We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Countryside gem”

The Plough and Harrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Litlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Countryside gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We took out a travel zoo deal - 3-course meal for 2 for £29. Excellent deal - although would definitely go there without this deal.
Lovely food in a traditional comfortable pub in a rural village setting. Food, very tasty and well presented. For mains, I had fish of the day, which was gilt-head bream and hubbie had rump of lamb. Puddings were to die for.
Well recommended - the sharing platters looked to be a good option for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    108
    22
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Travelzoo three course meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Yum! Need I say more? Food excellent, service with a smile and lovely setting! Definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neezie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good walker, cycle and dog friendly pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Cycled 50 miles to get there and pleased to say the trip was worth it. Nice to get to a pub with you bike and not be treated as an inconvenience. Great for dogs too. Food pretty typical pub food, but certainly very acceptable!

Helpful?
Thank sussexmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For walkers, dog walkers or just a lovely meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Attentive and friendly service, a varied and interesting menu. A cosy atmosphere with a restaurant area and an area to bring your dog. We shall go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“True hidden gem ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

we have tried most of the nearby hostelries as you will see from our reviews but this pub has , somehow , eluded us .
we were alerted to the plough and harrow via a travelzoo offer so we booked the three course deal and were expecting " the offer " fayre but to our surprise we got one of the best meals we had been served for a while .
the pub has a fantastic array of local food and beer , we had the fish specials and the long man brewery beers , both recommended choices.
the food and beer are both lovely but the only small things that need updating are the wine list and the toilet decor , otherwise highly rated .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough and Harrow also viewed

Milton Street, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Jevington, East Sussex
 

Been to The Plough and Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing