We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calodyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calodyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“Nice and peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Loved the beach and the swimming pool of the hotel. The food (I had only Veg) was average with only limited varieties for veg. Also there shall be marking of food as veg/non veg with green.red dot. The staff was very helpful and polite. Rooms were good. Overall a great experience :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearle76, Guest Relations Manager at Calodyne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kunal,
Greetings from Calodyne Sur Mer Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We thank you for your positive note and your appreciation of the attitude of our staff members. We also take good note of our shortcomings in the presentation of the vegetarian food buffet. We ensure that we are taking the necessary actions to remedy this situation.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    217
    73
    47
    33
See reviews for
142
262
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stay in this hotel last week, this is a wonderful hotel, a bueatiful garden scenery with a large swiming poor in the center, a warm helpful service all the time from step into the hotel to our departure. A kind nice tall guy named Robini is hotel's front office manager, He always at there at guest's request. Thanks to Robini thanks to Calodyne gave me and my family a great holiday and soundful memories.

Room Tip: Upgrade me to the family suite, it's a 3 room house on the second floor, I need it because I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Visited thiz place..awesome atmosphear and peacfull place. Manager is very kind and frandly. Only one fellow name nani (he iz doing animation) is very rude and cheap. Specially with ladies. Gave four stars bcz of that bas¥₩£*.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saniya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearle76, Public Relations Manager at Calodyne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Saniya,
Thank you for having written your comments on stay which you had among us recently. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the services and the friendly approach of most of our staff. Unluckily, you got a bad impression about one of our staff. Indeed, I believe that a misunderstanding of the personality of the staff should have aroused at the time that he interacted with you as Nani has always been getting compliments from other guests for guidance and assistance extended to guests.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience which the incident between Nani and yourself may have caused to you. In whole, we are happy to take note that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel.
Wishing you and your family all the best and we hope to get the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

the food and rooms were not good. as they give priorities to foreigners so dey dnt have any worth of Indians. the Staff is not coordinated wid each others. Except The location dere is nothing in dis resort.

Room Tip: rooms near pools are much better den others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pals0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calodyne hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We went through DPauls (Good travel agent, will recommend to others). The place is situated a bit secluded, but with low crime rates and good policing, that is not much of a problem. In February the weather is quite hot and sunburn is quite common. We got darkened skin but the fun more than made up for that.

The hotel is situated northernmost of mauritius. Mostly we got picked up last and dropped of first, except on south tour day. The hotel has a very nice pool open till 6 pm. The beach is a bit small but feels like a private beach as there are no roads expect through the two adjoining hotel properties. There is a good spa and a shop selling knick knacks which you may definitely like. The hotel also has a taxi service if you want to go out on your off days.

The vegetarian food was bland and wifey was lil disappointed but the non-veg was quite good with chicken and fish, and for the adventurous lot pork, beef, octopus and the food of the gods, squid (calamari)

The staff was very courteous. They know rudimentary hindi out of what they pick up from our films, which are a hit there, but as they normally talk in creole which is a dialect of french, the pronunciations are sometimes hard to understand. The Hotel Manager Robin is a great help and so are the rest of the crew. I remember Mr Pillai from the bar. The DJ enlivens the place in the evenings.

The hotel offers a sega dance night on saturdays and other performances also interspersed in the week. They also offer free kayaking and paddle boat rides. You can lazily lounge on the beach chairs or by the pool (do use sunscreen of a good SPF)

Don't be bothered by the bad reviews because they are mostly from the south african whites, who are a hard lot to satisfy. Many Indian couples as well as French couples would vouch that apart from the bland veg food, rest is good and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Pool or Sea, preferably 1st floor for better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourabh_Dhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

"Excellent treatment"
We booked this hotel for our weeklong stay And it is a unique little gem, really.
We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. Price-wise Calodyne sur mer is on par with these better-class hotels. But the only thing which was not upto mark was food..
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.Hotel manager robin is very helpful.Calodyne sure mer is perfect place to relax and highly recommended for couples...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky_capricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canacona, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa for our honeymoon and we were really happy with the hotel. The hotel is well maintained with a big pool and lounge chairs around the pool and on its beach. The rooms were clean n tidy. The bar was good with good choices of drinks....Only one restaurant though but was nice. The hotel had free activities like pedal boats, kayaks, glass bottom boat ride etc. Its a bit far to travel fr excursions but it really isntt bother...the surroundings were calm n serene. The manager Mr. Robin was friendly and eager to help us out.. DJ Mr. Dennis made us dance to lovely music every night. One night they had a group of sega dancers which was real fun....overall the hotel was really good and worth the stay. Its peaceful and recommended for someone looking for a quiet relaxed holiday.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin14385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calodyne
0.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
4.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Coin de Mire Attitude
Coin de Mire Attitude
#1 of 2 in Bain Boeuf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calodyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calodyne Hotel

Property: Calodyne Hotel
Address: Mirabelle Ave, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calodyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calodyne Sur Mer Hotel Grand Gaube
Calodyne Sur Mer Grand Gaube

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing