We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Ruff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishuntime Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishuntime Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond in the Ruff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I found this place by accident and without even a picture we went. When we arrived I was a little hesitant but as soon as we met Tina any hesitance I had went right out the window . The service was great the rooms were clean and the access to the lake was perfect . We unfortunately had a flat tire when we woke up the next morning and they did everything they could other than buy me new tires for me to get us back in action. Boat rental is easy and no hassle and not a million questions and really have nothing bad to say about it. It's as close as you can get to down home hospitality at its finest .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonMagsKaylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have stayed in unit six both times we have come to this resort. It has the option of being a one or two bedroom unit with a kitchen, living area, screened in porch, and one or two bathes. It's comfortably appointed with excellent beds, comfortable furniture, and very clean. The prices here are a bargain! There is a nice dock, plentiful shade, and pets are truly welcomed here. If you enjoy a lake based, laid-back vacation spot on Bull Shoals this is one of the best! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Tina and Buddy are wonderful hosts. You can see that they are going the extra mile to make Fish-un-time a real quality place to stay. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. Our queen size bed was so comfortable and we slept like babies after a day on the lake. The bathroom was clean, the bath towels were big and fluffy, the water pressure was great. The kitchen was well stocked for everything you need to prepare a nice meal. And when we had a problem with our coffee maker, Tina let us use hers! She also picked us up coffee when she went to town... So nice! We stayed in the largest cabin, #6. The living area was so large and roomy. The furniture was as comfortable as home. We had a fireplace and a large TV, hooked up with satellite, so plenty to look at when we wanted to relax. We even had our own screened in patio where I enjoyed my morning coffee, watching the birds and the deer.

There are only two things that I would say were drawbacks... One, the back bedroom, while is VERY nice and had it's own bathroom and shower, is an awkward walk thru the other bathroom to get to, which most of the time wasn't a big deal, until the other couple that was with us needed to be in it, then we couldn't get in or out of our room. Wasn't terrible and we worked it out. The second drawback was the boat dock was almost 3/4 mile from the resort down a gravel road. It wasn't terrible, but we would have liked to be able to see the dock to keep an eye on the boat. Again, it was workable and we just drove down instead of walking. The dock was nice, but small, only 3 stalls. It didn't affect us, since we got one of them, but if they had more guests that brought boats, it could be an issue.

Overall, I thought it was a great place, especially knowing what some of the resorts on the lake have to offer. I wouldn't hesitate to come back or to recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrilton, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My family of 5 traveled to Bull Shoals on August 5th 2011...Was very hesitant with online booking but was greatly pleased when we arrived..Rooms were nice.....Great scuba diving, swimming, mom and pop eats close by with good food....Resort has hot tubs-game room, wildlife, great view of lake from top of hill out your back door..The MAIN reason we will return to this resort often is Buddy and Tina. Very friendly couple that will do everything in their power to make your stay fantastic. They will not be owners of a resort when you leave they will become your FRIENDS......Mike & Glenda Starr Morrilton AR

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

We have stayed at Fishuntime the last 3 years and will be going back in 2010. We love the woodsy quiet location, the thoughtfulness of our hosts, and the location on the water. The price is very reasonable. The resort is centrally located on the water for easy exploring, there is a marina nearby for gas, and the water skiing in that area is some of the best. The rooms are clean, the furniture comfortable and there are personal touches that make you feel welcome! We appreciate hosts who are available to answer questions and help with unexpected issues. Last summer, our boat battery decided to go out on the first day, Tom offered a substitute until we could get back to town. The sports tube went flat, Tom put a new valve stem plug in and aired it back up. We have been married 18 years, spent every summer on the lake somewhere and have found Fishuntime to be a charming, quiet, place of restoration for us and some of the best vacations we have ever had. We look forward to returning every year and are always sorry to leave. We are counting down to July!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiersbynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our trip was spur-of-the moment, and we chose the resort because it is so inexpensive. The hosts are wonderful, the cottage was clean and tidy, and you could tell that they have tried to provide many things, both in the cottage and in the game room, to provide activities for children and for adults on rainy days. The grounds were immaculate, and they feed the deer which was fun to see in the evening.
The only draw-back is the mile-long drive down to the boat ramp/dock, which is unpaved, bumpy and rocky. This, however,is not the owners' fault - I would guess that would be something the State should do.
We did catch quite a few fish - chatted with the neighbors - spent some time in Mountain Home looking for antiques. Except for the weather (cooler and windy than normal), we had a nice time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeansieIIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We have been coming down to Fishuntime now for about 4-5 years. We just love it here. The cabins are always clean, the resort is kept in wonderful condition and the lake is beautiful. We also love the fact that we can bring our dog along for the trip. Tom and Jeannette are very kind and go above and beyond to take care of their customers. This year we were arriving late on my son's 13th birthday. Jeannette had taken the time to not only pick up a cake for me in town, but also to decorate the cabin. When my son walked in and saw the decorations he was just amazed. It made for a wonderful birthday for him. It is a wonderful place and good people. We look foward to coming back next summer.
The Nicolai's
St. Louis, Missouri

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fishuntime Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishuntime Resort

Property: Fishuntime Resort
Address: 1009 County Road 123, Oakland, AR 72661-9079
Region: United States > Arkansas > Oakland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to be our guest at Fish-Un-Time resort, less than one mile from our private boat dock and swim deck on beautiful Bull Shoals Lake. Our resort is private and peaceful, situated on seven acres surrounded by the unspoiled Ozark woods near Oakland, Arkansas. We are located about 25 minutes from Mountain Home, Arkansas, 30 minutes from the White River and only 75 miles from Branson, Missouri. We offer six cabins ranging from comfortable capacity from 2 to 7 people with $10 per night per extra guests. Family room includes pool table, foosball, air hockey and darts. Pavilion, shuffle board and basketball goal also available. Scenic views from cabins and from the deck that includes a hot tub. Private boat dock with free boat slip with cabin rental or pontoon boats and kayaks available for rent by the hour or day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fishuntime Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing