We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved this little and quaint hotel. I will for sure come back. We had the entire hotel as there were several of us for a wedding. Rooms were fantastic. So unique and quaint. The staff was amazing. My adapter blew out and I needed my straightening iron. They staff went and got me one to use. this was so appreciated as we were attending a wedding and I wanted my hair done. Food was great also. I can't say enough.

Room Tip: Any room is quaint. if you need a bathtub, ask. not all rooms have a bathtub. they have shower in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaryHPeosta_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends and we received a warm welcome. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar has some good spaces and there is a good selection of beers. The room was very interesting; old and at an angle, the floorboards authentically creaky and the roof beams and doorways all askew. Our bathroom was very spacious with a large shower and a free standing bath. The bed linen is high quality and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was well prepared and tasty. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just 20 minutes from the Ferry in Portsmouth, this made a convenient last night stop en route to home in Spain. The Inn was acquired by Fullers 3 years ago & has been extensively, expensively & tastefully refurbished, in all respects. It meanders on several levels, through adjoining houses, providing interesting & attractive views in all the rooms.
Our room, number 3, was at the "back" of the inn, double-glazed & away from the busy main road.It was very large, with a huge bathroom with a "ball & claw" bath, separate shower stall, etc.Excellent toiletries & towels.
Some lovely old furniture, portraits & paintings gave it a homely atmosphere.
Fullers ales in the bar, of course.
Dinner was somewhat disappointing: our starters of Hock terrine & Asparagus & egg were very good. However, my wife's duck salad was poor & my chicken & leek pie was very good, but spoiled by semi-raw chopped mixed vegetable, which were uneatable.
Breakfast next day was cooked to order & was excellent.
Free parking was 20 metres away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Extremely clean and comfortable room. Very dog friendly. The staff were helpful and charming and the food delicious. Our room was spacious - with tea and coffee facilities/hairdryer/rainforest shower/roll top bath/comfortable king size bed/bathrobes. All in all pretty faultless - if I was being picky it was a little noisy from the bar until closing and the floorboards creak in room 4 - but that's if I was being picky and it's easily the nicest B&B/pub that we've stayed in - probably ever. Great work guys - well done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff were helpful and chatty. The room was incredible, a four poster bed and a roll top bath (no 1), a lovely luxury. The faciities in the room was brilliant, however did not see a hairdryer. It was lovely and quiet with very little noise so a great nights sleep. The towels, bath robes and bedding were of a very high quality. Breakfast was of a high standard and did not make a fuss when asked to change a few things. Would stay again and recommend to all. However there was no room service which could make the experience of a higher standard.

Room Tip: Do not ask history of the place till you leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for a romantic short getaway, couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the room and friendliness of the staff. The en suite bathrooms are very well fitted out and the bedroom nicely furnished. Would recommend for a nice romantic break

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Satin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here with a work colleague recently for one night. I booked due to the great revues here on Tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. The nautical themed rooms are spotless, roomy and smart. Although my room (no.5) was a little noisy earlier on from the pub downstairs, it was quiet from 11pm onwards. So had a great nights sleep, rounded off with a hearty breakfast. The previous nights meal was good too. Not too pricey, great attentive service, and plenty to choose from the menu. I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Square, Bishop's Waltham SO32 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bishop's Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop's Waltham
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing