We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their kindness saved our holiday”
Review of Puddledock Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puddledock Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a disaster on the first day, out tent broke as we were putting it up. The staff did their best to find a replacement tent, but all shops were closed or didn't stock them. They very kindly put us up in a pod for the night, we got a new tent the next day. If it weren't for the staff being so helpful and kind, my daughter and I would have had to go home, and that would have broken her heart :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KerrynCBR600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Puddledock Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Being a seasoned camper I had not visited this campsite before and was very impressed with the tranquil setting. It was quiet, family friendly and had a great playground as well as plenty of open space for the children to run around. The pitches were very well maintained although lacking in privacy. Not a lot of facilities but those that are there are very well maintained. Expensive to camp but we will visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GrooveExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited just after the May Bank Holiday and I know it was wet but.......
First of all we were put next to the motorhome disposal point!!! we had an electric cable of approx. 30metres and it would not reach the electric point, we were asked for a £40.00 deposit to borrow one of theirs, when we asked if we could move, it was great effort for them, eventually we were moved to another pitch, which was OK it was not the super pitch we had booked but was better than the first.
The toilets were a disgrace, yes it was wet but they were just dirty, there was no hot water in the ladies showers and the water pressure was non existent. The floors were swimming in water before you even got in the showers, you had to put your shoes outside the showers, else they filled with water, I expect the showers/toilets to be passed their best at the end of the season not the start.
On the day we were due to leave, the pitch had to be vacated by noon, which is fair enough, but to have the mower come that close to you that it nearly hits your van is beyond a joke especially when it happens 8 or 9 times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APAJOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked in for a week at Easter 2014 in our campervan with 2 adults and a lively 8 year old boy.
The site: easy to find, just off the main road, booking in quick and friendly (the staff are all really nice and helpful), toilets/showers clean and never had to queue. Reception also doubles as a small shop selling milk, ice creams, bread and various camping essentials. Pitches are well spaced out and fields separated by hedges so it never felt crowded, even when it got really busy - you're not just all parked in rows in one big field, it's nicely designed.
Kids: There's a big recreation field with a childrens play area - it was packed with kids from morning to evening and our son had a great time.
Area: remote, you'll need transport to go anywhere though there are buses from just outside the campsite.
The site is surrounded by forest - you can just walk off the site into the woods where there's miles and miles of walking and cycling trails, including a great walk along an old railway line through some wetlands. We took ordinary road bikes (not mountain bikes) and had no problem with the trails and bridleways, for road cycling, there are lots of quiet little lanes.
Overall: probably the best site we've stayed at as a family, would esp recommend for families, dog owners and people with mobility problems, we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: If you've younger kids, ask for a pitch near to the rec field so you can keep an on them without...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Well after purchasing a new caravan this was offered in our deal. And what a great place. Tranquil site excellent facilities lovely forest walks loads of wildlife dog friendly we are so impressed and we will be visiting again very soon

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank wolf1000s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited this Camping and Caravan Club campsite in March. The site is level (as is the whole county) and is adjacent to Thetford Forest. The booking process was easy the welcome warm and signing in efficient. Pitches are allocated but of a good size. We came with a campervan but there are also camping pods for hire. What we liked: the whole shower block was well designed and spotlessly clean and heated, which is a bonus in cooler months. There is a large children's play area and separate field which if not used for rallies can be used for games. Forest walks can be commenced straight from the campsite and the Pedars Way and the very attractive Pingo Way both pass less than a mile from the site. There is a separate dog walking area and dogs are welcome kept on a lead. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, the only downsides were that the hot water, while very hot at the dish washing facilities was less so in the showers. I would have preferred it a few degrees warmer. There is also some noise during the day from a nearby race track but at night the site is deeply peaceful, enhanced by very little lighting on the campsite or light pollution from any urban area. There isn't any!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gunnewichtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Hockham
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
276 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
439 reviews
5.2 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
302 reviews
8.3 mi away
Brick Kiln Farm - Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puddledock Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puddledock Farm

Address: | Great Hockham, Thetford, Norfolk, Great Hockham IP24 1FJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Hockham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Great Hockham
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Puddledock Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing