We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay if you're exploring the Bruce peninsula”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven on the Bay B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Red Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best place to stay if you're exploring the Bruce peninsula”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Haven on the Bay for 3 nights, over the Canada day long weekend and we loved everything about it. The location is perfect, in proximity of several towns and attractions, but still far enough that it's quiet and peaceful. And there's a beautiful sandy beach just a 5 minute walk away.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious and really nicely decorated, and it's really quiet so you'll get the best sleep. The breakfasts are amazing, every day it's something different, but always freshly cooked, and also different home made muffins every day! we felt like we were being spoiled every morning.

Ruth and Gordon are the best hosts, they'll tell you all you need to know about the area, and share their tips. And in the evenings there's a camp fire and everyone sits around sharing stories, looking at the stars and having s'mores.

We were sad to leave yesterday and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Twice a year 14 of us from around the province gather at Haven on the Bay in the picturesque tranquility of the Bruce for a wonderful weekend retreat with each other, and the warm hospitality, elegant accommodation and gourmet meals offered by Ruth and Gord. There's no better place anywhere for communing with nature and one another. Highly recommended by all of us, who hope to continue our visits for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed last summer at this amazing place. beautiful, cozy and full of love and hard work. Ruth and Gordon were more the hospitable and accommodating to are late arrival and changing rooms. Amazing food, fresh crisp linens and great serves was the icing on the cake. the only B&B that takes kids and is very kid friendly, Red Bay beach, a 5 minute walk from the B&B is also great for kids with a shallow walk-out for several hundred yards and a small riven with lots of frogs for the kids to play with. Overall just a beautiful place to stay and the hosts were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The place is just amazing. Cozy, elegant, spacious and you see that every detail has been taken care of. The food is to die for -- Ruth knows what she is doing in her kitchen and she does it with perfection. Ruth and Gordon are wonderful people and they make you feel very comfortable in their B&B. They also give you great tips of where to go, to eat and do around that area. We had an awesome time at Haven on the Bay with our friends, and we are looking forwarding to going there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBayRuth, Owner at Haven on the Bay B&B, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We strive to have our B&B not the same old same old B&B experience. We believe it should have a sense of style and feel comfortable enough to put your feet on the furniture. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again as you continue your hikes along the Bruce Trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Me & my 3 girlfriends planned a last minute trip to Tobermory for Labour Day Weekend 2012. Everything in Tobermory was booked solid, so I took a gamble on this place. I was crossing my fingers the whole drive there because none of my friends had ever stayed in a B&B or had gone on an outdoorsy trip before. I was SO relieved when we got there! Seriously, the pics on the website do not do this place justice!
Highlights:
- Convenient location (between Sauble Beach and Tobermory)
- Breakfast was great! She catered to our dietary restrictions with no hesitation (1 gluten free, 2 veggies, 1 meat eater)
- Muffins were to die for! Even the gluten free ones! She packed the extras for later!
- Recommended a great Thai restaurant in Owen Sound on our way into town
- Stayed in the Fernwood room (sleeps up to 4, 2 single beds and a queen). It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was so clean!
- They had a bon fire with smores at night for the guests (you just have to ask). The conversation was great! That was my personal highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We first became acquainted with Ruth Heinrich when we were searching for someone to marry us while on vacation in Canada. After only a few search modifications we located Ruth's website.(ceremoniesforlife.ca) We loved the site and felt strongly that she was the one to do our ceremony. We had a lot of back and forth over the internet and on Skype. The location for the ceremony was left to us to pick on our arrival on the Bruce Peninsula. We assumed that would be the easy part but it was not. We became increasingly frustrated and as a last resort we went to see Ruth. Her B&B is beautiful and she couldn't have been more accomodating. She suggested that we have the ceremony at her neighbors nursery and the reception at the B&B. All our issues were taken care of by Ruth and our stress vanished. A huge weight was lifted.
The wedding went exactly as planned and our small reception (8 people) went very well. The dinner was excellent. All of Ruths' menu reccomendations were spot on. It was far and away the best meal we had while in Canada.
The room was priced right, was modern and tastefully decorated. The entire place is immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was another amazing meal; Ruth is an exceptional cook and Gord is a gracious host.
The only problem we had was that we happened onto the hottest days of the year. The Bruce Peninsula is normally very comfortable from a temperature and humidity standpoint. On the radio we heard public service anouncements urging people to check in on old people or move to cooling centers set up to house people temporarily. And here we are having an outdoor wedding. In the end, it was a small inconvenience.
We will return to the area again someday and we will stay will Ruth and Gord. I highly recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: We chose the Birchwood room so as to have a private bath in preparation for our wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In the past we've camped and rented a cottage in the bruce peninsula but when we want to stay only a few nights I will always go to Haven on the Bay. We discovered them last year and have stayed for two nights on two separate occasions. Once with my husband last year and this year with my mother. We will all probably visit them many more times in the years to come. Very reasonable pricing, terrific hosts, impeccably clean rooms ( and I'm picky) and superb breakfasts. Close to Sauble and Tobermory. Great beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyTO w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedBayRuth, Owner at Haven on the Bay B&B, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our B&B. There is no better compliment we could receive than to have returning guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Bay
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
143 reviews
9.0 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
354 reviews
23.1 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
140 reviews
23.0 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
163 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven on the Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven on the Bay B&B

Property: Haven on the Bay B&B
Address: 424 Huron Rd | South Bruce Peninsula, Red Bay, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Red Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Red Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing