We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stay at Vicarage House takes some beating!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Great Hockham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Clare331
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stay at Vicarage House takes some beating!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It was our second stay at Vicarage House and it was as wonderful (if not more so) as the first: 12 of the family (varying ages) celebrating a birthday and what better way to do so in such lovely surroundings : it really does have everything you need (inside and out). We were blessed with good weather so the pool / tennis court / bikes / BBQs were used throughout our week's stay. It’s a perfect base for keen golfers and the younger members had a fantastic day at Go Ape .

Both the House and the Pool House are impeccably clean (the house manager and her team are so helpful and a phone call away if you need anything). There are bathrooms aplenty and the kitchen has every gadget you can think of.

Katie's recommendations (catering / nearby accommodation etc.) were so helpful when it came to arranging the birthday celebrations. The information you receive in advance with regard to local amenities / things to see and do locally is also very complete

Once you’ve stayed here it’s very difficult to stay elsewhere on a similar break – believe me – we’ve tried it!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you so much. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had lots of fun in the garden and found so much to occupy yourselves in the vicinity. The team at the house work exceptionally hard, aiming for perfection. We are happy you were happy. Katie and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
We could not have had a more lovely extended family to stay. We would welcome you back in a heartbeat. Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Global301...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and grounds. House well equipped.”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location. Safe grounds and the house was very comfortable and well equipped. Within walking distance of local pub. However, recommend the Red Lion in Caston. Go Ape was perfect for a family day out.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you so much! We loved having your family to stay - you were the perfect guests from booking onwards. So happy you made the most of all which goes on in the area including two visits to Go Ape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebrook201...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dream House”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As a family of 15 with a range of ages and all with different wants and needs, this holiday home certainly did not disappoint! We call it our dream house as it has everything you could ask for; from comfortable living to fun entertainment. You will be welcomed to this beautiful holiday home with a friendly smile and we can assure you it won't be a getaway that you will forget. We are already longing to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delia G
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this beautifully appointed, stunning house for a joint family celebration at the end of Sept 2016. The house caters perfectly for socialising, from a very large kitchen that has everything you could need (and much more), comfy lounges with open-fires, a well-equipped games room (this was one of the highlights for our family!), activities such as tennis, cycles, BBQs and a heated pool (another highlight!). The location is perfect - easy to reach, well located for coastal trips, long walks in the countryside...

Katie is incredibly helpful and thoughtful, with lots of information on how to make the most of your stay. The team prepared the house for our stay and couldn't have been more helpful.

I would thoroughly recommend Vicarage House Everything you see on the website and photographs is exactly what you get, but they don't cover the quality and attention to detail that makes this beautiful house a perfect place to stay. We loved our stay and we will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Insect bites
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Dear Linda
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The team will be thrilled you found the house to your satisfaction. Thank you for selecting Vicarage House. Best wishes Katie and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mark68”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week on a family holiday. My fiancees mum and dad were celebrating their 60th birthdays with another 12 of us on how. The main house was amazing, everything was just perfect. It's exactly as advertised but breathtaking nevertheless. The pool house was equally impressive and the pool, tennis etc was perfect for us adults and 6 children. If your looking for extra special then this is the place to go. And a wee word about the house manager and the other staff. Friendly, warm welcome and at the end of a phone if you had any problems. Unforgettable holiday we will all cherish.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
We are so happy you were happy at Vicarage House and the place made your family gathering that bit more special. Thank you for selecting the house and thank you for your praise of the team. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.