We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“history and sophisticated hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

To stay in a 15th century Inca temple is enough in itself but to be lulled to sleep by a roaring log-fire, cuddled-up on a feather mattress with handmade bedcovers and hot-water bottle, is glorious experience.

A royal breakfast, in a dining room with fine Inca stone walls, thatched ceiling and trapezoidal doors, we looked up to the snowcap of Cotopaxi mountain, framed by a deep blue sky.

We checked our emails and World news via fast, complimentary wi-fi and in a central Inca courtyard we fed carrots to a herd of llamas.

A recently completed road took us to shallow Limpiopungo (lake), in 50,000 acre Cotopaxi Park where we had a tasty picnic prepared By San Agustin's chef.

Dinner was excellent, made more so by the utterly charming and sophisticated owner, Mignon Plaza, who entertained us with intriguing stories, especially of San Agustin's history.

All of San Agustin's staff were helpful and prompt.

After a 2-night stay (the recommended minimum stay), we left in a rented car for Lago San Pablo, Imbabura, past Quito's very fine new airport.

Room Tip: ask for a room or suite in the main temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casamolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We went there for lunch in our way to Riobamba. The food was delicious. The hotel is a stunning old hacienda built over real Inca ruins. There is a old temple perfectly maintained which is now a Catolic church. We loved the place so much that we decided to come back and stay for one or two nights. The views of the Cotopaxi volcan are stunning. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The drive from the Quito airport took over 2 hours (lots of traffic which is how I think of Ecuador)....it was a Friday early evening. We arrived in the dark, dropped our bags in the room, and went immediately to dinner. Dinner is served in the Inca building which serves as the dining room for lunch and dinner. Our room was very spacious - a sitting area, a bedroom, and a HUGE bathroom. It was cold when we were here and we needed the 3 fireplaces (one per room). The hot water bottle in the bed was great. It was chilly in the morning as the fires had burned out. The food for breakfast and dinner was very good. Breakfast includes cold/hot selections and is a bit slow so allow plenty of time if you have a pick-up booked. They accommodated our request for boxed lunches. It's a lovely property and really charming and the tour of the house is a nice touch, however, if you like modern ammenities you will be disappointed. We had the good fortune of seeing the peak of Cotopaxi when the clouds cleared around 5:45 p.m. one evening. No such luck when we drove up the mountain - rain & very cold winds!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nestled in the foothills of the Andean mountains aside the tallest active volcano in the world, Cotopaxi, and just an hour drive from the Ecuadorian capital of Quito, stands the magnificent, historic, and majestic Hacienda San Agustin de Callo. The owner, the eloquent, lovely, and passionate Mignon is a firm advocate for her incredible property; any subtle clearing of the clouds in front of the volcanoes—Cotopaxi, Ilinizas, Tungurahua, or Chimborazo—and she runs in excitement to gather everyone to gaze at the natural splendor visible from every window of the Hacienda. There are no words to describe the property and the surrounding highlands, but if I were to attempt to describe them, the only word that comes to mind is magical.

I had the pleasure of staying in the Hacienda in the spring of 2011 and then again in the summer of 2012 as a volunteer, and cannot wait to return again. The staff is committed to providing guests and visitors with memorable and amazing experiences whether through the excellent, natural, and local gourmet food, the outstanding horseback riding trails, the blissful walks through the rose plantations, or the hikes through the magnificent property. The rooms in the three possible lodging places (the Inca House, Cotopaxi House, and Callo House) are stunning; they are adorned with unique, warm, and ornate details to make you feel like you are in a home, not a stark hotel. To truly feel the magic and beauty of the Ecuadorian Sierra, I wholeheartedly recommend the Hacienda that stole my heart for its beauty, grace, cultural immersion, and hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShayZeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I made the mistake of making a reservation. Without telling me, they charged my credit card for the full amount. I cancelled a month later. It took SIX emails before they answered. Then they claimed they could not refund my credit card as it was impossible to do that in Ecuador. They eventually wired me the monet but it took another month and fifteen more emails. I had to involve Visa.

When they did wire the money, they shortchanged me 155 dollars for western union charges and fees. When I protested that, the owner began sending me the most arrogant emails I have ever received. He kept telling me how "exclusive" his hotel was. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in more than 50 countries. This is the worst service I have ever received.

There are lots of beautiful haciendas in Ecuador so you dont need to stay at this one.

I have copies of all emails.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
10  Thank kmbaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecuadoriantrails, Owner at Hacienda San Agustin De Callo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Mr. KmBaert,

The original mail sent to you confirming your reservation, states clearly that full payment is required in advance. No ground for confusion.

Your request that we refund the amount charged through your credit card, was not possible to do as your card was issued outside of Ecuador.

Needless to explain, the procedure took time, wait for your turn, then speak to someone else and so forth.

Finally we were informed that this means of refunding was not possible.

We also consulted with our bank about this, and were told that only through a bank transfer could we proceed to refund the amount, which option you declined. We went all out to attend your demands as best as possible, as it is our policy to try and please our clients in every way.

Finally we sent you the funds through Western Union, three weeks after you cancelled and patiently answered many of your inappropriate emails. No more could be answered because of the tone of your messages, threats and we are also busy working.

Evidently the credit card charged its commission which you had to pay, as well as the cost of sending you the funds, you were the one who cancelled the reservation.

Your attitude was very surprising as we have never dealt with such an unusual problem. You can see for yourself the reviews on San Agustin in TripAdvisor.

Mignon Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and her parents stayed here near the end of our 2 week Ecuador vacation. We stayed 2 nights, and enjoyed every moment. The property itself has been renovated with much care, and the gardens and grounds are ripe for wandering. We were greeted with a lovely, warm ginger drink (with a mystery shot that "took the edge off"), and were shown our room (amazing) and then a brief tour of the place (also amazing). Our room (Las Gordas?) had a fireplace that kept us nice and toasty at night, with a volcano view, and a claw foot tub. Towels were super-thick and soft, as were the bed linens. The appetizers and meals were wonderfully prepared (maybe you'll get a kitchen tour!), and we were fortunate to spend some time getting to know the owner, Mignon, a delightful woman.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRoePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

San Agustin De Callo is a beautiful place with an interesting history. My major complaint is how disorganized management is. When I arrived, they had no record of my reservation, for which I had already paid. In a confusion, they told me I'd paid half, and when I got back to the states and was able to prove that I had already paid the full amount, they told me rates had changed and refused to repay the half I overpaid. This is a great place to stay, BUT, make sure you keep records of everything, and have them on hand!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecuadoriantrails, Director Comercial at Hacienda San Agustin De Callo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Mr. Robert S,

Sorry that there was some confusion in your reservation with us. It was a minor mistake.

You asked for a single room but arrived with another person. Consequently we proceeded
to invoice you for a double room not a single room as there were two people in the room.

We would be happy if you could acknowledge that this is correct and that the invoice was therefore correct. Many thanks for your visit.

Mignon Plaza

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
14.4 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
158 reviews
14.2 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#4 of 4 in Latacunga
95 reviews
21.3 mi away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#6 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
110 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
368 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Colorada
La Quinta Colorada
#3 of 3 in Lasso
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Agustin De Callo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Agustin De Callo

Address: | 5 km off the Panamerican Highway, close to Cotopaxi National Park entrance, Lasso 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lasso
Price Range: £355 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Agustin De Callo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the 15th century San Agustin de Callo has served as an Inca fortress and palace and Augustinian monastery and was also temporary home of the French Geodesic Mission (1742) whose scientific work helped change the shape of the planet. Other famous visitors include the brilliant German scientist and explorer Alexander von Humboldt and English mountain climber Edward Whymper. In 1912 the Hacienda was purchased by General Leonidas Plaza Gutierrez, leader of the liberal Revolution and two-time President of Ecuador.With only eleven rooms, it is one of the most romantic spots for honeymoons and other special occasions. San Agustin de Callo constitutes the only lived in museum of Inca Imperial and Spanish Colonial style. Surrounded by the smoke-blackened Inca walls of the dining room, one can marvel at the infinite precision of the stonemasonry, a monument to the unrivalled craftsmanship of the Incas, and admire the stunning view of Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world.The peaceful atmosphere and magical landscape combine to make San Agustin a sanctuary of inspiration for artists and lovers of nature and a restful haven for weary travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda San Agustin De Callo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Hotel Lasso
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo Cotopaxi, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing