We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$256
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Inn Owen Sound(Owen Sound)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
47
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
8
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Me & my 3 girlfriends planned a last minute trip to Tobermory for Labour Day Weekend 2012. Everything in Tobermory was booked solid, so I took a gamble on this place. I was crossing my fingers the whole drive there because none of my friends had ever stayed in a B&B or had gone on an outdoorsy trip before. I was SO relieved when we got there! Seriously, the pics on the website do not do this place justice!
Highlights:
- Convenient location (between Sauble Beach and Tobermory)
- Breakfast was great! She catered to our dietary restrictions with no hesitation (1 gluten free, 2 veggies, 1 meat eater)
- Muffins were to die for! Even the gluten free ones! She packed the extras for later!
- Recommended a great Thai restaurant in Owen Sound on our way into town
- Stayed in the Fernwood room (sleeps up to 4, 2 single beds and a queen). It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was so clean!
- They had a bon fire with smores at night for the guests (you just have to ask). The conversation was great! That was my personal highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We first became acquainted with Ruth Heinrich when we were searching for someone to marry us while on vacation in Canada. After only a few search modifications we located Ruth's website.(ceremoniesforlife.ca) We loved the site and felt strongly that she was the one to do our ceremony. We had a lot of back and forth over the internet and on Skype. The location for the ceremony was left to us to pick on our arrival on the Bruce Peninsula. We assumed that would be the easy part but it was not. We became increasingly frustrated and as a last resort we went to see Ruth. Her B&B is beautiful and she couldn't have been more accomodating. She suggested that we have the ceremony at her neighbors nursery and the reception at the B&B. All our issues were taken care of by Ruth and our stress vanished. A huge weight was lifted.
The wedding went exactly as planned and our small reception (8 people) went very well. The dinner was excellent. All of Ruths' menu reccomendations were spot on. It was far and away the best meal we had while in Canada.
The room was priced right, was modern and tastefully decorated. The entire place is immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was another amazing meal; Ruth is an exceptional cook and Gord is a gracious host.
The only problem we had was that we happened onto the hottest days of the year. The Bruce Peninsula is normally very comfortable from a temperature and humidity standpoint. On the radio we heard public service anouncements urging people to check in on old people or move to cooling centers set up to house people temporarily. And here we are having an outdoor wedding. In the end, it was a small inconvenience.
We will return to the area again someday and we will stay will Ruth and Gord. I highly recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: We chose the Birchwood room so as to have a private bath in preparation for our wedding.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In the past we've camped and rented a cottage in the bruce peninsula but when we want to stay only a few nights I will always go to Haven on the Bay. We discovered them last year and have stayed for two nights on two separate occasions. Once with my husband last year and this year with my mother. We will all probably visit them many more times in the years to come. Very reasonable pricing, terrific hosts, impeccably clean rooms ( and I'm picky) and superb breakfasts. Close to Sauble and Tobermory. Great beach nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyTO w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBayRuth, Owner at Haven on the Bay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our B&B. There is no better compliment we could receive than to have returning guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is one friendly set of hosts at this B&B. Gord and Ruth are highly hospital hosts in their ultra modern and clean B&B. I will also add Ruth makes the most amazing muffins on the planet. Her breakfast is killer. The location is quite incredible with a very close by beach ranking it one of the best sunsets in the world. Also, you get to see the neat moonsets as well. Thanks to them for existing and setting REAL standards on how a ultra B&B should operate. They are very flexible to make your stay happy. Soorry as there is no pool or fitness center as this is a B&B home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBayRuth, Owner at Haven on the Bay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Richard, we are beginning to think you are biased! We have enjoyed your company the few times you have been here hiking with your group. We look forward to many more visits where we will endeavour to add to "awesome"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My mother and I stayed for two nights at Haven on the Bay at the start of July and it was hands-down the best B&B we've ever stayed in. The accomodations are impeccable (so spacious and clean and beautiful!) and the food delicious. (And Ruth's muffins deservedly the stuff of legend... we had apple-pecan-streusel our first day and "peaches and cream" our second... worth a visit on their own!!) The common room is immense with a beautiful fireplace, TV and movies. I'd been to the Bruce before but never heard of Red Bay - turned out it's a very (very!) small little collection of homes and cottages along a shallow bay - wonderfully quiet, and the Bay is great for wading out in, especially if you have young kids. (There's a little playground by the water too, which is just across the road from Haven). We ended up chatting with the other guests at breakfast, too, which was a very different experience for us and really made for a special trip.

The only things I could think of for improvement would be a darker blind in the room (we were in Lakewood, and the sun seemed to come up very early!)

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!!! Would highly recommend Haven to anyone thinking of traveling up to the Bruce for a restful vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morbheanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBayRuth, Owner at Haven on the Bay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your review. It means a great deal to us.
As for the darker blind, we have looked into this and it would be at the expense of air flow through the windows. However, perhaps a darker curtain would do the trick. We will look into that. Thank you for your comment and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews