We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good southern fare, but not great”
Review of Dixie Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Victoria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good southern fare, but not great”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a chain, not your mama's Sunday table. If you keep that in mind, you'll do ok. If you are a son of the south and get too picky about how the fried okra or hushpuppies are "supposed" to taste, you'll be disappointed.

This is a very safe choice when entertaining yankees from out of town. Something on the menu for everyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    12
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good Example of what Dixie should be.”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I reviewed a Dixie Cafe in another location the other day that was not so good. Just wanted to let you know that the majority of Dixie's are great eat places. Tonight we visited this local Dixie that I've eaten at many times. Tonight we ordered the chef salads. Dixie serves up some huge salads and you are better off to share one and possibly order an appetizer and split it also. They have crisp lettuce with what we call Tommy Toe tomato's, cheese, croutons, and bacon bits with one the dressing of your choice. In addition if you order it with a meat choice they have big chunks of turkey, ham, chicken grilled or fried etc The chef is usually more than one person can eat and you'll go home with a take home box.
All in all Dixie Cafe's are a pretty safe bet to get a good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmr3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Not impressed with Dixie Cafe this trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I met my wife, daughter, son-in-law and grandson for dinner at Dixie Cafe the night before my daughter's C-Section. I was not impressed with my fried pork chops. It had too much batter for me. The gravy was not the traditional white sawmill gravy that mom made. The gravy had some spice in it that I didn't care for. The mashed potatoes were good and the fried okra was okay. The bread was good when it was hot. The cornbread was really good.
When the featured meat doesn't measure up, it's a letdown. Dixie Cafe is a place that I visit every two or three years or so, but it's not a regular go-to place for me. I went this time because it was where my daughter and son-in-law wanted to go that evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Eat Place”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Dixie is a good eat place. They have a good menu and the food is always good. The service is good and the waiters are always friendly and helpful. Over the years I can't say that I've had a bad experience at any of the Dixie Locations and the food quality is consistently good. They do send out coupons in the mail at times which entices us to visit more often.

All in all, you can't go wrong with Dixie Cafe.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmr3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice out of way location”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a good place to eat and most times it is not over crowded cause it is out of the way a bit


Good food you get more food than you will at cracker barrel for the same price plus great light portions at a good value. Not to mention it taste better than other corporate southern cooking restaurants

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prairecwby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Cafe also viewed

 
North Little Rock, AR
 

Been to Dixie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing