We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avalon
Nearby Hotels
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rahoff Hotel(Bansko)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint George Palace(Bansko)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dedo Pene Inn(Bansko)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bisser(Bansko)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$41
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$628
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
159
26
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
26
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry nightthree friendsroaring firehomemade souprecommend hotelhotel ownertop floormini busesgreat hostsrooms are comfortableski hirehalf termhire shopskiing tripplenty of hot watercold meatsfantastic week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is most probably one of the best hotels in Bansko mostly thanks to its staff. James (the owner) is from Great Britain and he is running the hotel together with his wife from Bulgaria. They are always ready to help very quickly (which I appreciated a lot as things in Bulgaria take loooong time mostly). You can find second home here. Breakfast are sufficient (buffet). Do not worry if there is nothing on the tables at the moment you come for a breakfast. They are always bringing fresh food constantly. In general my clients were satisfied with the rooms but few were saying that beds are scrunching. And sometimes they are having problem with wi.fi (which is free of charge btw). Hotel is around 5-8 mins from the town center but don t forget to take map of Bansko. It is VERY easy to get lost (especially after it gets dark!). They have maps available at the reception together with other brochures needed. If you are there with the kids they can try small climbing wall on the side wall of the hotel. DO you really want to enjoy your stay in Bulgaria? Then go for Avalon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank majzitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at Hotel Avalon in July. We were slightly snookered in that we (including a one year old) needed somewhere asap and tracked James down through a friend of a friend. He could not have been more helpful, accommodating us within a matter of minutes, and calming us from a dire situation! Hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street, and a 5 minute walk from the main restaurant/bar area, and 10 minute walk to the town square.

James was a great help throughout our stay, offering plenty of tips and advice on the area. The staff were all very friendly, and James even arranged transport to the airport at the end of our stay. Very nice family atmosphere, and would have no hesitation recommending Hotel Avalon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishRover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We came here to spend some nights in Bansko klimbing mountains. James, the boss of this hotel, was able to assist with valuable tips, his wife and the rest of the crew had been friendly. What else could I say?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kasdsl-sdlfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Avalon, it's owner and staff are brilliant. I stayed with friends on this occasion but looking forward to taking my young family in the future. Hugely accommodating, knowledgable and extremely helpful, James and his family are the best hosts you can hope for. Counting down to the next visit

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossdop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here in March and had a very pleasant stay. If your looking for fluffy dressing gowns and slippers dont come here. The selling point of this hotel is its staff and hospitality which are first class. It may be a 2 star hotel but service is five stars. James his wife and team are all very pleasant and nothing is too much trouble, just ask. Their local knowlege is second to none. Food at the hotel is very good and fresh. Prices are very reasonable. I would say it is about half a mile to the gondola (uphill) and about third of a mile to the old town. Rooms are very clean but dont expect them to be fully cleaned everyday which I think is a pain to be honest.I would definitely stay here again. It is situated in a quiet sort of semi residential area in between the new town and the old town. Internet access was free of charge throughout and for the most part was very good. Hotel caters for all activities in the area and can arrange transport etc. In fact the hotel could cater for your whole holiday. You wont be dissapointed just dont expect the Ritz, not for these prices anyway.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor which had nice views of the mountains
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audpepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews