We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Property”
other traveller has booked this property
Ovens River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ovens River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ovens River
GG's By the River open plan living at it's best.
GG's By The River Open plan living
The very comfortable king beds in both bedrooms at GG's By The River.
GG's By the River - Modern well light bathrooms in both bedrooms
GG's By the River Luxury Accommodation Bright. Hot Rod time 2012
Tin Man -  Looking after the vegetable patch at GG's By The River
GG's By The River - On the outside.
Bikes to borrow.  A mere 150 kms of sealed safe cycle track.  Access directly across the road.
One of our little guests enjoying the river.  Mmmmm  did he catch a fish???
Beautiful tastes of spring at GG's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Eurobin, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VivaTrave...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredible Property”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

An incredible property in Eurobin (just outside Bright) situated perfectly on the Ovens river. The grounds are expansive and all yours to enjoy. We couldn't have been looked after more, there's a lot of love in this farmstay and Stephen and Jan are wonderful hosts. The miniature Donkey's, miniature goats, chickens and trampoline are a great treat for young children and adults. The picnic tables by the river provide a quiet refuge for lunch or a cheeky wine followed by a dip in the river. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the farmstay and grounds immaculately kept. The kitchen facilities have everything you need along with a large fridge, coffee machine and great oven, so self-catering is no problem. Laundry facilities meant we could wash our clothes after our hike, there are so many walking trails to choose from. There's an extensive range of DVD's and books if you want to settle in by the wood fire. Stephen and Jan welcomed us with a lovely bottle of wine, local produce and fresh farm eggs. Jan is from Thailand and her beautiful culture is expressed with a welcoming bowl of hand picked, garden flowers. We were teased by the newly installed hot tub which will be operating very shortly in the coming weeks, we'll be back for a dip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you Dianna. I am glad you enjoyed it. Look forward to your return visit. Thanks Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_MacLean
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful on all counts”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As mature, seasoned travellers, we have never seen such generosity and attention to detail. Wonderful on all counts. The complimentary bottle of Riesling was a lovely addition during a hot spell. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate L
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A lovely rural Victorian stay, fabulous for the kids”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our family (2 adults, 2 young kids, 1 baby) stayed at GGs for the second time in January 2016 for four nights. Jennie and Steve are very generous and helpful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Our accommodation was luxurious and included many touches that make it so comfortable - a freshly baked cake and breakfast goods from Jennie, bicycles for the adults, beautiful toys for the kids, a fully equipped new kitchen, a full-size laundry, huge beds and showers and lots of fluffy towels. But the best thing about GGs for us was the wonderful experiences the kids had on the property: collecting the chickens' eggs, helping Jennie brush the horses, wading across the river to collect blackberries, running around the gardens and playing on the swings. The location is also great, opposite the rail trail and close to so many walks and activities.
Thanks again to Jennie and Steve for a lovely holiday.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gardens and lots of things for the kids to do
Liked least: If internet access is important to you, it might be wise to have a mobile connection. The property does have wifi but the signal isn't strong - sufficient for downloading emails but perhaps not for streaming.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionash20...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious Week in Eurobin”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After reading the excellent reviews about GG's by the River we were not disappointed when we arrived at the house. Beautifully appointed in every way, we knew we would have a wonderful week escaping our city lives. Everything about GG's screamed luxury - The furniture was very comfortable and good quality as was the linen and toiletries. With a beautiful vase of roses on the kitchen table, a delicious chocolate cake to devour and a hamper with wine, chocolate, jams, cereal, bread and fruit all there to greet us - how could we not be impressed! Just having all the extra sauces/spreads etc in the fridge was great, too.
We were blessed with beautiful weather so often sat outside on the balcony enjoying the sounds of the bush. The grounds of the property are quite extensive and well kept. It would be a wonderful spot to bring the children as there is so much for them to do and see.
Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was not working and even though we had 3G on our devices the reception was quite bad.
Athough we had warm weather during the day the nights were a bit cooler so we took advantage of using the wood fire heater. It really added to the ambience of the house.
Jennie and Steve were terrific hosts who didn't hesitate to help us out with any queries.
We loved our week at GG's!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the property overall.
Liked least: Lack of Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thanks so much for your delightful email. As with all of our guests you left GG's immaculate and it was a pleasure to have you both stay.
Yes our WiFi connection was painful at the time. Hopefully all fixed up now though. Very annoying I agree. Our new modem has arrived now,so fingers crossed it won't let us down. Enjoy 'your wish trip to Italy', and it would be lovely to see you back here again one day.
Warmest regards
Jennie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elana F
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is exceeded our expectations in so many ways, Jenny and Steve have thought of everything and more, The property is even better than the pictures, set in beautiful gardens, super comfy beds, everything is spotlessly clean. The warm welcome from Jenny was the same as her initial emails when I was making the booking, and the basket of goodies and home baked cake and bottle of wine were the perfect extras. Jenny and Steve went over and above to help us out when we had a car problem.. I hope we can return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Hello Laneyelf
I just noticed your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it. It is much appreciated as our reviews are great to let other people know about our accommodation.
We enjoyed our odd chats while you were here as well. Living in Bali must certainly be different than living here in the Alpine Valleys of Victoria.
I really hope we see you again when next you visit Australia.
Thanks for leaving everything so lovely.
Warmest regards
Jennie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
“Luxury getaway perfect for 2 couples!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This property exceeded every expectation. It looked absolutely beautiful in the pictures, but is even more perfect in person! The accommodation is absolute luxury! The carpets in the bedrooms are so thick and plush. The bathroom is stunning with a huge shower, marble bench tops and cupboards stocked with toiletries you may have forgotten! The couch was so comfy for all 4 of us to snuggle into and watch a great movie on the huge TV, sipping on wine in front of the wood fire! There's a fully equipped kitchen that allowed us to stay in and cook dinner as well as cook up a beautiful brunch which we ate out on the deck overlooking the property! We were really able to enjoy where we were and make the most of the stunning property!! It's set on the most immaculate gardens, everything was so neat and tidy. The setting is truly picturesque! The river runs right along the property and there are beautiful animals to go and meet. Being pet friendly we were also able to bring our beautiful dogs to enjoy the weekend away!

On top of all of this, the service was exceptional! Jennie and Steve really made us feel at home and were so flexible and accommodating! There was a delicious chocolate cake waiting our arrival, a lovely hamper and bottle of wine! We really felt spoilt! There was nothing forgotten about! Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, Jennie popped over with a plate full of the most delicious fried chicken!

I would recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat! I will definitely be back! Thankyou Jennie and Steve!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING! Luxury accommodation in a beautiful garden setting by the river.
Liked least: Only having 1 weekend! I want to come back.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you so very much for your delightful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us. Must say we did not hear a peep from the pooches. Just LOVED the little puppy. A little ball of fluff. Please come and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Wow Lucy. Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and Kyal here on your anniversary weekend. You were both such lovely guests to have stay with your own happy smiles. It was great to see you both so happy. Steve and I will celebrate our 43rd anniversary this September. Hopefully you will both reach that milestone as well.
Jennie and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing