We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel with extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great value hotel with extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed in Hotel Avalon for four nights in July with my girlfriend. We were advised not to go to Bansko out of ski season but we learnt that this is a Sofia prejudice: we actually loved Bansko, yes it has become over-commercialised by the ski industry but the old town is still charming and it's definitely worth a visit any time. James and Vanya are extremely nice and very helpful. James helped us organise a day hiking and climbing in the Pirin mountains with a very nice Welsh guide; a day mountain biking along trails that he marked out himself; a visit to the hot mineral baths nearby; and so on. He and Vanya also recommended various local restaurants including one (I forget the name) which was hilariously over the top, my girlfriend was serenaded by a live band which was incredibly funny and the food was great! The hotel is good too, the rooms are very clean, there are lockable safes, there is free WIFI, etc. The only downside was that our room didn't have air con, but it wasn't a problem. Look nowhere else in Bansko.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
38
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Had a great 3-night stay at Hotel Avalon. James and Vania were very welcoming and helfpul. James gave us some great advice on hiking and the local area and two good suggestions for food (both restaurants were the best we experienced in Bulgaria for our week-long holiday).

The room was clean and spacious with a great shower which is just what you need after a day out walking! The only reason I haven't given a '5' rating is that the bed was a little small.

As mentioned before, it's a bit difficult to find the first time but fine after that. Bansko is a great base for anyone wanting to explore this area and if we come back, we'll definitely come back to Hotel Avalon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldfareCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

As the song goes better than all the rest. James, Vanya and all the staff make Hotel Avalon
something really special. Just read the reviews, we would not stay anywhere else including our apartment as it is such a friendly, relaxed hotel, with an amazing atmosphere. Curry night is brilliant too. Also, the best massage EVER. Can't speak highly enough of this place and can't wait to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband, 8 year old son and myself stayed at Hotel Avalon in January. It was the 1st time we had been on a ski-ing holiday and i feel we could not have choosen anywhere better. James was so helpful, offering advice and was so enthusiastic and passionate about ski-ing. The hotel was brilliant, especially as my son had a seperate room to us. There is nothing to fault this hotel for, the food was excellent as we ate there most nights, curry night is worth every penny. The room were clean and comfortable, the atmosphere was very relaxed and homely and we felt we had gone to stay with friends. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. We will certainly be going back and we certainly be booking into hotel Avalon again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airbud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Just returned from a trip to Bansko where we stayed in the Avalon. James Vanya and the staff are terrific, you can't buy this kind of service, it is obviously a labour of love!
James has every kind of information you could possibly want and he and the staff will give you tips about the best value restaurants, avoiding queues in ski area, and general info about the area.
We had a great view of the mountains from our room (though we did feel like shooting the competing cockerels a couple of mornings) and the food and drink in the hotel are very good value too.
It felt less like a hotel and more like a visit to friends. A great find.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgaillimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The moon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed here with three friends for a ski trip following a recommendation from friends. Amazing hospitality and service; James and co will be happy to help you arrange anything you might need and is a font of all local knowledge.

Good food (certainly by Bansko standards). The curry nights are a must (book ahead as the place fills up at least a day in advance) and the buffet continental breakfast is fresh and plentiful.

A range of massages available in the spa and at £14 for an hour long full body massage you'd be a fool to resist!

A nice ten minute stroll into the center of town / gondola.

All in all there isn't much to fault.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie_Dog_on_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

My partner and I returned yesterday from this remarkable location. While the snow conditions this year weren't ideal, our stay at hotel avalon more than compensated for this fact. The owner James and his gorgeous wife Vanya play the roll of the wise inn keepers perfectly- dispensing valuable information and recommendations on where to eat, what to see and where to hire equipment. The hotel has a warm friendly atmosphere, is extremely good value for money and the bar and lounge have a fantastic homely and social atmosphere where you cant wait to relax in front of the fire and drink a beer at the end of a long day on the slopes.
Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deshepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.4 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 96 in Bansko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 96 in Bansko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elegant Hotel
Elegant Hotel
#11 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: El Tepe 4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bansko
#4 Family Hotel in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Avalon 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is run by an English/Bulgarian family. Based in a quiet residential part of Bansko with great views of the Pirin Mountains, we are just a short walk from the heart of Bansko's old town and the start of the new state of the art ski lift. Family Rooms: We have 4 family rooms, all family rooms have cable TV, fridge, balcony and en-suite bathroom. Our Family rooms have bunk beds and child beds as well as a double bed in an adjoining room; thus can sleep 4 or 5 people. Junior Suites: We have two junior suites with a double bed, balconies, cable TV, en-suite bathroom and great mountain views. Doubles: We have two double rooms on the top floor with great mountain views, double beds, balconies, cable TV and en-suite bathrooms. Twin rooms: We have 5 twin rooms with, cable TV, en-suite bathroom. Triple room: we have one triple room with three beds cable TV, en-suite bathroom. All of our prices include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Bansko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing