We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and pleasant”

The Bishops Waltham Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Friendly and pleasant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We go often and last night was a spur of the moment visit. It's always good service, good food and friendly. Open late which is an asset and often full which says a lot.

The menu is extensive and changes, always good, if sometimes a bit oily in my view. The hot curries are hot which is good, with lots of fresh coriander and chillies. I always ask for hot lime chutney.


Helpful?
Thank Independent_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Upped their game recently”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We regularly have takeaways and are never disappointed. Good value and friendly service. Much improved recently and highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HamphireBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Having had a few takeaway meals from The Waltham Tandoori recently, I can say that the did had been consistently good, staff are always friendly and good value. I would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant for takeaways. I will submit an eat in review soon!

Helpful?
Thank airtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We'd heard about this restaurant from friends and decided to give it a go. We were no disappointed. Friendly waiters guided us through the menu (our teenage daughter had never been to an Indian restaurant before) and the food came through really quickly. Really enjoyed this and will definitely return soon/

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Was recommended Tandoori over the other Indian restaurant and was not disappointed. Husband had the Harri Ali chicken and I had shrimp karahi. Extremely tasty and the service was great. It was late and we were the last ones in the restaurant . I would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank emf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishops Waltham Tandoori also viewed

Bishop's Waltham, Hampshire
 
Bishop's Waltham, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bishops Waltham Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing