We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaksey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaksey Country Park Cottages
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for a month in between house sale and purchase.
We were slightly wary as the company are just coming out of administration however we need not have worried!
The cottages are amazing! Beautiful open plan rooms which are well appointed, a magnificent location and friendly helpful family running it. The golf club has a new managing couple who produce the most amazing breakfasts and have now started doing Sunday lunch. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just stayed at Oaksey for a month. The unit we were in (number 8) was great. Excellent standard of accommodation. The site has recently been bought back by the original owners who are working hard at the many minor maintenance issues referred to by other reviewers. As they bought it back in December they are at an early stage with this but making quick progress.
The clubhouse is under new operators. The food is excellent and cheap but as it was very quiet it is open daytime only at present.
The local pub (the Wheatsheaf) is very good - gastropub so not cheap but good value. They specialise in steaks and burgers but also have a wider menu and great Sunday lunch. You do need to book particularly at weekends.
Downsides are the very poor mobile reception -Vodaphone seems to be only ok reception and wifi only in the clubhouse.
Cirencester is the best local town, but Malmesbury s worth a visit and Swindon outlet village. There are plenty of walks locally and Avebury is not far away- better than Stonehenge in our opinion.

Room Tip: Our unit number 8 was very good with 2 bedrooms, ideal for a couple or young family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boboWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at Oaksey Park at the end of October, as other people have said, first impressions are not great. The broken sign and overgrown entrance makes you slightly nervous for what awaits you!! The Check in at the Clubhouse was easy and the staff were always pleasant and helpful with any queries or questions. The Clubhouse was shut by 6 every evening and we got the impression that in better times it was probably quite busy and open later. We stayed in the Marlborough which sleeps 6 people in 3 bedrooms. The main bedroom having an ensuite with Bath and seperate shower. The whole cottage was very spacious and decorated to a high standard with lovely fixtures and fittings, however as other people have said you do get the impression that small maintenance jobs aren't getting done which seems sad. The Kitchen was lovely, very clean with a full size fridge/freezer, large oven, microwave and dishwasher (A few tablets supplied) We cooked a proper meal every evening without a problem with lots of utensils. The Hot tub was a joy to have, it was hot and ready when we got there, a man came round every day and checked the chlorine levels and it was very private, having said that though I think it depended which accommodation you had as to how much privacy you got, so probably worth a phone to check if this concerns you, we were in Number 24 which was very private however walking around the site some were very open.

There was a downstairs toilet which housed in a large double cupboard a washing machine/dryer, this was very handy to have to wash out and spin your swimwear from the hot tub, being as it wasn't the weather to dry it outdoors.

All in all we were very happy with our experience at Oaksey Park and thought it was value for money and great for exploring the surrounding areas, there were lots of brochures and leaflets in the cottage of things to do. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Marlborough Cottage 24 was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCurtis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Marlborough Cottage - sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms. Quiet, pretty location. Wi Fi at golf club reception.

Pluses - Very spacious cottage. Clean and warm on arrival, modern decor/furnishings, large bedrooms, quality bedding, beds v comfy. Hot tub well maintained, private and ready to use.

Minuses - Poor digital TV signal on many channels and some fixtures/lights & an appliance were damaged/not working, so reported to reception when we left. Didn't spoil holiday but staff need to keep on top of small maintenance jobs (if not made aware of by guests), especially as they ask for your card details on arrival to cover any damages.

Tip - take clothes hangers, none supplied & every bedroom had a big wardrobe!

Visit - Westonbirt Arboretum in the autumn - beautiful.

Room Tip: No 23 -semi detached and good privacy for hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Oaskey Park was great, relaxing, spacious accomdation! We had a three bedroom, three bathroom cottage and it was spotless! The Kitchen was well equipped and had a large living / dining area. The bathrooms very clean and modern with a large shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we all slept fantastic. The hot tub was clean and the temperature was hot enough to sit in on a cold Oct weekend. The location is excellent - 40mins to Bath and about 20/30 mins to any neighboring town - Tetbury, Bibury, Burford, Stroud. They said the local pub was a 15min walk - but you would be brave to walk it as there is no path, lights and a little bit scary! We decided to drive as it was a lot easier.
This place is great for families of if you want to go with a group of friends as the layout of the cottage is very social. I definitely would go back and would recommend the Oaksey park to friends, families and couples. A great find but stock up before you get there as the nearest supermarket or shop is miles away!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have nothing negative to say about Oaksey Country Cottages. We stayed in a Kemble bungalow and it was perfect. Everything you could need for a relaxing weekend away. The hot tub was already at 40 degrees when we arrived so we hopped straight in! I would highly recomend.

Room Tip: ask for no 16!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aedav_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in a Marlborough lodge with two other couples.The lodge was a great size, open plan living room and kitchen diner downstairs with three good size bedrooms upstairs. And two full bathrooms and a third separate toilet. Perfect size for the six of us to live comfortably but not on top of each other.

The decor was very modern with all mod cons including washer drier. The only thing missing was an iron and we could have done with more oven dishes, it was a challenge to cook for six with the equipment provided.

The hot tub was lovely, very welcome after a hard day exploring, although a little on the small size, although it had 6 seats it was impossible to comfortably fit 6 people in it.

The park itself is actually a golf club so the entrance is very pretty, with a large golfing green and long gravel drive, however the club house and parking area could do with some TLC. The clubhouse also shuts at 6pm so if we wanted food we needed to walk down a pitch black farmers track to reach the local pub, fine when there was 3 men with us but if you are single females I would not recommend this. However the food in the local pub is brilliant so well worth a visit.

The location is also brilliant, we visited Bath, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat and other cotswold villages, none were more than 1 1/2 hours away.

One place to give a miss is the 'Cotswold water park' which is 2 minutes from the lodges, its a total rip off, the 'beach' is man made builders sand, the swimming water is manky, the lakes aren't great so we were a bit dubious about taking a boat out and overall its really expensive, £4 per adult to park and you have to pay for the kids as well, £10 to take a boat out, climbing and water sports were all extra and the tea was £2!. There are so many other fabulous places to visit in the area before even thinking about this one - we felt like we had been robbed!

It is clear to see that the place is in administration, it appears a bit like the owners have given up, the gardens were in need of a decent lawn mowing and weeding, fences painting and the house itself had been in the wars with a lot of damage to the walls on the stairs, there was also mould growing on the roof of the shower which was very off putting. Its a real shame because we actually loved the place and thought we got a great deal for our money, the place has a lot of potential.

We would definitely go back, brilliant base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oaksey Country Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaksey Country Park Cottages

Property: Oaksey Country Park Cottages
Address: Oaksey | Nr Malmesbury, Oaksey SN16 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Oaksey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oaksey
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Oaksey Country Park Cottages Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing