We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Beautiful place, excellent location. I would love to go back. The food is outstanding and the horse riding was unforgettable

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    17
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
55
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Definitely not your more typical big hacienda...with a mix of architectural styles including Inca temple (now the dining room). Staff only too happy to help with anything needed, food (included in price) was fantastic and served by friendly highly professional staff. Great living room area for group congregation, wonderful homely feel throughout the entire hacienda. Walks in the area along the stream and the horse riding were a highlight, as were the fireplaces in every room (including our bathroom) kept well stoked by discreet staff. Comfy warm beds, real pillows (a rarity in South America it seems) and stunning location with views of the amazing Cotopaxi volcano. Directions on website seem a bit vague at first but signage on Pan American Highway very clear (tip...if driving from Quito take the 2nd turnoff to the hacienda...this is the sealed road route and much easier than the first turnoff).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed one night at San Agustin. There were 3 in our group so we booked the largest room with a sofa bed. Arriving at the Hacienda is not like some of the others in Ecuador. There is no grand driveway, rather we drove in to the stables area, and were a little confused about where the reception was. The directions into the Hacienda from the highway are also a little vague. However on arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and we enjoyed a warm Canalazo drink in the cozy lounge area. Our room was next to the lounge and looked out onto the historic patio. The original Incan temple is clearly seen throughout parts of the Hacienda, including the amazing dining room. The food was delicious, lots of traditional Ecuadorean fare, all fresh from the gardens. After dinner the staff had all 3 fireplaces roaring in our suite, including in the large bathroom. The shutters were drawn and hot water bottles placed in the beds. It was a blissful way to drift off to sleep snug under the blankets with the fire gently heating the room. Breakfast was good, after which we took a leisurely horse ride around the local village. The weather was rainy so we missed out on the spectacular views, but it was a lovely and relaxing treat. It's not cheap, but worth the experience. It was also great to be able to learn about the family who own the Hacienda, their history. Don't miss the stunning original Guayasamin painting in the lounge area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecuatoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had been told that the best place from which to see Volcano Cotapaxi is the living room at Hacienda San Agustin de Callo. We did go up to 14,000 feet on the volcano, which was a spectacular sight, but indeed the view from the hacienda was gorgeous. And the welcome was too. What a pleasure, from the greeting as we arrived, to the ambiance of our room, to the wonderful dinner, to the lovely volcano views. Wonderful old Inca walls, including in the dining room and the family chapel. Llamas grazing outside the garden. A wonderful hacienda experience

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oats711NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I like to start our reviews with the positives. Having never visited South America, much less Ecuador, I was immediately impressed. A little over an hour drive from Quito, Hacienda San Agustin sits in the beautiful foothills just outside of Cotopaxi. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm cider-like beverage and shown to our room. BEAUTIFUL. The rooms had a historic stone construction, well appointed with an extremely comfortable king bed. Down comforts, cotton sheets, modern bathroom fixtures, and wood burning fireplaces exceeded our expectations of hacienda lodging.

The dining experience was also well above average. Chef Julianna, Wilson, and the entire staff were very courteous and helpful. Excellent food was provided for all three meals. One food-loving guest even requested to visit the kitchen to witness a meal preparation. She was welcomed with open arms and even got to help with lunch preparation (after suiting up with all health department requirements). She told me it was the highlight of her trip.

Day two brought a very entertaining horseback riding experience. Novices will be fine with this. Hardly any skill needed. Slow but scenic. Very nice guide. No English but it was not really needed. A picnic lunch was provided an hour in to the journey followed by a slightly different route back to the hacienda. Here’s the shocking part. Upon checkout we found out that the picnic lunch was a whopping $35 per person extra. It was simply tuna sandwiches!

Areas that left a bit to be desired are as follows:

Fernanda was our property liaison but was woefully under-qualified and often hard to find. She had a very difficult time communicating in English. When she was able to communicate, many times she did not know the answer to our questions. The reasonably-priced wine inventory seemed to be exhausted after the first night with no real attempt to replenish.

The property needs more outdoor seating. With such beautiful weather, we often found ourselves wanting to have a beer or wine outside but never had enough seating even for four.

One gathering place that was nice was the salon area (like a living room) that had an honor bar. Just write down what liquor you consumed and they will put it on your tab. Great idea except there was no beer or wine at the honor bar. Also, the sofas are in desperate need of replacement and smell like cat urine. There was supposed to be wireless internet service in this area but it rarely worked.

All things considered, the overall experience was positive but could not justify the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamerican260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Such uniqueness and the courage to preserve this Inca temple (under the most trying of circumstances) and include a sense of elegance, requires high sophistication and intelligence, deserves more than 5/5.

As with all fine things, it is difficult to find San Agustin; the discovery of it and its dramatic setting is worth the effort. Snowcapped, symmetrical Cotopaxi commands the horizon - on a bright, sunny day, a deeply moving , exhilarating experience.

My enveloping, feather mattress and roaring log fire is a rare luxury. Breakfast is a triumph, a royal treat. Save time for it and linger. Dinner was good but high altitude lessens appetite. My bathroom was cold, the water, hot.

Cotopaxi Park, especially, driving up Cotopaxi mountain to 15,000', flora & fauna, is magnificent. The entire venture needs a minimum stay of two nights.

Making a reservation was a trial. There is barely a sign for the hotel on a very busy highway - a frustrating experience when self-driving.

I will return as often as possibly can.

Room Tip: request a room in the old, Inca section - if not, try to go when available. New rooms are well desig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haciendacusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After a great deal of research , I chose the property as one of our stops on a family adventure to Ecuador and the Galapagos. I am so glad I did , as it was one of the highlights of our trip.

The Hacienda is an incredibly special place. The natural setting is breathtaking and a great deal of care has been taken in the details and decor. The gardens are splendid and the llamas are a great deal of fun.

The meals , which are part of the package , are savory and well-presented. My favorite part was the delicious breakfast. I´d also mention the shrimp dishes as being memorable.

Our family of 5 stayed in the Callo Lodge...we had 3 bedrooms and baths , as well as a living room and kitchen. We had stunning views of Cotopaxi. The lodge was perfect for our family. The bathroom ammenities were lovely and they provided ponchos and fresh flowers in every room. The linens were top notch and chocolates and a poem were left nightly on the beds.

We did have problem : the lodge had a very strong , overwhelming chemical smell. When we arrived , we thought the smell was perhaps insecticide or a strong cleaning product. One of the staff came to check it our , we opened all the windows and only on the last day did the smell leave. It interfered with our sleep. I should have insisted on changing rooms.

The gentleman who served our meals , Lorenzo , was exceptional and my children loved him.

The Hacienda was one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed. I´d return in a heartbeat . It is expensive and as another poster said , watch out for extra costs , but it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
13.5 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#3 of 25 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Agustin De Callo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Property: Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Address: Cotopaxi - Ecuador | Ciudad Lasso, Lasso 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Agustin De Callo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the 15th century San Agustin de Callo has served as an Inca fortress and palace and Augustinian monastery and was also temporary home of the French Geodesic Mission (1742) whose scientific work helped change the shape of the planet. Other famous visitors include the brilliant German scientist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and English mountain climber Edward Whymper. In 1912 the Hacienda was purchased by General Leonidas Plaza Gutierrez, leader of the liberal Revolution and two-time President of Ecuador.With only eleven rooms, it is one of the most romantic spots for honeymoons and other special occasions. San Agustin de Callo constitutes the only lived in museum of Inca Imperial and Spanish Colonial style. Surrounded by the smoke-blackened Inca walls of the dining room, one can marvel at the infinite precision of the stonemasonry, a monument to the unrivalled craftsmanship of the Incas, and admire the stunning view of Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world.The peaceful atmosphere and magical landscape combine to make San Agustin a sanctuary of inspiration for artists and lovers of nature and a restful haven for weary travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda San Agustin De Callo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Hotel Lasso
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Cotopaxi, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing