We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Bansko at St George's Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint George Palace
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski Bansko at St George's Lodge”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Well this is a great find. St George's Lodge is a block of Apartments, Hotel & Spa and is 5 Star. The facilities are first class with excellent large rooms. A large reception with loads of leather sating and the largest fire set up ever. English is spoken at reception so no problems checking in and getting your electronic room key. It has an excellent large resturant with two bars all well priced. There is a shuttle service to and from the town which holds many excellent resturants bars and shops. Skiing is good for all levels. A great place for a family as much cheaper than European ski areas and just as good and in many aspects much better. Yes the gondola takes time, an additional is planned, but it's gret when you get to the slopes and you can ski back to the town, 8K blue run. Will return to Bansko and stay at St George's Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    69
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
118
84
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Not long home from a week in Bansko St George's Lodge. Six of us stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment was great, three double rooms, spacious living and kitchen area and two toilets and two showers. The hotel's spa facilities were great and of high quality. Got an apres ski massage and it was the best massage i had ever got! (~£30 for 75mins). The food and service in the hotel was also fantastic.Would highly recommend this hotel and we are hoping to return next year.
Alot of previous reviews complained about the long waits for the gondola. We headed up the slopes around 11 each day and we had no bother and no waits. As a group of beginners we had a great time, skiing was execellent!
Restaurants in Bansko are excellent and I would highly recommend The Log House restaurant. Brilliant staff, good food and great night out. Another good spot is the Irish Harp, food was amazing, owner was lovely and although it is a bit out of town they have a bus to collect and bring u home! couldn't be better!
All in all had a great holiday, was pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrMatthew776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have just returned from the St George's Lodge Aparthotel and had a fabulous time. We were 3 people sharing a spacious 1 bed apartment. The hotel is located up the hill from the town and gondola, a regular shuttle bus is available.

The reception area is stunning with a huge open fire and warm décor just like a 5 star lodge in North America. The English speaking reception staff were polite and helpful all week. Breakfast was very good- Weekdays served a la carte with warm and cold options, weekends an extensive buffet selection. The hotel delivers authentic Italian-style pizzas to the room which were the best we had in resort, we ordered them several times. The best features are the amazing indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and heated sunbeds around the pool- The perfect place to relax tired ski legs, these facilities are offered at no extra charge.

Minor negatives we experienced:-

-Bansko’s gondola is a notorious bottle neck, you must be there before 8.15am or the queue quickly becomes 1 hour or more, yet the hotel doesn’t serve breakfast until 8am!! Easily rectified if they could leave out tea / coffee, bread and cold meat before 8am for the early birds who want to beat the crowds- It works in Austria

- Limited amenities in the room- We had no washing machine, kettle or even 1 pan for boiling water to make coffee and reception had nothing we could borrow. I understand many of these apartments are privately owned so it may depend what the owner has provided ( The room next to us had everything )

- Only 2 English speaking TV channels- CNN + Sky News

General tips:-

- Buy lift passes daily- We heard of several people whose week-long lift passes stopped working mid-week and were not replaced free of charge. In addition any day you are finishing on the home run there are people stood at the side of the piste offering 20-40% of the day pass rate depending on the time of day

- Restaurants- We had fantastic food at Chateau Antique ( don’t miss the duck pate ), The Irish Harp ( great for watching sport, excellent burgers and buffalo wings ), Victoria ( solid Italian ) and Le Retro ( gourmet sandwiches ). We were less impressed with Penguins ( loud, dreadful band ) and Motikata ( 3 hours wait for food and then verbally abused by the staff / management )

- Hire a car- The resort is fairly spread out and taxis are few and far between. Most restaurants are in town or further away in the old town area. This also allows you to have breakfast and then drive to the top of the gondola, avoiding the queues. The car park at the top gondola station only charges 3 Euros for the whole day ( At the bottom station it is 3 Euros an hour ). We found car hire to be very reasonably priced

We had a very enjoyable week in Bansko with good snow conditions despite it being late season. The resort is ideal for beginners + intermediates and is good value for money. We will definitely return and will stay at the St George’s Lodge Aparthotel every time!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain have a better view than those looking downtown. Superb to open the curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Have just returned from staying in St George's Lodge, we had a very enjoyable stay, the location at the top of the town was perfect, quiet and secluded, but with easy access by foot or shuttle bus to the slopes. The facilities are very good with a large swimming pool, steam room, sauna and small gym all available . The new bar has a pool table and table football. The management team were doing an excellent job and have all sorts of plans for the future. Skiing was amazing , lots of snow and more affordable than other European resorts.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abu-dhabi-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have just returned from a great week staying at St Georges Palace/ Lodge. We didn't want to leave! The hotel was lovely, great location and friendly staff.

We spent our days skiing, the late afternoon playing table football, pool and also in the spa – there is a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, swimming pool and my favourite – the relaxing heated sun loungers.

We went to a different restaurant each evening and were pleasantly surprised by the bargain prices for delicious food! However, I must say that we never found a restaurant that managed to serve all 12 of us at the same time... some of us had to wait longer for our food than others.

I am really looking forward to returning to the hotel next year :-) and may even try visiting in the summer.

Room Tip: D4-301 comes recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottInnes, Director of Sales at Saint George Palace, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Maria,

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Summer is great in Bansko so strongly recommend a visit.

Kind regards,

scott Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Everything was perfect. Our studio was well equipped and nicely decorated, the bathroom vas absolutely clean. We really liked the service - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfect for families with children. There is a playing area for small children right beside the restaurant. The indoor swimming pool is very nice as well as the rest Spa facilities.
The hotel is well positioned with great view to the mountain.
We had a great time and will definitely going to try it in next season!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackageleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The only thing that stops me reviewing this hotel with 5 stars is the very poor wifi connection we were offered.

Travelling in a group of 6, we had a twin bedroom, a double bedroom and a fold out couch (double) in the lounge. The apartment was large enough to feel like we weren't stepping on each other's toes - but we probably could have used another toilet!

The fixtures and fittings were all very modern, the apartment was very clean. We did need to ask for more blankets, as the first night was very cold... but every night after was fine. We also needed to ask for more towels.

The service wasn't too bad, the manager (I think - sounded English) was very upbeat and enthusiastic - looking forward to a great ski season I'm sure :o) Other staff were also pretty good when required.

The spa, sauna and pool facilities were fantastic! Albeit very busy at times, so you may need to squeeze between others if you really can't wait.

Close to the Gondola - there is a free shuttle from 8am-11pm and in the afternoon 3pm-5pm. Outside of that it cost between 4 and 10 leva to get from town to the hotel - depending on which taxi driver you got and whether they would use the meter or not - otherwise it was a 15-20 minute walk... depending on how drunk you are :o)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedwomandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
1.8 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
0.4 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
0.5 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Predela 2 Apartments
Predela 2 Apartments
#18 of 95 in Bansko
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Life Ski & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Palace

Property: Saint George Palace
Address: Kosherinata Str. 5, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint George Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint George Palace is 4* elegant, luxury, modern Spa complex with contemporary design, strategically situated in the Pirin mountain. All the apartments have an incredible mountain view faced at Pirin or Rila mountain or to the town of Bansko. You can also find summer garden and outside bar where you could have a good rest among the nature.The Spa Center is free of charge for all the guests. If you like sauna, steam room, fitness, massage center, jacuzzi, big indoor swimming pool leading to the inside yard with sunbates for relaxation, Saint George Palace is the best place where you can find all this facilities. You can enjoy great service in the Restaurant, Bar Alexandra or Ascalon. The atmosphere in the complex is suitable for family and romantic holidays or congress and conference tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint George Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing