We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect secluded getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PJ's Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Norfork B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at this lodge. Coming from Memphis it was not the most pleasant drive on mostly 2 lane road through fairly repetitive scenery for 3 1/2 hours. However, the lodge was really wonderful, the food absolutely amazing, and the hosts very friendly and informative. They put in a lot of attention to detail when renovating this lodge and it really has a elegant and confortable feel to it.

Pros:
-They allow dogs, which was a big deal for us. We brought our 2 small dogs who had a great time as well.
-The food was spectacular. Every plate was perfectly garnished and decorated as you would see in a magazine. We had Chilean sea bass for dinner and NY strip steak which were both cooked perfectly. Also, I had their Whiskey soup (or someting to that effect) and it was great. A very unique taste. The breakfasts were also great. In fact I think they were the best I've ever had at a B+B. Especially Julie's baked french toast with berries was one of the things I wont forget.
-The rooms were small, but very, very cozy with wonderful bedding (contrary to another reviewer's opinion).
-A really seculded and relaxing place if that's what you're looking for
-A great price especially considering the breakfast was so good

Cons:
-Unless you like watersports not a whole lot to do in the area. We went canoeing on the Buffalo River one day, which was nice, but the water level was very low and we got stuck a couple times becasue the water was too shallow. We are from the West Coast, which has much more spectacular scenery, so I wouldnt go here expecting a hiking experience or great viewpoints. In fact, we tried to go hiking off some of the trails near the Buffalo River, but there were so many hunters that we decided not to for our safety.
-Kind of far from larger cities. We came from Memphis and if this place were about half as far away we would return in no time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgravano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My husband and I stayed and dined at PJ’s Lodge and we loved it! Walking along the beautiful grounds was extremely relaxing and the fishing guide was excellent- our kids had a blast even thought it was a little cold.
The staff was so friendly and attentive and the service was exceptional.
Restaurant on the river and the food was exquisite. The blue-cheese Rib Eye was to die for!
Rooms were a bit small but very cozy and the beds were really comfortable with fluffy pillows and down comforters.
I’m so glad we found this secret little getaway- close enough to get to easily but remote enough to feel like you’re on vacation. We will definitely visit PJ’s again and recommend it to others looking for an easy, peaceful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mav3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king salmon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the setting of the lodge (fabulous river views!), the atmosphere inside the dining room and bar area (gorgeous!), the service, the food (dinner was one of my top three meals EVER), and the fishing...Bar none, a great place to visit! However, I hope that the very kind owners will read this and take note of one major downfall. The sheets on the beds--perfectly ironed and beautifully embroidered--felt like sand paper. And the mattress was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever encountered. Thus my husband and I had a horrible sleeping experience. Other than that, this place is phenomenal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troutbumwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at this B and B and it was a wonderful experience. It is located on the White River with a beautiful dining room overlooking the river. The place is well maintained. The rooms are nice. The only downfall is the rooms are a bit small and there are no TV's in the room; but don't let that deter you. The best experience was dining at PJ's. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was great!! The hosts, Les and Julie, are very nice and make you feel at home. When driving there you will ask yourself - Where in the world is this place?? It is all definity off the beaten path, but worth the travel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahchauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock AR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Great food, quiet place to stay, fall colors fabulous! Hospitality was priceless.
One of the few that allowed us to stay with our two Italian Greyhounds and treated them just as good as they treated us! Restraunt by far better than Sonny Williams in LR or the Picasso in Vegas, the filet is a must have!
Teri and Gary Miessner

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wino69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

I say "nowhere" because we are from the Chicago area and I had never been to Arkansas before and really didn't appreciate how rural the area was. We were there 9/8 -9/11 to visit friends who had emailed several options for accommodations. Based on PJ's website, we thought it looked cute. Rooms are not gigantic, but very cute, comfortable and clean. There is no TV or cell phone service, so you should be forewarned. There is a land phone in the lodge if necessary. Breakfast is included which is an amazing treat. Each morning (after finding a hot pot of coffee & cups waiting by our door); we were seated in the dining room and served something different that I can only describe as looking like it came from the cover of Gourmet Magazine (and it tasted that good, too). Our friends met us there one night for dinner which again was wonderful. The smoked trout appetizer - yum - was actually big enough for 4 to share. If you like pork chops, theirs are the best ever. The trout and chicken were also wonderful. We ordered (& shared) a piece of the coconut cake. Don't leave without tasting this. As mentioned in a different post, it is extraordinary. We didn't go to fish, but we can definitely see ourselves coming back. The lodge is right on the White River. Directions were good from the website. I was able to find without help. And last, the hospitality was terrific. Can't say one bad thing about our experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCJolietLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Planned a last minute trip to fly fish the White River in Arkansas. Stayed with Les & Julie at PJ's and couldn't have asked for a nicer experience! The accomodations were well-maintained, clean and comfortable. Our room had a view of the river and we were welcomed one morning with a trio of friendly golden retrievers sunning themselves on the lawn outside. Wonderful menu, wonderful food and lovely dining room. Dining room is a favorite with the locals so reservations are suggested for supper.
Les, our host, set us up with a guide for 2 days of fly fishing and we had a wonderful experience with Nick K. who took us along the White and Norfork Rivers. With Nick's experience and amiable nature we had a delightful 2 day introduction to these great trout rivers!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Farleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to PJ's Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ's Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: PJ's Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 384 Lodge Lane, 298 Lodge Ln, Norfork, AR 72658
Region: United States > Arkansas > Norfork
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Norfork
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing