We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice start of trip!”
Review of Hotel Albion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Albion
Ranked #28 of 62 Durres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Albion Hotel was first we stay on my trip through Albania. And that was great start! Really nice and helpfull staff. Room was spacious, clean with AC, and with nice feeling of privacy (what is very important for couple :) ). Very close to beach and main street with many restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrycja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights as it was too much.
In the first apartment that we get is not as reserved.The hotel is said that we are on the third floor, but they forgot to put it to the last three floors of the building, so that our apartment was on the tenth floor.
Hotel has its own elevator, but we had no luck two days stay elevator did not work one day. In our apartment there was no wardrobe, air conditioning was poor and the bathroom we looked uncertain.The first day they promised to replace the apartment, but since it did not fulfill the promise we have the mercifully gone.

Room Tip: We have not seen a good service that we can recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Attention to detail for the customers is primary. We acknowledge your complaints fairly and will endeavour to try to fix these issues as soon as we can. You changed the date of your arrival therefore we could not give you the room we had reserved for your booking. We are a low-budget hotel, the price offered by us is close to cost. You selected an offer to stay for three nights and only pay for two nights for 4 adults in an 74.5 m2 apartment with two bedrooms, bathroom and jacuzzi. Despite our desire to change the apartment we could not assist given your late request to change your booking. Planning for occupancy of the rooms in high season is very important to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

really helpfull staff, speaking good english and italian, as weel as a little bit of spanish, new hotel, new rooms, new bathrooms, production of own beer, located just 4min from the beach, restaurants, bus going to the centre of Durres and to Port. Fresh breakfast served is really amazing...

Highly Recomendable

Room Tip: all rooms with nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miha228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion C, Owner at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much.I appreciate your reviews.
See you again.

VALBONA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Albion hotel is a hotel that offers some hostel services with dorms as well. Valbona and the staff are amazing and really helpful and friendly. They´ve got their own locally brewed beer that you have to try also. It´s great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adhdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valbona T, Manager at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Explore ALBANIA!

You can always rely on ALBANIA for a good time. This tried and tested holiday destination is guaranteed to please with warm hospitality, Mediterranean diet,beautiful beaches, old cities and most importantly, sunshine! If you're yearning for a sunny Albanian break then take a look at our fabulous deals.

See you again
VALBONA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

First of all, the owners of the hotel are very polite and friendly. The hotel also brew their own beer which you can buy with ham and cheese for 9 euros. Money can be exchanged at the hotel in small quantities, but the rates are better at the bank just a 5 minute walk away. These are the only real positives to this hotel.

Now the negatives:

The professional pictures of the hotel do not give an honest view at all. The hotel is situated in run down housing estate that you have to walk through to get to the hotel. From the outside, the hotel looks tired and very similar to high rise housing close by.

The room we had was unfinished with missing light fittings, a cheap bed, thin cheap material for bedding, a very dangerous electrical box in the room exposing bear wires just behind it and a not so clean bathroom that had stains on the toilet when we first arrived. The balcony had a cigarette butt on it, was very dusty, had no seating or table and overlooked the 'local' town of Durres including a communal bin storage area that was frequented by several 'poor townsfolk'.

Everything costs something at the hotel. The city map was offered at 5 euros, WiFi at 2 euros even though it is free at pretty much every bar and restaurant you can find, breakfast at 7 euros and 2 euros if you wanted to bring your own drinks into your room! Very disappointing in comparison to other hotels. We also had 2 items stolen from our room of small value for which an 'investigation' was promised. If we had more time, we would have contacted the police.

The reception was somewhat of a joke. If loud music wasn't blasting out like some tacky nightclub, it was unmanned. When it was manned, everything took sometime to get an answer or a result. The hotel really needs to take their guests seriously... loud dance music blasting out in reception is not what a resident of any hotel wants, they want assistance and answers to queries quickly!

Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are visiting Durres, I would consider your options beforehand. The owners clearly try to offer a good service here, but in my opinion do not meet western standards by a long way. For, on average 40+ euros per night, its not good enough for the cost.

Other information:

You can catch a 'furgon' close to the hotel on the main road to Tirana, just wait and one will pass within minutes. It costs 200 lek to Tirana from here. A taxi from the bus station in Durres will costs approx 5 euros of 650/700 lek to the hotel.

The beach is 5 minutes away walking, the best ways we found was head to the main road and turn left. Cross over and cut through the garden area of the large hotel, near the street market...its about 200m up the road.

Money exchange at hotel was 133 lek to 1 euro. 140 lek at the bank just up the road. Turn right at the main road, cross over and walk for 100m.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion C, Owner at Hotel Albion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

I respect your opinion.
Regarding your title it is to stop clients to come to us. I think that is because you support one of our competitors. The first time it happens that the perfume is stolen. We asked for the name of the perfume and promised to 'you do send us your address. We meet European standards for this price that we offer, the conditions of the room, size of the rooms, furniture, quality of sleep, card entry, minibar, laying flooring, lighting The TV with cable, system , air conditioning system, bathroom with shower Italian quality , balcony, clean, calm, breakfast, service, parking, internet. The only modification is that in Europe or in England paid for the exact same room minimum 3-4 times more expensive. We are working hard to increase the quality of service, but understand we need to have more experience. Your understanding is minimal. People who try to do something for tourism in Albania, which is located in Europe geographically have been supported . Albanians have fought for centuries to defend European civilization, national hero I stopped to join the Turkish empire in Europe.
We are proud of the history of the Illyrians and beyond for our glorious civilization
I hope that you will modify your impressions of something from which I consider personal.

Please give the name of perfume, ml, her address. I promise to send to your girlfriend in her address. Mrs,Valbona Tusha owner and manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They speak English perfectly. They offered us bigger room for the same price. There is a brewery in the hotel and you can taste the beer. In the evening there was DJ playing music or you could sing karaoke.
It is around 5 minutes by walking to the beach, restaurants, promenade and around 15 minutes by public transport to the city center.
There is a parking lot behind the hotel.
You have to pay for the wifi (2 EUR per day). Sometimes they forgot to put the toilet paper or enough towels to the room, but when we asked at the reception, they brought it immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

WWE liked this hotel and certainly the little brewery is a plus - very interesting. The straff is very friendly but are not very helpful when it comes to bus schedules etc. They don't know and also doesn't appear to realize that this is something travellers would appreciate if they helped them with. Otherwise very good service. That they want to charge extra for wifi (2€) and not include this in the price listed for the room is just silly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilasnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durres
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista
Hotel Bella Vista
#22 of 38 in Durres
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aleksiona
Hotel Aleksiona
#19 of 38 in Durres
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Lule
Hotel Vila Lule
#1 of 38 in Durres
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adriatik Hotel
Adriatik Hotel
#3 of 38 in Durres
20 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#18 of 93 in Tirana
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Durres Hostel
Durres Hostel
#1 of 45 in Durres
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albion

Address: Rruga Qafe Bote | Nd.37, H4, Ap.0, Durres 2008, Albania
Region: Albania > Durres County > Durres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Durres
Price Range: £18 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albion 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group Deals in ALBION HOTEL BOOK NOW ! 15 euro/pp min 10pax, During 1 October-30 April min stay 2 nights Stay 7 nights profit 10% off .ALBION HOTEL, would like to draw your attention to the Adriatic coast of and around DURRES, with clean sand-beaches and cultural as well as historical attractions But also modern DURRES offers an invitingly urban and hospitable atmosphere. For the accommodation 3-star ALBION HOTEL provides: • 22 rooms (single, double, twin-bedded, triple and family apartments) • all en suite, with balcony, free TV & Internet access, lift and coach park on the site • breakfast room/ lounge, beer garden of our small family brewery • calm site yet within 5 walking minutes to the clean and safe family beach with children-safe shallow water level coastline • 10 min bus transfer to the city centre of DURRES,• special tariffs for groups: We will be happy to answer all your enquiries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing