We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cute.”

Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Kedisan B&B and Inns
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Cute.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not Spoilt for choice in this area. But i think we choose the best. its totally different to anywhere else. its very simple but thats perfect for the setting Kedisan puts you in. The staff always say hello and are very friendly.
The hike up Mount Batur is AMAZING!

Room Tip: We had the bungalow right by the lake. good views and private. as noone needed to walk pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellCobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After reading all the horrible reviews for accommodation at Danau Batur, we considered not even coming here.

This place was fine, the only problem is the endless, and I mean endless, 24 hour trucks passing full of volcanic sand right next to the guest house.

May be a bit overpriced but you could probably bargain if you just showed up. Internet was functioning, food menu was basic, good fish though. Food was cheap. Rooms were large with two whole sides of full glass windows. This place appears to have no reception desk, only the basic restaurant.
We had no problem with our guide up the mountain but do be prepared to discuss everything clearly. We also paid half up front and half later in order to avoid any potential problems (the guide asked us to pay all in advance).

Overall no complaints except for the loud 24 hour trucks passing by, but that is not the owner's fault. Indonesia really needs to solve this problem if they want to save Danau Batur. I would suggest trying to find a place to the right at the bottom of the hill to avoid the truck sound. May only be for roughing it types on that side, though.

Room Tip: They're all similar in the bungalows by the lake. You cannot escape the truck sounds any where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This bunch of bungalows are beautifully and the place good to climb to the volcano. The room is clean and great but the bathroom is the simple minimum without being dirty. The staff very friendly and the prices are cheap... If you want to climb the Mt. Batur which is by the way a wonderful experience :) this place is perfect and the nice owner can organize a great trip. Overall if you stay near the volcano (which by the way I don't recommend due to the lack of restaurant and activities) I strongly recommend you stay in this hotel :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed in Kedisan do 4 nights. It was probably 2 too many. Apart from climbing the volcano, there is nothing there. I arrived in the hotel at 3 pm and was offered the best pavilion. It was stunning. A glass box 25 feet square overlooking the lake. There are 4 of these, one much bigger than the others. It is shown on the hotel website. The staff are lovely and speak some English. Breakfast is average, but good. Either a banana pancake, rather dry, or scrambled egg and toast. The bread is coloured green and the egg is nuked. The local coffee is delicious. If you have it white, there is no milk, so they add a tin of condensed milk. The mountain guide was there to meet me and signed me up to climb the volcano that night at 4 am, to see the dawn. It is a very hard climb. I had to be pulled up by the guide for the last 45 minutes. It is a 3 kilometre hike from the drop off point, in the pitch black. You need torch. This hike is steep and fast. After an hour you are at the base of mount Batu. The way up is in one of the rain gullies, so is virtually vertical. The soft ash has been washed away just leaving boulders. The guide does not carry your water and breakfast at the top costs 20,000 Rph. There are 2 problems with the hotel. 1 there are Lorries transporting ash for concrete from the volcano ever 30 seconds day and night. The engines are old and they have to rev on the bend at the hotel. It keeps you awake all night. 2 the flies. At the bottom of the garden to the lake are market gardens growing all sorts of vegetables. The use chicken manure on them which attracts thousands of flies. Be prepared to eat lake fish every night, with a tomato and red pepper sauce. It is delicious though. Good destination to climb the volcano, but leave the next day, you will be back from the climb by 8.30 am, so you have time for a shower and rest before checkout at 11 am.

Room Tip: There are 4 pavilions. 3 down one side and the large one on the other. Only 2 have uninterrupted vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedisan
11.7 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#136 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#34 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#10 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Wedang Ubud
Villa Wedang Ubud
#47 of 538 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Jl Raya Kedisan, Kedisan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani > Kedisan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kedisan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing