We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Staying At Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kotoni Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Gjirokaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like Staying At Home”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is an old Gjirokastër house run by a charming, friendly couple. The house is quite nice, but the owners are even nicer. For example, the day I arrived they offered to wash my dirty clothes. No, I don't think I was terribly stinky, it was just a very homey atmosphere. The view from my window on the first floor was excellent, probably better on the 2nd floor. All-in-all, a relaxing stay. Excellent English spoken. The owners have two kids living in Minnesota and a granddaughter they are dying to visit!

Room Tip: Wifi signal was a little weak in my room at the far end of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlovmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    34
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
80
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aqaba
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After many days cycling through the mountains of Albania the prospect of the climb to reach Kotoni Bed and Breakfast was tough, but it was well worth the effort. The location and views from the rooms are stunning and with the warm welcome of the hosts, we gladly made Kotoni our base in Gyjrocaster for a couple of days. The rooms are homely, like coming to stay with your granny, the breakfast is wholesome and the atmosphere is warm. Even our laundry was washed without charge. Really like coming home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If this is your first night in Albania--as it was mine with my girlfriend--your mind will be blown, first by the taxi ride up from the bottom of town and then by the hospitality of your hosts. The owners recommended spots for dinner and a place to catch the Albania/Slovenia World Cup Qualifying match on a big screen. Didn't steer us wrong with either.

Enjoyed chatting with the proprietors about their kids in America, Albanian history and their personal journey as guesthouse owners. Fascinating, friendly people. Excellent English spoken.

Can't beat it for 25 euros.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was really nice to be welcomed with a cup of tea and a cake! And a lovely cat and three kittens. It had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and felt very homely. You can make you own tea. Room was big and very clean and there was a good view of the castle.

Breakfast was good- cheese, bread, butter, jams eggs and tea. Also the host lady kindly gave me snacks for when I had climbed the top of the castle hill!

Her English was excellent and she was very helpful.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHoliday1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Such a cozy and beautiful B&B with amazing hosts! Our room was beautiful and super clean! Mrs. Haxhi Kotoni was always cleaning and cooking and ironing and most importantly, smiling! :) Amazing breakfast with traditional Albanian mountain tea and Turkish coffee. The hosts were so sweet that if you simply ask for something, I'm certain they'll do all possible to accomodate you. In fact, we arrived at 9 PM for our reservation and did not realize that we ran out of Albanian currency, but still hadn't had dinner. They gave us money out of pocket and trusted us to pay them back and recommended an awesome restaurant called Kujtimi which was like Albanian tapas, which was great to try everything.

And as far as the city of Gjirokaster is concerned, it totally stole my heart. Pictures can't possibly do it justice...truly magical and so well preserved!

Room Tip: the B&B only has 6 rooms and they're all awesome and have the same lovely view of the city a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erminela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Comfortable room in a nice old house close to the centre of town. What really made this a 5 star stay was the owners who were natural hosts and went out if their was to make us feel welcome. They were also very helpful in assisting with our travel arrangements. Basically nothing was too much trouble. Excellent B and B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronblinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I showed up late to Kotoni Bed and Breakfast. I had hit the difficult road (still being made) from the coast, then found myself lost in Gjirokaster. I turned up at about 9pm. I was told that my room had just been given away. From my experience in the Balkans, this is fairly standard practice in major tourist areas. If it looks as if you're not going to show, the hotel can play the odds. I was very dismayed at first, given my long day. My hosts made me a pot of wonderful tea, fed me (for a price) and led me to a room down the street at another B&B. This place wasn't as nice as the Hotel Kotoni, but I met some great French tourists and slept pretty well.

The next morning I was included at the Kotoni's simple but good breakfast--most notable for me getting a full pot of tea AND coffee. I really enjoyed getting to know my friendly hosts that day as I explored the town and rested. They pointed me to a good restaurant and gave me helpful directions out of town and with parking. My room was very nice and comfortable. Wi-fi was pretty good. The hotel is located just above the center of town, about a 20 minute walk to the castle, about a 5 minute walk just about everywhere else.

I did see the last review on here also had a problem with checking in. I think for all people traveling in the Balkans its good practice to call ahead if you are going to be checking in later than midday, and double check your check-in time (Kotoni's closes at 2:30). I would suggest to the owners to extend that check-in time since the roads are so unreliable, it's hard to make it when traveling from Tirana or further especially if you want to see the countryside and people will start to leave more negative feedback.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentlemanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gjirokaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gjirokastra
Hotel Gjirokastra
#1 of 9 in Gjirokaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalemi
Hotel Kalemi
#2 of 9 in Gjirokaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cajupi
Hotel Cajupi
#5 of 9 in Gjirokaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Domino
Hotel Domino
#1 of 17 in Gjirokaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babameto House
Babameto House
#4 of 24 in Gjirokaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kalemi 2
Hotel Kalemi 2
#1 of 24 in Gjirokaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kotoni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kotoni Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kotoni Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lagjia Palorto No.8 | Rruga B.Kokona, Gjirokaster 00355, Albania
Region: Albania > Gjirokaster County > Gjirokaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gjirokaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kotoni Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kotoni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing