We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average budget hotel - smelly beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Segara and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedisan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Average budget hotel - smelly beds!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour, unfortunately staying at the same time there was a large group of French Canadian students. The accommodation is a series of bungalows centred around a courtyard with two rest areas bungalows the centre. With a lot of people congregating in this area it's pretty much impossible to get any peace and quiet to fall asleep.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic with the strangest shower plumbing in the bathroom! The beds smell very musty and are either old or not very clean under the sheets (I didn't want to look!). The food on offer was ok and there is a buffet style dinner available which is better value than the a la cart menu.

A good location for Mt. Batur, but this is the only reason I would be recommending this hotel! I was happy to be leaving the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBali, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Segara and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Please note that new beds and mattresses have been purchased for this hotel as at December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    27
    27
    21
See reviews for
10
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here for a few hours before climbing Mt Batur at Sunrise. Rooms were okay but bathrooms could do with a facelift. Food was good and the Bintang was cheap! If you view the hotel as a place to get some kip before climbing the mountain then it is okay but if you are going to stay in the area for a few days then I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to climb Batur. Only one staff member was friendly and smiling, the rest not so much. Many people in town and the surrounding area seem to be less welcoming to tourists than elsewhere. The volcano was neat but not a must see. I paid much more for the room than it was worth, in hindsight I should have walked or bargained.

Food was standard, common areas are nice, room is clean enough but very basic. Basic rooms should have basic prices!

If you must stay in Kedisan talk them down on the price or try the cheaper (dirtier) place up the road 30m. I also saw some bungalows east of here but don't know anything about them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brdwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kedisan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

came here late at night biking from north of bali. when arrived i ask room for 1 night. first they said all room is full except the 44$ rooms. i ask for cheaper 20$, then they give the superterrible room. NUMBER 7. the bed is smelly, toilet cant fully closed. water flush all the time, supersuper terrible. breakfast is so so, indonesian rice fried. DO NOT RECOMMENDED. i’d rather sleep on my tent than there next time. Period.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frzltngk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you're looking to walk up the mountain for sunrise then this place is fine. It's not about to win any awards, but get a standard room and an early night and you'll be in good shape for the trek.

If you're looking for a romantic escape, then escape to somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBali, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Segara and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for your honest review and understanding that this is not a 5 star western hotel and is great as a cheap base if you want to climb the mountain and stay in the area.

The Hotel is not designed for the Western Tourist and the standard is not to a Western standard, the hotel is designed for the Domestic Indonesian tourist and does well to accommodate the Indonesian standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The outside of the hotel doesnt look bad but the economy rooms are another story. You dont expect too much for the price but the cleaningness and the outfit of the room was terrible. The staff pushed us to book a tour with them and offered 3 different lengths and prices. After booking the medium one we were dissappointed to realize that this was the same as the cheaper short one. The breackfast at the peak was also very dissapointing with not even a drink included. The breackfast at the hotel is ok but nothing special.
If you just want to take a few hour nap before the climb it is ok. If you want to stay any longer in the room look for another choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I spent 1 week at Bali and the 2 days at Kintamani were the worst. While I enjoyed the view and scenery at Batur Lake, the hotel and people who tried to suck my money made me wanting to go back to Ubud asap.

Dirty room, bad service, staffs who lied to you....just imagine the worst.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch00T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBali, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Segara and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for your review, we are sorry your experience was so terrible, this is a common occurrence in the area.

We are happy to advise that your review along with others has helped to convince the authorities to to support this hotel in relation to the aggressive touts/vendors that follow you to the hotel and try to sell paintings or have you climb the mountain for exuberant prices. The Hotel staff have always been helpless to assist guests due to threats on their lives. Many guests mistake the touts for hotel staff as they hang around in the hotel reception and restaurant. In future we hope this area will slowly become a more welcoming place for tourists to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedisan
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 6 in Bangli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
2.9 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#2 of 12 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Segara and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Segara and Restaurant

Property: Hotel Segara and Restaurant
Address: Jl. Raya Desa Kedisan, Kedisan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani > Kedisan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedisan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Segara and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Segara Hotel and Restaurant overlooks Lake Batur with a view of the magnificent Mt Batur volcano. A comfortable basic family run hotel to suit the backpacker or budget conscience traveler. The hotel is designed for Indonesian guests, however we welcome foreign tourists. All rooms have their own porch and outdoor furniture overlooking a Balinese Garden. The hotel rooms range from very basic cold water rooms, ideal to catch a bit of sleep before climbing the mountain, note the beds are sponge. There are larger comfortable rooms with hot water shower and bathtub with four poster spring beds and breakfast included for 2 people, for those that want to stay a few days and get away from the heat and enjoy the mountain air. Ala carte restaurant, rooms service, safe deposit boxes in reception, laundry service and transportation available. Trekking of Mt Batur can be arranged through the Hotel at the cashier (please ensure that your organise with a staff member, not someone that follows you to the hotel). PLEASE NOTE: this is a budget hotel and our services are designed for Indonesian guests and groups, however we welcome foreign guests that want to experience a true Balinese hotel without expecting western services and are respectful of the local customs. WIFI is now available at the hotel. This hotel is located in a traditional village, please ensure you cover your legs if you come to this area and respect the local people, do not walk on the farm lands and do not take photos of the locals, please do not enter any temples while you are in the village. Thank you for your cooperation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Segara and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing