We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zilwa Attitude

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Zilwa Attitude
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked this hotel with Virgin Holidays, stayed for six nights end of May 2014. Lovely flights with Emirates airlines, a different class to other package holidays (Thomsons/Thomas Cook flights etc) we have been on. On arrival we were very impressed and escorted to a lovely seating area where we were brought a drink. We were given ipad to check in all a very relaxing and easy procedure. Then we were taken to our room which we had upgraded to a 'deluxe couple seaview'. (we had read previous reviews recommending to stay in rooms near the main building) We e mailed the hotel requesting our room to be near the main building, they did e mail back saying the room we had upgraded to, was not near the main building. After a bit of a walk escorted by the receptionist, we were put in room 3214. Room was as expected very clean and rustic as stated on website/brochures,free safe and a fridge with complimentary water, juice and coke replaced each day.Air con good also. However we were very disappointed with the view. We had built ourselves up for this holiday and expected an amazing beach/sea view. You could see the sea in the distance across the gardens and roof tops. Hence next day we upgraded to the same type of room but with a better seaview. Room number 3111 which was much better and nearer the main building also not such a trek in the evening to restaurants and bar. It did cost us another 20 euros per night. (approx £16) You think when booking at home and upgrading you are going to get a great room with a seaview but sometimes its not always the case so beware. As its winter in Mauritius this time of year the weather for us was perfect, not to hot. Being winter it also meant that the hotel was only a third full. So it was peaceful with plenty sunbeds everywhere all day long.Beach towels provided by the hotel. We usually avoid hotels if we read reviews where people say you have to get up at 6am to reserve beds this is not a holiday to us. But we did hear in the months from November through to April the hotel can get busy and beds may be taken a lot more quickly. There was a few children which I was worried about as we usually choose adult only hotels but other than evening meal times we hardly saw them. There were 5 restaurants. One is near the beach area and this is the one they called the 'al a carte', we only had a lunchtime meal here which was very very good, we could of had a evening meal as well but did not fancy sitting on the beach in the dark as we thought it may be ripe with mosquitos. (We already had enough bites)The Main Buffet, Indonesian and Chinese restaurants were fabulous and we could not fault them. Although one night in the chinese the service was a bit slow and there was hardly anyone in, so that does worry us about how there would cope if the hotel was full. Lunchtime we usually ate at taba J bar lovely salad and a choice of sandwiches. Signing for meals and drinks was not a problem we would rather do this than wearing degrading wristbands .Drinks on the all inclusive package was adequate but could of been better. There was only a choice of four cocktails and no spirits on the all inclusive. Only one beer was available (Phoenix). These are minor but a better bar menu would of been so much better. Entertainment most nights very low key and by 10:30-11:30 bar was empty. Sitting on the beach during the day was pleasant other than the regular beach sellers often hassling you it was usually quiet. Waiters always on hand to bring you drinks. Sea not as hoped a bit murky so did not attempt to do much swimming. We did meet Big John and considered his trips but as we were only there for 6 nights we did not want to go on full day trips and they also seemed a lot of money. Nothing nearby hotel.

We decided to try and use the local bus service but hotel had no timetable so we had to go and look for a bus and bus stops The minute you step outside the hotel there is taxis offering you their service and whilst walking to the bus stop they drive past and peep their horn then stop and ask you if you want a taxi, this can be quite annoying and make you jump at the sound of the horn, however this is the way there work, we decided we just needed to get use to the Mauritian way of life. There is apparently a bus stop outside the hotel which we never found and were told a bus only comes every hour but no one could tell us what time in the hour. So we were told to turn right outside the hotel until you come to some traffic lights about 10-15 mins walk the bus comes every 15 mins. We went to Grand Baie 20mins away where you can pick up more buses to most places. From Grand Baie we got the express bus to the capital (Port Louis) 20 mins. This is a place you must visit. Here you can experience the bustling market quite daunting at first but fun. The Caudan Waterfront with a big shopping centre with some lovely shops and restaurants.

Overall a great hotel in a quiet area and would book here again. Food was of great quality, staff very friendly and always helpful. We have every intention of returning to Mauritius but we will try a different hotel to compare it with the zilwa.

Room Tip: Beware seaview rooms not always as expected. Some rooms have a jacuzzi and a bit bigger space, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CYP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Zilwa Attitude on TripAdvisor.

We highly appreciated your positive comments and we have taken note on the points to be improved.

We would like to point out that our Otentik All inclusive bar menu consist of about 20 cocktails and 10 spirits as well as some imported wines like Chateau La Tour from Bordeaux, though we are committed to serve locally bottled wines.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,562
    531
    106
    27
    13
See reviews for
709
1,185
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is wonderful if you just want a holiday with a beach and swimming pools. The rooms are excellent the staff polite helpful and friendly. The views are beautiful. The food I would say is mediocre to acceptable.
However, this is the problem for us: The sea is no more than 2 to 3 ft deep being a man made beach in a lagoon of silt. It is not deep enough to swim, in fact no one swam the whole two weeks we were there. As for snorkelling this is by a boat which runs once or twice a day (depending on the tide) and can only carry 10 people.

If you want the sea to use then this hotel is not for you. Kuoni say it is good for snorkelling seems we have been miss sold a holiday based on our requests.

Room Tip: book sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Zilwa Attitude for your latest stay in Mauritius.

Every comment is extremely valuable and helpful to us in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. Your report has retained our attention. We are sorry to read that you have a mixed feeling about our hotel. We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel,

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quatre Bornes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful. The dinner was pure regal. A variety of Mauritian specialties are served at the 'Taba-J' like 'piscidou' and typically Mauritian sorbet or shaved ice. The hotel's concept was unique. The decoration, the food, the animation and the facilities perfectly represent Mauritian culture. The dinner was pure regal and the staff were warm and very helpful. Zilwa was one of the best hotel I went so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayshree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jayshree,

Greetings from Zilwa Attitude!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Zilwa Attitude and sharing your views with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review on our hotel concept, specialties, decoration, food and entertainment represent our Mauritian culture.

Best regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel recently for a short stay (2 Nights) & it was wonderful and not that expensive. All the staff were lovely & very friendly, we had the perfect welcome with cold flannels, juice & coconut bites sat in the most comfortable chairs while we checked in. Our room was clean, spacious & modern with a lovely balcony overlooking the hotel.also we enjoyed the free water sports and it was amazing .recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anfeain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear guests,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Zilwa Attitude for your holidays in Mauritius and also for your nice feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back this year for another holiday with us.

Sincerely yours,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited for our anniversary / honeymoon for two weeks. The hotel is in a stunning location and the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant if they had tried. They offered a wide range of all inclusive drinks and food in several different locations on the site which is clean and we'll maintained throughout. The rooms were rustic and beautifully decorated in a unique way. The spa was also a delight to use. The pools were clean and warm with excellent amenities close at hand. An absolutely amazing time was had and would definitely go back to Zilwa without a doubt I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Vicki,

Thank you for your nice review and recommendations on our hotel Zilwa Attitude.

We are really happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in Mauritius while being with us and are delighted that we have been able to make your anniversary/honeymoon a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

If you really like to discover the mauritius style u should visit zilwa hotel.it's really more than amazing. However it was a short stay.but service was excellent. Staff were more than expected.very friendly and professional.the view was extremely awesome. I really liked the room.specially what is mentioned on the wall (Dilo dan boul , boul dans la paille).it's a typical creole stylee.beach was fantastic.food was very delicious.i would love really visit again.thank you all specially Nalida to make my stay very enjoyable and unforgettable. Merci........

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Michel,

Thank you for your warm review about your guest experience at Zilwa Attitude.

We are extremely thankful to you for such words of praise regarding the standards of service provided to you all along your stay though it was short and that we have fulfilled your expectations.

We are happy that you like our room and still remember the riddle ‘dilo dan boul, boul dans la paille’ which means coconut, the food and specially Nalida who contributed in making your stay pleasant.

Sincerely,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel recently for a short stay & it was wonderful. All the staff were lovely & very friendly, we had the perfect welcome with cold flannels, juice & coconut bites sat in the most comfortable chairs while we checked in. Our room was clean, spacious & modern with a lovely balcony overlooking the hotel swimming pools & amazing sea views with the mountains in the distance. The choice of food was great, with Chinese & Indonesian restaurants & a buffet which serves different food each night, with lots of choice. We most enjoyed the lunch where we had really good dhull puri, shaved ice & cakes. The water sports on offer were really good too, we went kayaking & took a pedalo along the bay & saw huge crabs & amazing birds on the rocks not too far out. There's a wonderful bar made from an old fishing boat on the beach & beautiful chaise lounges, huge bean bags & hidden canopies for relaxing. In all, a really lovely hotel with incredible views, perfect service, luxury rooms & surroundings but with a really friendly relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. With other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments about the hotel and the “Family Members” (our team members) have been shared with all. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are delighted to learn that we creating memorable experiences to our guests.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcoming you.

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calodyne
1.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
4.1 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
18.8 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zilwa Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zilwa Attitude

Property: Zilwa Attitude
Address: Royal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zilwa Attitude 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zilwa Attitude, situated on the north coast of Mauritius, in Kalodyne, is different and unique with its 100% Mauritian concept. In Creole, “Zilwa” means an “islander.” Entirely thought and designed with the aim of sharing the simple and genuine life of the islanders with its guests, this 4* hotel is a “hymn” to Mauritius. It is the ideal address for holidays full of emotions and pleasures, full of discoveries and encounters, the perfect place to relax, to unwind or just to slow down. Zilwa Attitude offers a breathtaking view on the five islands of the northern coast. The contemporary rustic chic architecture and Mauritian design of the hotel take inspiration from the traditional homes, the old seaside bungalows. The 214 rooms have been customized and designed to match the needs and expectations of each guest; in each category, the rooms have their own identity and personality. True to the hotel concept, guests can discover in any of the 5 special theme restaurants a delicious cuisine, a blend of spicy and exquisite tastes, a culinary know-how acquired from the cultural diversity of the island. Zilwa Attitude invites families, couples and newlyweds to live unique experiences inspired from local traditions: come and share our treasures, our smiles, our music, our art de vivre by the sea…Share our experiences, become an islander, become a “Zilwa”…Such is the hotel’s promise to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zilwa Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing