We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Away From It All
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
52
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog burnerlocal producemattress topperfairy lightsgas cookercommunal kitchenllyn peninsulatoilet facilitieslovely hamperpeace and quietwelsh cakeswelcome packon arrivaltea lightslittle gemcar parktwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

What an amazing holiday. I have just returned from Away From It All with my partner and two friends. We were lucky enough to have both domes between the group and the entire place to ourselves. We arrived a little later than planned due to some wrong turnings along the way. However Pryderi and Bethan were very understanding and welcoming despite our time of arrival. We were shown around all the amenities and presented with our hamper which went down a treat for breakfast the next day! The next morning we woke up to the sound of nothing except the sound of the stream and the odd bleating of sheep. It was truly bliss. The weather was glorious our whole stay so we were able to have a BBQ outside our domes on both nights. The woodburing stove was amazing and much needed as it was chilly but not uncomfortable on most nights we were there. The location is fantastic, so pretty and easy to explore the rest ofnthe peninsula. We were able to explore Morfa, Morfa Nefyn, Caernarfon Castle, Snowdon (train to the summit was amazing) and some other sites along the way. Beddgelert looked beautiful and I am only disappointed we couldn't stay for longer! We could definitely have stayed for a week and hopefully will next time. The whole peninsula is wonderful! Away From It All was the icing on the cake. Pryderi and Bethan were so lovely and helpful and they have an amazing glampsite! Would highly recommend. I really did feel away from it all and wish I was still there!The chickens laid some fabulous eggs and the sheep (including two lambs) were very cute. Pryderi was able to recommend some wonderful sites including Nant Gwytheryn. Everything you need is here or nearby e.g. A Londis in Y For and supermarkets in Pwllheli. I will definitely try and go back sometime soon! Will recommend to everyone! We stayed in the dome with the Eco toilet farthest away from the shower and kitchen block but it was great and even more peaceful. I loved waking up to the sound of the stream and the dome was very spatious.

Room Tip: If you want the dome with the Eco toilet and farthest away from the shower and kitchen block ask for it! It was so peaceful
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walesrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The surrounding area is beautiful and just spending the day wandering around was wonderful, the dome was perfect, clean and comfortable as well as the facilities that were close by.
We walked a lot whilst we were there, on one occasion up to Nefyn and along the stunning coastline but we also used the bikes available which Pryderi kindly fixed for us, both Pryderi and Bethan were more than helpful throughout our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0lly1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked 4 nights at 'Away From It All' for my girlfriend's birthday. She has never been keen on camping, however she loved this place; the domes are a brilliant idea, with double beds, wood burners, chairs and bedside tables. You'll feel like your hotel room has been transported into a field, complete with sheeps, pigs and chickens! Bethan and Pryderi provided us with a hamper of goodies to use for our breakfast, which was bolstered by the impressive daily egg laying of Molly and Polly. Any leftovers was quickly eaten up by the pigs, which makes recycling much more fun (without the rubbish blue boxes!). There is also plenty to do nearby - walking, surfing, history and plenty of nice pubs / restaurants. I would say if you're looking for a 'outdoorsy' break in a beautiful part of the world, this is well worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just returned from 3 nights 'Away from it all' and it really does deliver everything promised and more. The perfect mix of serene peacefulness with the backdrop of mountains and a small babbling stream, the comfort of a beautiful double bed, made up with perfect white linen and a snuggly welsh wool blanket, the warmth of an open fire inside and a fire pit outside, combined with warm hospitallity and the oppotunity to be as environmentally friendly as you find comfortable (the composting toilet is such a wonderful idea!!).
They really do have everything spot on here. If you want to forget the world and marvel at the beauty away from technology this is pure bliss. The only problem you will have is the difficult decision of if you can tear your self away from your dome to explore the beauty of the area.
If you feel like exploring we can highly reccommend a trip to Aber falls, go early and take a picnic! Beddgelert is lovely for a walk too. Conwy Castle was also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Me and my other half stayed at Penfras Isaf for 4 nights in June and had a fantastic time! Neither one of us are real campers but wanted to try a break that was a little bit different and it definitely paid off. The domes are amazing! Comfortable, cosy (even in torrential rain!) and Pryderi and Bethan are fantastic hosts. We did have one day where we were stuck inside due to torrential rain but if I am honest, it really didn’t bother us. It was an opportunity to really make the most of the dome and relax in such a tranquil setting. The facilities on site we also very good. We warmed to our little gas hobs in the kitchen area and even the composting toilet! We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived and were even given a little hamper of local produce on meeting Bethan (the pork and leek sausages were amazing!!!). The site is also close to Abersoch where you can find a lovely beach and some nice pubs and shops (however pubs don’t serve food between 3pm and 6pm) and a short drive away from Snowdon if you fancy a day out.

I could go on as we really enjoyed the holiday and will definitely be heading back.....maybe even towards the end of this summer with friends! Overall a fantastic little break "away from it all" and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maddiepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews