We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Bleart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bleart
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Durres
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

With my school we went to Albania and also stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was the best hotel of the trip. It is next to the beach, swimming pool, good service and helpful staff, there is a discotheque downstairs and the food was nice. The room itself had good beds, a terrace and a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    21
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
31
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed three nights in the hotel and was pleasantly surprised by some aspects of my stay .The staff ,despite being generally inexperienced ,do try to make your stay as good as possible .The restaurant is clean and dominated by a large chandelier .However,the breakfast is rather sparse and if you do not arrive early there is little left .Evening meal was predictable with hardly any variation but that may have been because I was part of a tour group .
The room had a sea view ,was large and comfortable .The bathroom had a large ,tiled shower which was very slippery when wet .On occasions ,obnoxious odours came from the bathroom but there is a sewage problem which requires addressing .
Despite being located next to a main road there was little traffic noise .The railway was also close to the hotel but it travelled at approximately 15mph so not a problem and there seemed to be few trains .
The pool area was relatively pleasant with a few sun beds ,but that may have been because there were few guests in the hotel .There was a small beach area with sun beds directly out of the hotel and a pier with snack bar .
The Albanian people are very friendly and chat freely .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

There are a lot of mixed reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor. We only stayed for one night and didn't even visit the beach, so our experience of this hotel in quite limited. Overall we were quite satisfied.

The rooms are huge with a well functioning AC. The rooms are modern and clean. The free wifi and TV works well in the rooms. There's a safe in every room. You can exchange money in the hotel reception for a decent exchange rate. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is plentiful. Sleep quality is excellent.

Our only negative comment would be that the hotel is located far from the city center. We also had problems with a stinky sewer for a while in our bathroom. We would anyway recommend this hotel if staying in Durres.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spacious room and bath with attentive staff, nice pool and outdoor dining. Free wi-fi. Good food. Balcony overlooks beach and pool area. Air conditioning works nicely. Breakfast sparse and could offer more choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durres, Albania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great hotel to pass vacations. Beach so nice, room is great, very cleaned every day, food is amazing. Staff very friendly and nice. We had great time.
Food is the best of italian and albanian kitchen. WIFI is free. Nice pool for all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 65Ohion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This review will be a bit longer than usual because I feel that some people in western Europe have missconceptions about Albania and seem to think it impossible or unwise to have a holiday here.
Some of the remarks I heard:
1. It is unsafe
I have been to Albania 3 times and I never felt threatened. In fact, I often felt safer than in my own country on most occasions. In Albania hospitality towards strangers is a kind of national duty and it is considered completely dishonourable to harm them in any way.
Off course one should use common sense and avoid poor districts in bigger towns but this is true for other countries as well.
2. it has no tourist facilities
To my own surprise Albania in fact has a lot of it. The hotel zone in Durres stretches for some 20 km along the coast! However, these facilities have been mostly receiving albanian tourists (not just from Albania itself, but also from Kosovo and Macedonia). They are defintely not used to western style charter tourism. In fact, we were told that we were still amongst the first 250 dutch charter tourists in the country.
3. it has no infrastructure
Roads have improved very much over the last few years and nowadays major towns are linked by rather good roads with plenty of facilities. Off course the derelinct railway system belongs in a museum but railway travel does have its appeal for the really adventurous.
4. people are difficult to deal with
In fact albanians are incredibly friendly and helpful people. Most of them do not speak english but they will go out of their way to help you.

Now for the hotel Bleart, it is located in the hotel zone, some 10 km south of central Durres. It is right next to the beach and there is a small rediential district around the hotel, with shops and restaurants.
It is possible to get to the center of town by public transport. A bus is running along the hotel zone roughly every 30 minutes or so. A one way trip is just 60 lek.
There are no bus stops. You just have to stand next to the road and start waiving when a bus approaches with the sign 'Durres-Golem' on it.

Our room was very clean and spatious with good facilities.
Staff very friendly and welcoming.
The hotel also has a large swimming pool and you can lie down on chairs with parasols right next to the beach.
We did not feel harrassed at all by gypsies or hawkers trying to sell things. Usually a firm but friendly remark that you are not interested will be enough.
At regular intervals you can see suspicious pipes going into the sea. I do have my doubts about the cleanliness of the water.

We tried the restaurant and it was fine. Great italian/seafood dishes, very affordable by our standards.
Later we tried the restaurant 'Alba' right next door and it was even better.

Now there are also some downsides:
1. there is a pier in the sea, opposite of the hotel which has live music at night. This will cause some noise so if you are sensitive to this it is wise to bring earplugs.
2. the restaurant sometimes has weddings during the weekend. These are loud and festive affairs lasting all night, causing even more noise...earplugs....
3. the waiters are nice but clearly not very experienced. With one notable exception (a really nice and competent guy who speaks perfect english) they do not have many language skills and work very slowly. Especially in the breakfast restaurant this is very obvious.
4. the breakfast room is too small and really inadequate. Even though the hotel was not full there were just not enough tables available at peak times. Waiters were really desperate and not able to deal with the situation. Moreover, waiters have to walk a lot of stairs in order to bring food to this room. Why not use the restaurant for this?
5. having a 'please make up my room'/ 'do not disturb' sign in rooms would be useful.
6. the hotel was advertised as having free wifi. However we were told that we had to pay 1 euro for 8 hours of wifi.
When I addressed reception staff about this I was told":"sorry, the rules have changed" and after that I had to pay 100 lek for 8 hours (considerably less than 1 euro).
Such is life in Albania.

All in all, people who want to see a really unusual country and have a sense of improvisation will certainly like this hotel.
Everything is cheap, people are friendly, the food is very good and summers are warm and sunny...hopefully a lot more people will come to Albania.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank nielshartgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Hotel is directly alongside the coast road, but accommodation building is behind so no road noise, and directly on the beach too. Reception and staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and modern with a good sized bathroom (the shower flooded if on more than half pressure). The balcony overlooked the pool with a view of the hotels private beach, hotels public pier, and the coast to the south. Room and communal areas were kept very clean. The waiter serviced pleasant terrace looked out over the pool and beach.
The all 3 courses at the restaurant in the evening were very good and well served. The breakfast was standard continental which is expected. The problem was the organisation, just 2 staff to deal with peak demand was not adequate. Tables were not cleared fast enough, the coffee jug was frequently empty, cutlery was being cleaned so not available, the fried eggs got cold somewhere between the pan and the heated serving area etc. We were also stopped from taking our coffee onto the terrace - because other guests there were paying for coffee to be served from the bar - annoying, we had also paid in the room rate!.
We stayed 3 nights. From mid afternoon on day 1 the terrace began to close and then shut so decorations and catering could be done for a wedding in all the communal areas including the restaurant and bar. Bang went our plan to eat in the hotel after all our travelling that day. Day 2 we ate in the hotel, good food. On the last day we would leave early evening so planned for afternoon coffee & cake on the terrace followed by a few drinks.........but as day 1 - shut again due to more wedding preparations! (Apparently it is a very popular wedding venue).
In short - Enjoyed the hotel room, facilities, view, pool, beach, restaurant, good staff. But breakfast could definately be improved, and not being able to use major advertised facilities as we intended was a big downer. This hotel could easily score more than my '3' rating.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the pool have a better outlook, the end rooms nearest the beach have the best o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durres
2.1 mi away
Adriatik Hotel
Adriatik Hotel
#6 of 38 in Durres
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropikal Resort
Tropikal Resort
#23 of 38 in Durres
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oaz
Hotel Oaz
#3 of 38 in Durres
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premium Hotel Beach
Premium Hotel Beach
#1 of 10 in Golem
10 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aragosta Hotel
Aragosta Hotel
#4 of 38 in Durres
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bel Conti
Hotel Bel Conti
#13 of 38 in Durres
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bleart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bleart

Property: Hotel Bleart
Address: Shkembi i Kavajes, Durres 2001, Albania
Region: Albania > Durres County > Durres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Durres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bleart 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling as a tourist or a businessperson, Hotel Bleart offers you all the amenities you are looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bleart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing