We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed with Dixie Cafe this trip”
Review of Dixie Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie Cafe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Not impressed with Dixie Cafe this trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I met my wife, daughter, son-in-law and grandson for dinner at Dixie Cafe the night before my daughter's C-Section. I was not impressed with my fried pork chops. It had too much batter for me. The gravy was not the traditional white sawmill gravy that mom made. The gravy had some spice in it that I didn't care for. The mashed potatoes were good and the fried okra was okay. The bread was good when it was hot. The cornbread was really good.
When the featured meat doesn't measure up, it's a letdown. Dixie Cafe is a place that I visit every two or three years or so, but it's not a regular go-to place for me. I went this time because it was where my daughter and son-in-law wanted to go that evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    11
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
240 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Eat Place”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Dixie is a good eat place. They have a good menu and the food is always good. The service is good and the waiters are always friendly and helpful. Over the years I can't say that I've had a bad experience at any of the Dixie Locations and the food quality is consistently good. They do send out coupons in the mail at times which entices us to visit more often.

All in all, you can't go wrong with Dixie Cafe.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmr3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice out of way location”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a good place to eat and most times it is not over crowded cause it is out of the way a bit


Good food you get more food than you will at cracker barrel for the same price plus great light portions at a good value. Not to mention it taste better than other corporate southern cooking restaurants

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prairecwby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chain Slop Food - No Quality”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Went for dinner, most of what we had was over salted & seemed like someone's leftovers.
The atmosphere was clean & quite nice but the quality of the food was just plain bad.
Generous portions but who cares if you can't eat it?
This place could really be a hit if management was paying attention.
No return visit for us.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

There was a day when I was a big fan of Dixie Cafe. That ended with betting food poisoning. A year later, gave them a 2nd chance- and got sick again. No more

The old addage "fool me once, shame on you- fool me twice, shame on me" holds true. They may be perfectly safe and good now. But I will never go back.

I should have known, as I had previously had experiences with undercooked pork chops as well as chicken livers. I hope they have cleaned up their act.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBattman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Cafe also viewed

North Little Rock, AR
 
North Little Rock, AR
 

Been to Dixie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing