We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, horrid hotel with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Segara and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedisan
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of Intrepid tour. Our room was like something out of an old 1970s horror movie, with peeling paint, plastic covered quilted headboards & faded tropical print bedspreads. My roommate & I wrapped our towels around our pillows. The bathroom is awful with a fine coating of dust over everything, & the shower is hand held over the bath, with no curtain.
The food most of us had for dinner was good, except for the pizza which was terrible & had a sweet base. The banana pancakes were great for breakfast, and the Lewak coffee delicious.
Hope Intrepid change their hotel for the night before the Mt Batur climb.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Positive: Located at the Lake Batur, amazing view. Even though on the booking page of the place it was written that the wifi is available for a fee, it was free. Also there were towels provided.

Negative: The breakfast was scarse and not too good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamergirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour, unfortunately staying at the same time there was a large group of French Canadian students. The accommodation is a series of bungalows centred around a courtyard with two rest areas bungalows the centre. With a lot of people congregating in this area it's pretty much impossible to get any peace and quiet to fall asleep.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic with the strangest shower plumbing in the bathroom! The beds smell very musty and are either old or not very clean under the sheets (I didn't want to look!). The food on offer was ok and there is a buffet style dinner available which is better value than the a la cart menu.

A good location for Mt. Batur, but this is the only reason I would be recommending this hotel! I was happy to be leaving the next morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBali, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Segara and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Please note that new beds and mattresses have been purchased for this hotel as at December 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here for a few hours before climbing Mt Batur at Sunrise. Rooms were okay but bathrooms could do with a facelift. Food was good and the Bintang was cheap! If you view the hotel as a place to get some kip before climbing the mountain then it is okay but if you are going to stay in the area for a few days then I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooperclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to climb Batur. Only one staff member was friendly and smiling, the rest not so much. Many people in town and the surrounding area seem to be less welcoming to tourists than elsewhere. The volcano was neat but not a must see. I paid much more for the room than it was worth, in hindsight I should have walked or bargained.

Food was standard, common areas are nice, room is clean enough but very basic. Basic rooms should have basic prices!

If you must stay in Kedisan talk them down on the price or try the cheaper (dirtier) place up the road 30m. I also saw some bungalows east of here but don't know anything about them.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brdwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

came here late at night biking from north of bali. when arrived i ask room for 1 night. first they said all room is full except the 44$ rooms. i ask for cheaper 20$, then they give the superterrible room. NUMBER 7. the bed is smelly, toilet cant fully closed. water flush all the time, supersuper terrible. breakfast is so so, indonesian rice fried. DO NOT RECOMMENDED. i’d rather sleep on my tent than there next time. Period.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frzltngk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you're looking to walk up the mountain for sunrise then this place is fine. It's not about to win any awards, but get a standard room and an early night and you'll be in good shape for the trek.

If you're looking for a romantic escape, then escape to somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBali, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Segara and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for your honest review and understanding that this is not a 5 star western hotel and is great as a cheap base if you want to climb the mountain and stay in the area.

The Hotel is not designed for the Western Tourist and the standard is not to a Western standard, the hotel is designed for the Domestic Indonesian tourist and does well to accommodate the Indonesian standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedisan
1 mi away
Lakeview Hotel
Lakeview Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
284 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,343 reviews
14.7 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Terrace Bali
Volcano Terrace Bali
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Segara and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Segara and Restaurant

Address: Jl. Raya Desa Kedisan, Kedisan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani > Kedisan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kedisan
Price Range: £10 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Segara and Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Segara Hotel and Restaurant overlooks Lake Batur with a view of the magnificent Mt Batur volcano. A comfortable basic family run hotel to suit the backpacker or budget conscience traveler. The hotel is designed for Indonesian guests, however we welcome foreign tourists. All rooms have their own porch and outdoor furniture overlooking a Balinese Garden. The hotel rooms range from very basic cold water rooms, ideal to catch a bit of sleep before climbing the mountain, note the beds are sponge. There are larger comfortable rooms with hot water shower and bathtub with four poster spring beds and breakfast included for 2 people, for those that want to stay a few days and get away from the heat and enjoy the mountain air. Ala carte restaurant, rooms service, safe deposit boxes in reception, laundry service and transportation available. Trekking of Mt Batur can be arranged through the Hotel at the cashier (please ensure that your organise with a staff member, not someone that follows you to the hotel). PLEASE NOTE: this is a budget hotel and our services are designed for Indonesian guests and groups, however we welcome foreign guests that want to experience a true Balinese hotel without expecting western services and are respectful of the local customs. WIFI is now available at the hotel. This hotel is located in a traditional village, please ensure you cover your legs if you come to this area and respect the local people, do not walk on the farm lands and do not take photos of the locals, please do not enter any temples while you are in the village. Thank you for your cooperation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Segara and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing