We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don t go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Spa Hotel Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spa Hotel Emerald
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don t go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

unbelievably dirty, carpet smell, lies about parking (we paid for that, inspite the fact tha it is said to be free), dirty toilet (we had to buy cif to clean it on our own!!!god!!!), dirty jaccuzzi , which you pay for 54 euros and the shampagne which is provided is at the price of 3 euros!!!totally unfriendly stuff.we went for two days and i m not sure if we managed to tolerate that condition over 24 hours.awfull!and they didn t give us our money back. no hospitality!at bansko it s all about money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    23
    22
    13
    17
See reviews for
27
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Wasn't expecting much of hotel considering previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Their own website doesn't show swimming pool which isn't big but good for kids, plus there's spa facilities which my wife said was okay.
Real pleasure of Bulgaria is the cost of beer/food and the attached bar is great value where its always happy hour (2 for 1) a pint is 5 lev / £2.5.
Prices vary over town with english bars/restaurants being much more expensive, although still cheaper than home.
We were beginner skiers and so the holiday package (via Inghams) was ideal. Ski school was good although queues for gondola were very bad (chaotic and over 30mins wait) from 8.30 (which is when they open). We ended catching taxi's up mountain which cost 30 lev a day, however a good start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westcountrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed at Emerald for 1 weeks skiing holiday. Couldn't fault it. Yes Bulgarian hotels are not the same quality or standard as other European / British hotels but then again you wouldn't be going to Bulgaria unless you were going on a budget holiday. We found the room very spacious with extremely comfortable beds. The staff were friendly as long as you are friendly with them. The dining room is small compared to some of the larger hotels we have stopped in in Bulgaria but we had no problem getting seats for breakfast or evening meals. The meals are varied with enough choice for most people (generally the meals in Bulgaria are always luke warm which is the way the Bulgarians eat their food) but here I was pleasantly surprised that the food was hotter than they normally present it. The spa was clean if a little quirky (carpets and wallpaper in changing rooms - won't last long before they need replacing) and we had several relaxing afternoons in there. As for location it couldn't have been better, minutes away from Gondola lift and several of the best bars in Bansko (Happy End, Daks Bar etc). I have been several times to Bulgaria, (Borovets and Pamporova) but will definitely be going back to Bansko and more than likely the Emerald Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classongrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

pros:
- €80 per nite, 2 people, breakfast and dinner included, tasty food, not too fancy, good selection
- good location, less than 100 yards from gondola
- clean, not noisy
- room with 2 balconies, view to the mountain
- good beer
- nice kitchenette in the room
- room was large


cons:
- definitely not a 4 star
- sign on the door with no disturb, still the lady tenacious to get inside to change towels, LLLOL
- parking not illuminated. another funny stuff, the hotel valet came with me outside to show the parking lot, found 2 local cars park on the lot, he let the tire air go, LLLOL
- in room was a heater that do not work (i guess the temp. sensor defect or not mounted correctly). temp in the room between 70F and 72F, not quite enough for my wife
- bitter receptionist
- local tv. i recommend take from home a portable dvd
dvd
- unfinished infrastructure on the street

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsunnami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2011

What a nightmare. The food was awful (better value at a local mehana), paking which we payed for was an empty lot in the back from which someone in our group had their car broken into, free internet as advertised disappeared on our second day and they began charging us, there was never a manager on duty, the girl at the front desk barely spoke english, they don't accept credit cards and after parking on the street in front of the hotel legally their staff began yelling at me, cheesy furniture and poor lighting throughout. Never again in a million years.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bansko hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Just got back from a very reasonably priced and very enjoyable skiing holiday in Bansko. Spa Hotel Emerald is in a great position about a minute's walk from the Gondola. The Hotel provides good value for money and is well run and friendly. The room we stayed in was clean, well furnished and warm. The food in the hotel isn't bad and is reasonably priced but we ate out most nights. Bansko has plenty of choice and we recommend trying the local Bulgarian restaurants which offer good food at very reasonable prices. All in all we had a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Excellent location at walking distance from gondola station, clean room, rather small spa but great apre-ski massage, free WiFi in lobby, poor food and small dining room.
Two good Bars near by: Flora bar in the hotel and Harry's bar just next door.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank dannyanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.1 mi away
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
#9 of 95 in Bansko
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
hotel Perun Bansko
hotel Perun Bansko
#19 of 95 in Bansko
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LION Hotel  Bansko
LION Hotel Bansko
#8 of 95 in Bansko
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Karina Aparthotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Hotel Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Hotel Emerald

Property: Spa Hotel Emerald
Address: Pirin Str. | Arena, opp Gondola Lift, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Hotel Emerald 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spa Hotel Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing