We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect local getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect local getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for a romantic short getaway, couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the room and friendliness of the staff. The en suite bathrooms are very well fitted out and the bedroom nicely furnished. Would recommend for a nice romantic break

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Satin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    84
    18
    18
    10
See reviews for
48
121
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here with a work colleague recently for one night. I booked due to the great revues here on Tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. The nautical themed rooms are spotless, roomy and smart. Although my room (no.5) was a little noisy earlier on from the pub downstairs, it was quiet from 11pm onwards. So had a great nights sleep, rounded off with a hearty breakfast. The previous nights meal was good too. Not too pricey, great attentive service, and plenty to choose from the menu. I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in the beautifully decorated rooms this weekend. Very comfortable. Great customer service and a good local trade in the bar which is always a good sign. Would highly recommend. Fabulous home cooked breakfast and any requirement was no trouble for the staff. Very hospitable and if you like olde worlde beams you will love The Crown (beware if you are tall though!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Beautifully refurbished historical inn, friendly staff and great atmosphere, restaurant bril and although the pub gets busy you can still sleep soundly.
great town for a base for touring the Hampshire downs.

Room Tip: they are all beautiful even the small double and I have stayed several times now x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiance and I came here to celebrate his 40th birthday. The pub was quiet, and there was a welcoming atmosphere. The dining areas are warm and cosy. We were seated near a roaring log fire place.

I ordered one of their few vegetarian dishes (root vegetable and cheddar dish), which was tasty. My fiancé ordered steak, which was good enough. What really made our visit special was the fantastic service we received. The waitress (her first day on the job we found out) was simply wonderful- polite, genuine, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. She also overheard us say it was a birthday meal, and she arranged candles to come out with our dessert. The other staff were also friendly and approachable.

To summarise, the food is decent, the service is brilliant, the atmosphere is great (historic pub) and the prices are reasonable. We enjoyed our meal so much that we will be coming back on our next holiday in Hampshire.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88ClaireC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the crown in this week, having to stay local over night whilst flood damage being repaired on our own home we were more than pleasantly surprised with our visit.
First class from the moment we checked in until the moment we left after one of the best breakfasts we have had in a long time, the following morning!
Staff behind the bar were attentive, restaurant staff were very friendly and the bed was just so comfortable.
To compliment the whole stay we had a very friendly chat with the manager at breakfast who visited all guests to ask a genuine "how they had enjoyed their stay at the Crown."
Will definitely be returning for an evening meal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsfoodie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Realised I hadn't lefta review for here, and I really should have done. Fascinating, quirky place, with rooms that were great value. Stopped here for Goodwood as much because it was the closest place I could find, but very glad I did. Only slight downside comes with the nature of the building; it is after all a working pub, if not a late opening pub, so you have to adapt your sleep time to the pub's closing times. Not a problem for most people, I'm sure.

Excellent, characterful building however, that deserves exploring in itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moses L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop's Waltham
2.5 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
5.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: The Square, Bishop's Waltham SO32 1AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bishop's Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop's Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing