We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms and facilities, terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Paradise Apart Hotel
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We had a great weekend in Bansko. The hotel is located about 10 minutes on foot away from the gondola. The facilities of the hotel were quite good (swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa, massage, fitness center). The rooms were spacious and clean, although our towels were not changed everyday. There was a small kitchen and a table in our room. The bathroom was great with hot water all day. The reception area had leather sofas, TVs, a small bar, a pool table and free wi-fi internet access, however smoking was allowed so there was a cloud of smoke all the time and it smelled horribly. The worst part of the hotel was the restaurant where we tasted the worst hotel food of our lives. Definetely prefer eating in one of the nice traditional restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heathcliff_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

Mountain paradise south is a great 4 star hotel,with very good snowboard lovers facilities.Boiling jacuzzi,nice pool and cozy apartment rooms!
Distance of hotel to main gondola,is 10 minutes walking.Wi-fi available in the lobby and the staff very helpful!
Hotel food very good and traditional!
Also what was very important was the safe storage room for our boards!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theodorekakoliris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I just wanted to write a review as there seems to be mixed extreme reviews of Mountain Paradise By The Walnut Tree. I have stayed here twice with my girlfriend.

When you enter the Hotel, It is well presented. nice lobby, Nice reception & Nice Bar. The rooms themselves are fairly basic.. I stayed in a "Studio Apartment" which is pretty much like a large size bedroom with 2 single beds and a table and chairs. There is a small size kitchen and an average bathroom. The room was fine for a couple as we spent only a few hours each night there and spent pretty much the entire day skiing.

I have to say the location (in relation to the Gondola) is great just a 5 minute walk to the lift, but there is a free bus for guests which leaves every 20 minutes in the morning and returns each evening. Even though the closeness to the lifts is great the surrounding area isnt.. There is a lot of rubbish and a lot of rubble as there is still a lot of Building going on in Bankso still! I didnt not notice this my first time here as there was heavy snow and the entire place looked amazing, but last December we went there and the snowfall hadnt really kicked off and there was a huge difference as you could see what a mess the surrounding area was in.

The service in the hotel again isnt much to write home about, it was hit or miss. We found the maids to be very ill mannered and none seemed to speak english. There was no maid service in our rooms so the beds were not made or rooms wer enot cleaned! As for the front desk we met one very nice man who helped us out a few times but the second man at the desk was less than helpful.

We ate at the restaurant once but it was below average and overpriced compared to the great local restaurants in the town. There is a spa which I didnt use but it seemed to be busy enough. The hottube and pool were always clean and heated (pool a little cold)

Bansko town and Resort is nice and well worth a visit, its low end compared to the French and Austria etc but its also half the price. I think over all it is a great place. If you are going for a fun, cheap week on the slopes Bansko is for you, but if you want luxury and amazing facilities you'll have to look elsewhere but you'll pay higher prices!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foshizzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed here for a week during the half term holidays in Feb 2010. Arrived early hours to find the key to our two bedroomed apartment had been lost and they didn't seem to have a masterkey. Once into the room it was warm, clean and spacious. However the stairs to the upstairs rooms were steep & creaky. The beds were AWFUL, I spent the week with my matress on the floor as the bed slats were bowed, the beds were small and had footboards which prevented me from stretching out (I am not tall, 5'10''). There was also a lack of pillows but the hotel staff did fix that later. Plenty of hot water, always warm so could dry ski gear nightly. Apartment has fridge, two ring cooker, hood etc. TV was basic, DVD didn't work. I wouldn't say there was a SPA - a small pool and a frequently empty hottub - both of which you had to pay extra to use. Staff were ok, they still lack the customer service skills we expect in the West but their English is better than our Bulgarian. There is a daily bus service to the Gondola (every 30 mins & it takes 10 mins to travel there), just make sure you get a receipt as they will charge you double at the end of the holiday. Kids go free in the bus. There is a small supermarket across from the hotel but its very basic, there is a better one about 10 mins away in the town itself (Balli's). On the whole it was quiet and we were not disturned by anyone else. Breakfast was unusual by UK standards - not a traditionalbreakfast as we would know it - cold buffet, with a lot of meat & vegetables, even the so called cereal was like cardboard, so we ate toast & jam and bought our own milk & cereal for in the apartment the next day. There are a lot of partly built buildings/hotels surrounding this hotel and the road up to it is a litle uneven - but that is true of the rest of Bansko ! Overall, if the beds has been better we would go back but the lack of sleep would prevent me from returning soon. Better to spend a bit more and get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank slowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed at the hotel in Feb this year. We found the service fine, ie no problems with the hot water. We used the restaurant and spa facilities. The latter were part of the deal and were a highlight. The hotel is also close to the gondola (about 5 minutes).
Generally Bansko was also great. Really good snow conditions helped and we loved the tree lined pistes. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Stayed here in March 2009. Excellent hotel- near the gongola. Cheap cocktails in bar!!lol.There was plenty of snow in bansko & cheap food n drink. Stayed in 1 bed apartment. Had views to mountains & was equipped with everything. Hot water n barman was very helpful. would recommend this hotel. Also leisure facilities were great.Got a massage n was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Stayed here for a week in March. The staff were friendly, rooms were good size. Facilities very good. but the location was great as we could walk to the gondola station in minutes. It was very quiet the week we were there though. Maybe just end of season.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyons25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Park & Spa Hotel
Sunrise Park & Spa Hotel
#31 of 95 in Bansko
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria-Antoaneta Residence
0.4 mi away
Bansko Spa & Holidays
Bansko Spa & Holidays
#84 of 95 in Bansko
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trinity
Trinity
#83 of 95 in Bansko
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
LION Hotel  Bansko
LION Hotel Bansko
#8 of 95 in Bansko
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Paradise Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Paradise Apart Hotel

Address: Muratovo ezero Str 10, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range: £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Paradise Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 2 studio apartments next to each other so if you are with friends they can be next door to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mountain Paradise Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing