We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and venue but disorganised manager”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food and venue but disorganised manager”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We recently hired this venue to host the reception to our daughters christening. We booked and paid in advanced which perhaps was a bad idea since the manager didn't seem very organised with bookings and was reluctant to take payment in advance. So it wasn't much of a surprise when they called the weekend before saying they had lost our booking form. Even once they had found it they still didn't get the order right.

However the food was nice and the waiters were polite and couldn't do more to help. Unfortunately the manager was not as welcoming. The venue is spacious and gives a warm rustic country feel. We have eaten there previously and felt the food was good quality but expensive for what it is.

Overall average but in a nice setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    101
    25
    22
    12
See reviews for
60
163
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dundridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Can only thank fullers for saving one of our villages oldest buildings and making a lovely job of the restoration. finally getting there with the food. still expensive but it is a Fullers pub and it does at least keep the old rif-raf out! always able to have a decent pint of HSB and the staff are always friendly towards me and my better half. very dog friendly which is a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I visited to Saturday lunch with a few friends and while I really liked the place itself and the atmosphere, I was a little disappointed with the food, especially considering the price. I ordered the "cider and bourbon" pork ribs which were really dry and bland. They weren't glazed and sticky as you would expect or have any of the flavour advertised. A friend had the kedgeree, which I was going to order but was a glad I didn't. It had been "deconstructed" so that the rice was in deep fried balls. It didn't look good at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This review is long over due, I have tried and tried to like this place, and have visited on quite a few occasions, as i live in bishops waltham. I so wanted it to do well, and the place looks amazing. However, like so many others I have been disappointed. Poor service, on more than one occasion, poor food more than once and as far as I can see no or little leadership . I would go as far as to say where staff are concerned the left hand doesn't appear to know what the right hand is doing. People seem more concerned with clearing tables and chatting than providing service.

When it first opened we were told the poor service and lengthy waiting times were due to teething problems and the half price deal they were operating meant they were overwhelmed with customers. Sadly the teething problems as far as I can see we're not resolved.

I have experienced lengthy waiting times for food, the bill has been wrong . On one accession we had to ask 5 times before we got the bill. Told there were no specials only for another member of staff to later inform us there had been specials on a separate menu but it hadn't been offered to us. I have been served main courses and then left until we had to approach staff for further service. On one occasion my husband complained there was a vital ingredient missing as advertised on the specials board and was told by the waiter,
" oh the chef said it had run out"

More recently I have only gone there for a drink and have to say the staff have been abrupt and unwelcoming. It's such as shame.

It doesn't appear to operate well as a pub or a restaurant as far as I can see. They have a restaurant menu but as far as I'm concerned is way overpriced as they cannot provide a consistent standard of food or the necessary standard in service to be competitive. There are better restaurants in the village. Shame they didn't go for reasonably priced good pub grub.


I won't go there again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in business. The builing is an old 18th century inn and has all the character to match it's age. The rooms are uneven and at odd angles as old buildings are, it's very sweet.

The rooms are very clean and well decorated. Lots if nice extras like filter coffee and a good range of teas. Good quality soaps and bathroom accessories.

We didn't eat here other than breakfast, and it was very nice with a good cooked choice of food and a small selection of cold food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

When The Crown reopened last year it was wonderful, we used to eat in there regularly and we always received brilliant service from the bar and waiting staff and the food was always delicious. However, it appeared to start going downhill late last year and most people we spoke to agreed and told us they had stopped going in there. Nevertheless, we decided to go in there for dinner last week to give it one last chance. We wish we hadn’t bothered. The ‘service’ was awful, we felt like an inconvenience to the staff who were just standing in the corner chatting. The atmosphere in the pub is very awkward, it’s ever so quiet and the staff obviously don’t want you there. The food was ok, nothing to write home about. My chips were very greasy. Needless to say we will not be returning. Such a shame as it is so close to our home, making it a very convenient place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0cky190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Overall disappointed. Seated ok, but then waited to be offered drinks. The white wine wasn't available on the menu leaving only a choice of 2 wines by the glass. Then waited over an hour to receive our food. Offered dessert menu but when it came to ordering 2 out of 5 choices unavailable. Then to top it all we were charged for another tables drinks tab. When this was identified barman very indifferent and not apologetic about it. Needless to say we didn't tip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JSD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop's Waltham
2.5 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
5.3 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
3.8 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Square, Bishop's Waltham SO32 1AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bishop's Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop's Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing