We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace..Bliss..Paradise..Heaven..”
Review of Hotel Iceland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iceland
Ranked #2 of 5 Palchan B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace..Bliss..Paradise..Heaven..”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days with my family in June. Experience was excellent. Located away from crowded areas of Manali, it definitely provided peace. It had clean and spacious room along with 24 hrs hot water facility. View of snow capped mountains from windows was breathtaking. Food at restaurant was delicious and ambiance was also great. Hotel staff was welcoming,decent and helping. People who are interested in adventurous activities it is definitely ideal place for them as they have excellent arrangements with regard to the same. It has no place for complains and is simply best hotel in Solang valley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SayaleeDhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    33
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at Hotel Iceland along with my family for 3 days in the first week of June. It is a very nice, cool, calm place away from the Manali crowd. The hotel is easily accessible through any vehicle even though the road from Manali to Solang Valley is a little rough at few patches but road widening is in progress and hopefully the work will be completed in a few months.
Views from the room balcony are awesome, one can view snow-capped Himalyan ranges on one side and river Beas on the other side. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. Bathrooms had 24 hrs hot running water. The hotel staff and especially the restaurant staff was very polite, courteous and helpful. Food was also pretty decent and not too expensive. Restaurant service was excellent. Overall, we had a great experience at Iceland and will surely come again, maybe during snowfall season in Jan-Feb.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer building are bigger and better. Also, rooms facing the snow mountains have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shekhar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

There are only few hotels at solang valley to stay. Hotel iceland is present on the bank of the river beas. Rooms with balcony facing towards the snowcapped mountains is special attractions. Enjoying the sunrise on these mountains is just heavenly. One must stay one night to taste this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhrubaband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Selected this hotel for stay based on my friends recommendation.... we wanted to stay away from hustle of Manali.It was as per our expectations.Fantastic views from the room..decent food. Beas river flowing beside the hotel & Snow point is near as well...Since it is out of town vehicle for travelling & other sightseeing is must. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HParikh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I went to Solang with my friends for a skiing course and happened to stay at Hotel Iceland for 8 days. The hotel's location is fantastic with a view of great snow covered peaks including the friendship peak from the rooms. A small stream of Beas river flows nearby making the view all the more beautiful. We had a buffet arrangement for all the days. the food was excellent. The staff was polite and well mannered. Even served hot buckets of water whenever we needed as the pipelines were frozen due to snowfall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aniruddh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Though the location of the hotel was awesome as we expected but the best part was the food in the restaurant. Stayed here on en-route to Leh. A very short stay but we really enjoyed and the place kicked off our memorable journey to Leh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Puneet711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A great place to stay in if you visit Solang in the winters when there is snow. The views are amazing, overlooking the river, mountains and empty fields of snow. The hotel finishings are decent too with wooden flooring and walls. All in all a nice cozy experience. The food is nothing to write home about - stick to safe bets

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomTravalOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palchan
0.7 mi away
Solang Valley Resort
Solang Valley Resort
#1 of 2 in Palchan
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Vyas Vatika Manali
Hotel Vyas Vatika Manali
#39 of 123 in Manali
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Highland Park
The Highland Park
#1 of 1 in Shanag
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
454 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#3 of 123 in Manali
968 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iceland

Property: Hotel Iceland
Address: Solang Valley | Village Solang Nallah, Palchan, Manali Tehsil 175103, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Palchan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palchan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Iceland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Iceland is beside the River Beas in the picturesque Solang Valley, the adventure capital of Himachal Pradesh, 12 km from Manali. Trekking, Skiing, Paragliding, Zorbing, jeep safaris are all possible here. The hotel has 40 comfortable rooms, many with stunning views of the surrounding snow capped mountains and pine forests. It has a multi-cuisine restaurant, wifi, lounge, conference room etc. It is run by experienced mountaineer/skier and hotelier Khem Raj Thakur. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing