We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Zilwa”
Review of Zilwa Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zilwa Attitude
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was a very exceptional experience. The culture of Mauritius is very well demonstrated and it was so amazing to have an idea of the history of Mauritius too. The multicultural culture of Mauritius was clearly seen in the food they serves, the decoration of the hotel, the paintings, the cocktail and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cat3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

Your appreciation of our hotel, its concept and the food served are highly motivating for our entire team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Zilwa Attitude and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future,

Warm regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Zilwa for 1 night only (06 July - 07 July 2014)... and it was just memorable. We had an amazing moment there.

In fact, It was a surprise gift for my boyfriend's birthday. The Executive Housekeeper (Amrish) and his team made this event exceptional by organising everything - From the birthday cake to the flowers on the bed and the towels arranged into 2 swans forming a heart. It was just a pleasure for the eyes. This is what I call going the extra miles to exceed the guest expectation.

we really enjoyed the moment. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The variety of choice offered by the Hotel for the restaurant and the food as well as the cocktails is just perfect.

My Boyfriend told me several times that the concept is unique and that if someone really wants to discover a piece of Mauritius but at the same time having all the service which a hotel may offer, Zilwa Attitude is the perfect place for them. I totally agree with him.

The first impression when you enter the hotel is a big WOW Effect. The scene is wonderful. We had a site visit of the hotel, the idyllic scenery and the effect is present everywhere. The room is really lovely, nice and comfortable.

Many thanks for making this birthday royal and which is as he mentioned "one of the best of all"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Natasha,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share memorable experience on TripAdvisor.

It was pleasure reading that the service provided by our “Family Members” met your expectations and that you enjoyed the little attentions for your birthday. We will make sure to pass on your kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope to welcoming you again at Zilwa Attitude (Pamplemousse is not too far!).

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Zilwa from 14-28 June, we have an amazing time, everything was exceptional from the friendly helpful staff, wonderful food and clean, modern unique rooms. The whole layout of the hotel is amazing. We have been to the Maldives 3 times and this resort reminded us of the relaxed and desert island atmosphere you find there, at a fraction of the price. Had some great laughs at the boat bar 'the Ship Inn' as we called it!! Would definitely go back, especially in June. Thank you Zilwa.

Room Tip: We had a seafront room, fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us.

Firstly, we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your holiday at Zilwa Attitude and you have very special memories of your time spent here.

We highly appreciate your comment about our Pirogue Bar , Lor Disab Bar, and will forward your appreciation to our Bars Manager and his team

Looking forward to welcoming you again among us.

Sincerely,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the airport pickup to hotel and return , the whole holiday was fantastic! The reception from all staff was tremendous, we actually felt like royalty! Room was really nice with everything you could need and was cleaned daily by a lovely girl ( Elianah ) . Service and food at all restaurants was exceptional. There was something for even the fussiest of eaters. I particularly like the beach restaurant - the lamb burgers were lovely and presentation of all dishes was 5 star! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they all went out of their way to make our 5 year old grand daughter feel like a princess. Special mention to Ronalto and Rani ...........
We will definitely be back.
Thanks to Claire from Destinology , who once again , made our reservations and plans.........great job x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomLou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Your kind comments about the hotel and the friendly service of our “Family Members”are highly appreciated. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are delighted to read that we are meeting our set objectives.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcoming you.

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the airport pickup to hotel and return , the whole holiday was fantastic! The reception from all staff was tremendous, we actually felt like royalty! Room was really nice with everything you could need and was cleaned daily by a lovely girl ( Elianah ) . Service and food at all restaurants was exceptional. There was something for even the fussiest of eaters. I particularly like the beach restaurant - the lamb burgers were lovely and presentation of all dishes was 5 star! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they all went out of their way to make our 5 year old grand daughter feel like a princess. Special mention to Ronalto and Rani ...........
We will definitely be back.
Thanks to Claire from Destinology , who once again , made our reservations and plans.........great job x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've just returned from a weeks stay at the Zilwa attitude and I find it hard to find any fault.
The hotel is beautiful, rooms are basic as described but clean and very comfortable. We stayed all inclusive which is well worth doing. The food was so good, very well presented and lots of choice. We only ate in the buffet twice, the rest of the time we ate at the á la carte, Chinese and Indonesian restaurants. I never ate the same thing twice (apart from the amazing lemongrass creme brûlée!) there was plenty to choose from.
I would have liked more drink options on the all inclusive. It would have been nice to enjoy an amaretto or one of the flavoured rums in the evening without having to pay extra.
All of the staff were incredibly attentive and welcoming. Special thanks to Melissa who served us most mornings and lunchtimes. She went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and told us a lot about Mauritius and the resort itself.
I don't know why people complain about the beach. I agree it's not the Maldives but as far as beaches go it is pretty perfect. We had no problems with sharp coral, seaweed or rocks? We went in the sea a lot and there seemed to be plenty of people walking/swimming over to the small islands belonging to the resort.
All in all it was a lovely week away and I think the resort caters well for everyone.
I would definitely return, for two weeks next time!

Room Tip: Top floor does give you a great sea view but the ground floor gives you a nice terrace to sunbathe o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Zoe,

Thank you for choosing Zilwa Attitude for your recent holiday, the team and I are delighted that you have spent a perfect holiday and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor .

We have passed your compliments to the “Family Members” especially Melissa who is very delighted that you still remember her name.

Once again thank you and Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked this hotel with Virgin Holidays, stayed for six nights end of May 2014. Lovely flights with Emirates airlines, a different class to other package holidays (Thomsons/Thomas Cook flights etc) we have been on. On arrival we were very impressed and escorted to a lovely seating area where we were brought a drink. We were given ipad to check in all a very relaxing and easy procedure. Then we were taken to our room which we had upgraded to a 'deluxe couple seaview'. (we had read previous reviews recommending to stay in rooms near the main building) We e mailed the hotel requesting our room to be near the main building, they did e mail back saying the room we had upgraded to, was not near the main building. After a bit of a walk escorted by the receptionist, we were put in room 3214. Room was as expected very clean and rustic as stated on website/brochures,free safe and a fridge with complimentary water, juice and coke replaced each day.Air con good also. However we were very disappointed with the view. We had built ourselves up for this holiday and expected an amazing beach/sea view. You could see the sea in the distance across the gardens and roof tops. Hence next day we upgraded to the same type of room but with a better seaview. Room number 3111 which was much better and nearer the main building also not such a trek in the evening to restaurants and bar. It did cost us another 20 euros per night. (approx £16) You think when booking at home and upgrading you are going to get a great room with a seaview but sometimes its not always the case so beware. As its winter in Mauritius this time of year the weather for us was perfect, not to hot. Being winter it also meant that the hotel was only a third full. So it was peaceful with plenty sunbeds everywhere all day long.Beach towels provided by the hotel. We usually avoid hotels if we read reviews where people say you have to get up at 6am to reserve beds this is not a holiday to us. But we did hear in the months from November through to April the hotel can get busy and beds may be taken a lot more quickly. There was a few children which I was worried about as we usually choose adult only hotels but other than evening meal times we hardly saw them. There were 5 restaurants. One is near the beach area and this is the one they called the 'al a carte', we only had a lunchtime meal here which was very very good, we could of had a evening meal as well but did not fancy sitting on the beach in the dark as we thought it may be ripe with mosquitos. (We already had enough bites)The Main Buffet, Indonesian and Chinese restaurants were fabulous and we could not fault them. Although one night in the chinese the service was a bit slow and there was hardly anyone in, so that does worry us about how there would cope if the hotel was full. Lunchtime we usually ate at taba J bar lovely salad and a choice of sandwiches. Signing for meals and drinks was not a problem we would rather do this than wearing degrading wristbands .Drinks on the all inclusive package was adequate but could of been better. There was only a choice of four cocktails and no spirits on the all inclusive. Only one beer was available (Phoenix). These are minor but a better bar menu would of been so much better. Entertainment most nights very low key and by 10:30-11:30 bar was empty. Sitting on the beach during the day was pleasant other than the regular beach sellers often hassling you it was usually quiet. Waiters always on hand to bring you drinks. Sea not as hoped a bit murky so did not attempt to do much swimming. We did meet Big John and considered his trips but as we were only there for 6 nights we did not want to go on full day trips and they also seemed a lot of money. Nothing nearby hotel.

We decided to try and use the local bus service but hotel had no timetable so we had to go and look for a bus and bus stops The minute you step outside the hotel there is taxis offering you their service and whilst walking to the bus stop they drive past and peep their horn then stop and ask you if you want a taxi, this can be quite annoying and make you jump at the sound of the horn, however this is the way there work, we decided we just needed to get use to the Mauritian way of life. There is apparently a bus stop outside the hotel which we never found and were told a bus only comes every hour but no one could tell us what time in the hour. So we were told to turn right outside the hotel until you come to some traffic lights about 10-15 mins walk the bus comes every 15 mins. We went to Grand Baie 20mins away where you can pick up more buses to most places. From Grand Baie we got the express bus to the capital (Port Louis) 20 mins. This is a place you must visit. Here you can experience the bustling market quite daunting at first but fun. The Caudan Waterfront with a big shopping centre with some lovely shops and restaurants.

Overall a great hotel in a quiet area and would book here again. Food was of great quality, staff very friendly and always helpful. We have every intention of returning to Mauritius but we will try a different hotel to compare it with the zilwa.

Room Tip: Beware seaview rooms not always as expected. Some rooms have a jacuzzi and a bit bigger space, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CYP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Zilwa Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Zilwa Attitude on TripAdvisor.

We highly appreciated your positive comments and we have taken note on the points to be improved.

We would like to point out that our Otentik All inclusive bar menu consist of about 20 cocktails and 10 spirits as well as some imported wines like Chateau La Tour from Bordeaux, though we are committed to serve locally bottled wines.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Kind regards,

Ravin Unthiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calodyne
0.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,500 reviews
10.1 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,988 reviews
38.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,667 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zilwa Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zilwa Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Calodyne, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range: £121 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zilwa Attitude 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zilwa Attitude, situated on the north coast of Mauritius, in Kalodyne, is different and unique with its 100% Mauritian concept. In Creole, “Zilwa” means an “islander.” Entirely thought and designed with the aim of sharing the simple and genuine life of the islanders with its guests, this 4* hotel is a “hymn” to Mauritius. It is the ideal address for holidays full of emotions and pleasures, full of discoveries and encounters, the perfect place to relax, to unwind or just to slow down. Zilwa Attitude offers a breathtaking view on the five islands of the northern coast. The contemporary rustic chic architecture and Mauritian design of the hotel take inspiration from the traditional homes, the old seaside bungalows. The 214 rooms have been customized and designed to match the needs and expectations of each guest; in each category, the rooms have their own identity and personality. True to the hotel concept, guests can discover in any of the 5 special theme restaurants a delicious cuisine, a blend of spicy and exquisite tastes, a culinary know-how acquired from the cultural diversity of the island. Zilwa Attitude invites families, couples and newlyweds to live unique experiences inspired from local traditions: come and share our treasures, our smiles, our music, our art de vivre by the sea…Share our experiences, become an islander, become a “Zilwa”…Such is the hotel’s promise to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zilwa Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing