We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little resort, best value in Europe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ski Bansko

Ski Bansko
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little resort, best value in Europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I love Bankso, been there a few times and although it is relatively small, we have always had good snow and 2600M is plenty high enough.
There are cafe's and bars on the piste (which aren't cheap), the lifts are clean and seem well maintained (no break-downs that we saw).
There are plenty of ski-schools for beginners, although these can be a pain if you're an advanced skier on some of the blue runs.

There is also a shooting range where you can fire .22 rifles, and pistols for a few quid, great fun!

Night life is good, plenty of restaurants from fast-food to traditional Bulgarian, all serve good food.

Overall i'd highly recommend Bansko, if you don't mind a 2.5hr transfer (very cheap though) and the relatively small size it is the best value skiing you'll find. I will definitely return year on year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    452
    202
    107
    64
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This Destination Matches Up Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Bansko was a new ski destination for my partner and me, and considering the economical value of the Bulgarian resort, the piste here matches that of an expensive resort in Switzerland. As a child, my family lived in and thereafter regularly visited ski destinations in Switzerland, and after a long lapse in this great habit, I decided to gradually work back up to these winter holidays. I was thoroughly impressed by the condition of the snow, consistent and beautiful weather, and the seamless operation at the Bansko piste. The only shame is that the destination is suddenly more popular than it can handle, and although the actual piste is vast, the route up the mountain via the gondolas is overcrowded throughout the day. This is quite an expensive upgrade, adding a new gondola route, and I wouldn't expect it will be easing up over future seasons. Since my partner is a less experienced skier, we found that spending a little more to hire an instructor provided fast-lane access to skip as much as an hour's wait in the morning. It's worth considering this reasonable cost to make the most of the day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yanneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect ski center for South Balkans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very good for beginners. Many facilities at reasonable cost. Accessible directly from the city. No bus or car needed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmtrspak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unlucky with the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

For skiing is better to go in February-March.In January, little snow, not all trails are open.And the heat, snow quickly go astray and lumps.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,178 reviews
795 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
“Good to Start....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a good resort for beginners and for people that love skiing. The prices are cheap compare to other european resorts. The access its easy to reach from the town but you have to go early to avoid the huge queues (plus its a ski resort, go early to enjoy the day).

The ski and snowboard classes are very cheap and would recommend you to take classes here if you don't know anything. The resort has snow almost all the time during the season so its a good option to consider. Still, its located in Bulgaria and you would have some understandable issues with that (specially with Sofia and the Airport) but that never kept off of Bansko. Still a very good choice for me when I'm in the region.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski Bansko also viewed

Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
 
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
 

Been to Ski Bansko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing