We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Value for money we paid 45euros per night for small apartment with breakfast ,spa and free transfers to ski lifts.excellent breakfast!! Ski rental lin the hotel with good prices.congratulatio
ns for the receptionists service!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YIO-YIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was a perfect place to spend the week-end with my wife and our 2-year old daughter.
The hotel itself is nice and consists of apartments only.

It is 100% family oriented and nothing for party people.
We loved the kid's playground in the enclosed yard.

The rooms are nicely furnished, well maintained and above all - VERY clean.

What we will remember this facility for is a VERY friendly and professional team, looking after us and the rest of their customers in a very nice, human way, without being "robots".

The facility itself is very pleasant, without being over the top. However, for the price they are charging and the service level they are providing, it is FANTASTIC!

We will most definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was out third visit of Pirin River. The hotel is absolutely perfect in every way. You can feel like home here. Spacious and clean apartments, comfortable sofa & bed, excellent HD picture on both LCD tv's, a fully equipped kitchen, tasty and rich food in the restaurant, warm inside pool (especially important for families with children), excellent steam bath and sauna (working whole day), underground safe parking - free, high speed & stable wi-fi internet throughout whole hotel, polite, helpful and very well organized personnel who make real efforts to make your stay pleasant.
The location of the hotel is great.
You can always take your children in the kids area where they can play with huge choice of toys and have fun.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grizhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you expect a 3 stars hotel, Pirin River will certainly exceed your expectations. I have booked exclusively based on reviews and I was pleasantly surprised even before the arrival due to the very good communication and courtesy showed by the employees. The rooms are nice and cleaned daily, the bedroom is a bit basic, the breakfast is diversified, such is dinner with several cooked dishes. Even the kids enjoyed the food and it is obvious that the chefs are giving their best to satisfy all tastes.
The spa is nice, the pool is not very big, but really relaxing after a day of skiing, the kids enjoyed it a lot.
We rented the equipment from the hotel and they helped us also with the instructor for the kids. One slight disadvantage is that if you have your own equipment, you can put it in a storage room, but there are no utilities for drying the boots inside as in the section for rentals. The transfer to the gondola was upon request, very fast as the hotel is not far and similar to any other bus from other hotels.
The lobby is divided in two parts and is a bit small for large groups. The bar could do better with a real bartender, but the people serving were really nice.The interior yard is very nice. In order to get to the restaurant you have to take a few steps outside, but the advantage is that there is no smell of food in the hotel.
Overall a very nice hotel for a ski holiday. If I go back in Bansko for this type of holiday, I will certainly choose the same hotel. The staff is extremely welcoming, but if you prefer luxury, Pirin is not the place for it. The definition is closer to cosy and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonaPenescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PirinRiver, Manager at Pirin River Ski & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Simona,
Thank you for your positive and perceptive review and above all for your kind words. I am really glad that you and your friends had a good time in our hotel, it was definitely a pleasure to have you here. Thank you also for your suggestions for improvement. We are already working on the improvement of the ski wardrobe and ski rent facilities, so if you decide to come next year, I promise you will not recognize it (in a good way, of course :-) We are gradually working also on the "luxury part", every year upgrading and improving our Reception, Lobby bar, Restaurant, as well as all the apartments. If I was asked what are the two most important qualities that I would like our hotel to be, I would also choose exactly the same ones as you chose to describe it - cozy and friendly. It is great to know that our guests feel the same way about it!
Thanks again and see you in the summer or next winter!
Katarina Golev, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for a week with a group of friends. Place was clean and the staff were extremely helpful! I really recommend Pirin River as it is an organised hotel with all the facilities one requires for a ski trip(nice spa after skiing, worth it!). It was well priced and the management made sure that our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscerri-malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

4th consecutive year we have stayed at the Pirin River and it is the best place we stay all year. Location is wonderful and staff are amazingly helpful, even emailing before our departure to see if we wanted dinner on arrival. Transfers were efficient and value for money, and the shuttle for the slopes was always available for the short journey. Apartments are spacious and small supermarket opposite. Loyalty card issued for future bookings. Amazing value and breakfast was perfect for a good day's skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at a 50+ sq.m apartment on our week long skiing holidays.

Pros:
Great breakfast and delicious dinner ( one o more authentic Bulgarian food reasonably priced
Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk ( with good spoken English)
Comfortable and spacious apartment with good amenities
Good value

Cons:
- The driver of the shuttle bus from Sofia was very unfriendly
- Design of the hotels resembles more apartments for rent than the hotel, common area is very limited and spa is located in the basement, there is no windows in the swimming pool.
- Hotel is located in quite residential area, but at least 15min walking to the gondola lift and old town
- Staff working in the ski rental shop located in the hotel was friendly, however the quality of equipment was very average and requires more maintenance ( skies didn't release locks and she rolled with the skies attached, which cause serious inquiry)

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view room on the higher floor ( but not the top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PirinRiver, General Manager at Pirin River Ski & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Cezary, thank you for your contribution, even if it is written a year after your visit. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked the apartment as well as the breakfasts and the dinners. Even though compared with last year, we have improved both the breakfasts and the dinners considerably. We offer now delicious buffet dinners which are chosen by the majority of our guests every evening. And with all modesty, I can say that our breakfasts are our pride. I am also glad that you found our staff friendly and speaking English well, as this is something we value very much in our employees. Also, I am glad that you liked the apartments, which also have been improved a lot since last year, now each apartment features two flat-screen TVs and new comfortable sofa-beds. And knowing that our guests consider staying in our hotel good value is essential for us, as we are always trying to make sure that our prices are not only reasonable but that all our guests get more than they paid for and not vice-versa. Reading your review now, one year later, makes us all even more proud, because we realize how much progress has been made in the past year. We have fully renovated the swimming-pool and the spa area, which are now much warmer and cozy. We have a new very cozy Reception area which was expanded three times its previous size. It is very nice, homy and a favorite place of many of our guests. Also the Lobby Bar has been expanded, fully refurnished and re-designed and is a lively meeting point of many of our guests. Our shuttle bus goes to the gondola and back to the hotel non-stop, so most of our guests do not even realize it is 10 minute walk. The only thing that surprises me in your review is your comment concerning the shuttle bus from Sofia. We do not have a shuttle bus from Sofia and after I have thoroughly checked our records, I am sure that you did not order a transfer from the airport with us. Probably you have ordered a transfer with some other company. Our drivers, apart from being very good professionals, are all very nice and polite, as you can see from all the other reviews. I hope that you will have a chance to visit our hotel again and experience the great improvements that have been done. Kind regards, Katarina Golev, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.7 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
0.8 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
1.1 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Green Life Ski & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirin River Ski & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirin River Ski & Spa

Address: Ikonom K. Chuchulayn 74-78, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria (Formerly Pirin Rise Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range: £52 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirin River Ski & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pirin River Ski and Spa is TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2015 Winner in three categories - Best Service – number one hotel in Bulgaria, Family (number one hotel in Bansko, number two hotel in Bulgaria) and Bargain (number two hotel in Bansko, number three hotel in Bulgaria). Many wonder – WHY ARE WE THE BEST? Actually, the answer is very simple – we care about our guests and we love what we do. That is why all of us at Pirin River Ski & Spa always do our best to make sure that our guests will have fabulous, fun and carefree holidays. We think that our guests are the ones that can best describe our property. This is what they say.... “…We spent 9 days and every day was special…” “…Amazing service! The front desk was very nice, patient and helpful...” “…If star ratings were awarded on service alone then this hotel would be a 5*…” “…All staff speak English amongst many other languages…” “…On arrival, we were immediately impressed with the hotel and apartment. Both were 'high spec', spotless and modern, yet retaining the traditional Bulgarian style for authenticity…” “…We were pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous room we had with a balcony and a view of the mountains. The living / kitchen area is spotlessly clean with a comfy corner couch, a fireplace, dining table, tv and all utensils and cooking facilities you could need. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of storage and a safe. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean…” “…TV stations with dozens of channels worldwide, Internet connection (WiFi) that was awesome and fast…” “…The Spa is really well looked after, 2 saunas, a turkish bath, a nice size pool and a jacuzzi is what you would expect to find at a 5 star hotel...” “…The pool is nice and both our girls loved it. It was always clean, warm enough (in most of the days it had 31-32 degrees C…” “…Massage and treatments were lovely and very good value!...” “…The food.. I have never eaten better food for that money! brilliant!...” “…The breakfasts were really fantastic! A really substantial variety of food to eat. The fresh fruit salads were really good. The eggs and bacon and chocolate pancakes were really great too….” “…Lots of variety with meals and plenty of fruit and vegetables. We were a varied bunch but there was plenty of choice for us all. We've always gone self-catering before but we will certainly be back half board again in this hotel…” “…The hotel has a cozy bar serving amazing hot chocolate and other drinks - the 2 Lev (65p?) bottles of local beer are awesome…” “…The bar man was really lovely too, very friendly and made terrific cocktails…” “…One of the real selling points for this hotel is that you can get your lift pass and equipment at the hotel! If the equipment you want is not available at the hotel then they will arrange it for you with other shops in the town, they were really accommodating to us…” “…There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the gondola, and we never waited more than 5 minutes for the driver to appear. Perfect with the kids. I didn't have to carry 2 sets of skis far at all!...” “…The hotel organised our transfers to and from Sofia and the drivers were friendly and punctual, and the cars very comfortable…” “…An advantage for us was also the parking…” “…Situated half way between the gondola and the old town it is in a perfect location…” “…I liked the location as it was very quiet, not on a main road or next to any night clubs - however a very short walk to those!...” “…Everything was so easy . We didn't leave the hotel except to ski…” “…You really get there, for a reasonable price, significant utility, quality, simplicity... and a warm atmosphere…” What should we say? Fantastic description! A big THANK YOU to all of you for your kind words! You all are the reason why we love what we do… and an inspiration for us to continue improving… You have not been in Pirin River Ski & Spa yet? Well, maybe it is time for you to visit and write your own story about Pirin River Ski & Spa...right here on TripAdvisor... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pirin River Ski & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing