We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character and Comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Character and Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

What a beautiful hacienda, welcomed by llamas which our 6 children hand fed, going fishing and then horse riding with the eccentric gaucho Jose. After a lovely dinner and musical entertainment going back to our room with fires burning in both the bedroom and bathroom, you would think that was enough. But then you crawl into bed to find someone has placed a hot water bottle there for you as well. A great place and very personalised and unique. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blizzard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    17
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
51
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A definite "must" for travelers in Ecuador. This beautiful hacienda is one of the most charming & lovely places we have ever stayed. Our arrival into cozy suite, with 3 fireplaces blazing, not toddies, & an elegant dinner for two in the amazing room of Incan walls, candlelight, & silver.
The gardens & surroundings are first class...a St Bernard & llamas & horses to play with.
Meals are outstanding & there is attention to detail in everything done here...excursions, room service, antiques & family heirlooms from an old Ecuadorian family.
Quite possibly the best bathroom anywhere in room #2.

Room Tip: Ask for room #2 if you can afford it...or a rom in the main Casona house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

An unexpected boutique hotel located close to Quito. The building is situated on the remains of an Inca site which had been re-used by the Augustinians.

The hacienda has comfortable public areas with old photographs of the family and Inca walls everywhere, especially in the dining room. The ambiance is friendly An unusual aspect is feeding the llama herd carrots by hand.

Food is plentiful and good quality. The fish is especially good. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Beautiful place, excellent location. I would love to go back. The food is outstanding and the horse riding was unforgettable

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Definitely not your more typical big hacienda...with a mix of architectural styles including Inca temple (now the dining room). Staff only too happy to help with anything needed, food (included in price) was fantastic and served by friendly highly professional staff. Great living room area for group congregation, wonderful homely feel throughout the entire hacienda. Walks in the area along the stream and the horse riding were a highlight, as were the fireplaces in every room (including our bathroom) kept well stoked by discreet staff. Comfy warm beds, real pillows (a rarity in South America it seems) and stunning location with views of the amazing Cotopaxi volcano. Directions on website seem a bit vague at first but signage on Pan American Highway very clear (tip...if driving from Quito take the 2nd turnoff to the hacienda...this is the sealed road route and much easier than the first turnoff).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed one night at San Agustin. There were 3 in our group so we booked the largest room with a sofa bed. Arriving at the Hacienda is not like some of the others in Ecuador. There is no grand driveway, rather we drove in to the stables area, and were a little confused about where the reception was. The directions into the Hacienda from the highway are also a little vague. However on arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and we enjoyed a warm Canalazo drink in the cozy lounge area. Our room was next to the lounge and looked out onto the historic patio. The original Incan temple is clearly seen throughout parts of the Hacienda, including the amazing dining room. The food was delicious, lots of traditional Ecuadorean fare, all fresh from the gardens. After dinner the staff had all 3 fireplaces roaring in our suite, including in the large bathroom. The shutters were drawn and hot water bottles placed in the beds. It was a blissful way to drift off to sleep snug under the blankets with the fire gently heating the room. Breakfast was good, after which we took a leisurely horse ride around the local village. The weather was rainy so we missed out on the spectacular views, but it was a lovely and relaxing treat. It's not cheap, but worth the experience. It was also great to be able to learn about the family who own the Hacienda, their history. Don't miss the stunning original Guayasamin painting in the lounge area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecuatoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had been told that the best place from which to see Volcano Cotapaxi is the living room at Hacienda San Agustin de Callo. We did go up to 14,000 feet on the volcano, which was a spectacular sight, but indeed the view from the hacienda was gorgeous. And the welcome was too. What a pleasure, from the greeting as we arrived, to the ambiance of our room, to the wonderful dinner, to the lovely volcano views. Wonderful old Inca walls, including in the dining room and the family chapel. Llamas grazing outside the garden. A wonderful hacienda experience

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oats711NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
13.5 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Agustin De Callo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Property: Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Address: Cotopaxi - Ecuador | Ciudad Lasso, Lasso 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Agustin De Callo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the 15th century San Agustin de Callo has served as an Inca fortress and palace and Augustinian monastery and was also temporary home of the French Geodesic Mission (1742) whose scientific work helped change the shape of the planet. Other famous visitors include the brilliant German scientist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and English mountain climber Edward Whymper. In 1912 the Hacienda was purchased by General Leonidas Plaza Gutierrez, leader of the liberal Revolution and two-time President of Ecuador.With only eleven rooms, it is one of the most romantic spots for honeymoons and other special occasions. San Agustin de Callo constitutes the only lived in museum of Inca Imperial and Spanish Colonial style. Surrounded by the smoke-blackened Inca walls of the dining room, one can marvel at the infinite precision of the stonemasonry, a monument to the unrivalled craftsmanship of the Incas, and admire the stunning view of Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world.The peaceful atmosphere and magical landscape combine to make San Agustin a sanctuary of inspiration for artists and lovers of nature and a restful haven for weary travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda San Agustin De Callo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Hotel Lasso
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Cotopaxi, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing