Sunil ... are at their best in terms of hospitality . Quite safe . Food is good . In just a capsule i would say . i would recommend this place as worth every penny . This was my second visit to manali but i must say that the stay this time is more memorable and fabulous!. Only concern is they need to get the room a bit warmer so the heater is recommended.

Room Tip: You can choose the room on the fourth floor facing the mountains and valley .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aps06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel s situated in solang valley which is located abt 15 km uphill from manali town. I find the most scenic views of mountains from this hotel. Its budget friendly hotel with all facilities like bike hiring and adventure activities. The hotel staff s well trained and service was quick. On request Khemraj and sunil can help u arrange treks n adventure activities with ease. Overall we enjoyed our stay n leisure time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed at this hotel in mid july 2013, as a stopover onwards our journey to leh, the place was just perfect as we were looking for some peaceful place, not so much tourist traffic around.

rooms were quite clean and of decent size with snow capped mountain view from balcony, bathroom was also clean.
what I liked most is the terrace where we had our dinner with the sound of river flowing right next to the hotel and feel of mountains as you are in middle of a valley surrounding you are all gigantic beautiful, snow capped mountains.
another good thing was our morning track to the nearby flowing river, just five minutes walk and you are at forest, with river flowing next to you. superb experience.

Room Tip: there are two buildings, new and old, take a room in new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingitkhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here with my friend before heading to Leh, Ladakh. The hotel is very well maintained overall. The rooms were spacious & clean. The bathroom was decently sized, but spic-n-span. The view from the room balcony boasts mesmerizing view covering the valley & snow-capped mountains. The meals in the restaurant were delicious & the entire staffs are well-trained & always at our service... will surely comeback if i happen to visit Solang in future..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pramodprao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palchan
0.7 mi away
Solang Valley Resort
Solang Valley Resort
#1 of 2 in Palchan
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vyas Vatika Manali
Hotel Vyas Vatika Manali
#39 of 123 in Manali
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Highland Park
The Highland Park
#1 of 1 in Shanag
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
454 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 123 in Manali
968 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iceland

Property: Hotel Iceland
Address: Solang Valley | Village Solang Nallah, Palchan, Manali Tehsil 175103, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Palchan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palchan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Iceland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iceland is beside the River Beas in the picturesque Solang Valley, the adventure capital of Himachal Pradesh, 12 km from Manali. Trekking, Skiing, Paragliding, Zorbing, jeep safaris are all possible here. The hotel has 40 comfortable rooms, many with stunning views of the surrounding snow capped mountains and pine forests. It has a multi-cuisine restaurant, wifi, lounge, conference room etc. It is run by experienced mountaineer/skier and hotelier Khem Raj Thakur. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing