We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money Hotel”
Review of LION Hotel Bansko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LION Hotel Bansko
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money Hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our first visit to Bansko and the Hotel Lion was typical of other Bulgarian Hotels we have stayed in before at other ski resorts. We booked a late deal through Easyjet holidays so we expected a no frills holiday but was again pleasantly surprised. The rooms were warm, clean and modestly furnished. The pool was a little cold and jacuzzi even colder but we came for skiing not swimming. The food was fine, a choice of fish and two different meats each eve with plenty of veg and a separate salad bar. Im not a fussy eater and knew what to expect so overall I was happy. The staff were always happy to help and practised their English as often as possible. I changed my £ in the resort as you definitely get a better exchange rate than the UK. The skiing is limited with enough runs to keep you going for a week but no longer. The Cafes on the pistes are ok but prices vary wildly from 3lv-10lvs for a plate of chips, the same for a coffee. Overall a good value for money skiing holiday. We did Pamporovo 2013. Going to try Borovets next year.

Room Tip: The only issue we had was a group of English blokes who insisted on slamming doors on return to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralphi669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    148
    51
    25
    10
See reviews for
103
86
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Pleased to say even with all the pleasant reviews on here, the hotel outdid itself. I stayed here the first week of March with my friend, we had a lovely room on the top floor, extremely spacious, clean, and furnished well. The hotel was always warm throughout, even in the lobby area where you just walk in and was lovely and cosy with a log fire which was kept going throughout the day. Bar and service were great with a small shop on the bottom floor, and also one just 30 seconds down the road. Spa was good however we were disappointed that the jacuzzi type pool was cold, would have been much more enjoyable had it been warm. Great location; 5/10 minute walk to the gondola (also had a regular shuttle bus), with restaurants and bars even closer.
Only downside to the hotel was their food. We were half board however mainly ate out at restaurants every night as we were disappointed by both the quality and selection of food.
Overall however, we had a fantastic experience at the hotel and would definitely like go recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good healthy food, nice and clean. However, so noisey especially if you have a room downstairs. Good for families or large parties, but not quite as good if you want to chill with a bit of piece and quiet.

Room Tip: Don't get on close to a main door or on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

lovely modern hotel clean and spacious,staff are very frendly and helpfull.
Nice swimming pool and sauna and steam room.good quality food and a very good bar.
Stayed here with freinds in the middle of feburary and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolf25man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at The Hotel Lion last week for a week - 11 year old,14 year old and 2 adults- overall was a very good stay - Booked into a family room which was very spacious, we arrived from Gatwick at around 0030- was greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and a bag which contained a sandwich and an apple - quick check in.

Food was fine always something for even the fussiest of eaters.

Transfers to ski station on regular basis, but only 5 min or so walk .
Most of the staff at the hotel appeared friendly - and smiling .Exchange rate at hotel very good, and price of beer in hotel Bar cheap.

Only downside (not fault of hotel) lack of snow at resort level -I' am sure Bansko would look a lot better covered in a few inches of snow.

Ski package was pre booked via crystal - tuition was really hit or miss- not very impressed with tuition received from instructor at ulen ski school - was about 15 in group at the start of week - but again this was luck of the draw- others spoken to were happy with instruction and had only 4 or 5 in their group.

Overall a very enjoyable first time skiing and first visit to Bulgaria

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbob333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Lion and overall we were impressed, so much so that I am writing this as my first ever Trip Advisor review. The party consisted of myself, the wife, my 10yr old boy and my 13yr old girl.
I shall start at the beginning..
Good flight, just over 2 1/2 hours. Nice to have a cooked meal on a flight these days. Thomas Cook.
Quick baggage reclaim. No problems. We were told bus number 5 and then had a short walk to find it. The driver popped them into the bus with no tip required and we were on our way. The half way stop was welcomed for a toilet break, a hot snack and a first beer. Prices were cheap compared to the UK.
We got to the hotel at around 11pm and went to check in. The polite chap at reception spoke great english and told us we had been upgraded.....Result... took our passports and gave us our key. Took less than 5 minutes.. Then to our amazement he said the restaurant was held open for us until midnight for a late supper... Result again.. We dropped our bags off in the room which was huge ( I'll come back to that) and went down for something to eat. Our first impression was very good. The soups were hot and tasty and there was always a meat dish and a fish option coupled with a selection of vegetables. A separate cold buffet did the usual salads etc. The mash potato was especially good. The sweets comprised of cakes or fruit. There was always a pizza option for the kids. One night we had a chicken in a nice curry sauce and another night pork in a pepper sauce. The food was always hot (apart from the beans at breakfast one morning) and we always left the restaurant full up..
Back to the room. We had booked a family room and we were upgraded to an apartment which had two rooms, one with twin beds, a large bathroom, a sofa bed, dining table, wardrobe and TV and another separate double room with it's own bathroom, wardrobe and TV. Plenty of space for the ski gear. The rooms were warm but not to hot. If it got hot we just opened the window. The first night there was noise coming into the room from the downstairs nightclub so we bought some earplugs from the local pharmacy (£1.50) and we slept well for the rest of the week. The kids in the main room weren't bothered by the noise. Beds were very comfy. There was no safe in the room so we hired a safety deposit box in reception for the week for 35 lev (£17)
The main lobby bar was pleasant and the staff were very attentive and friendly if you took the time to say hello, remember their names and were civil to them. A large beer was only 4 lev (£2) in the hotel bar. The lobby had a great selection of pancakes and light snacks if you felt like something different. The wifi was prone to dropping out if there were a lot of users in the bar.
The swimming pool area looked great and had nice padded loungers around the poolside but the water was very cold which was disappointing. The sauna and steam room was nice though.
The hotel had 2 shuttle buses to ferry you back and forth to the gondola station and you never had to wait too long and there was always one at the gondola ready to take you back to the hotel after a long day on the slopes. It is an easy 10 min walk if you fancy it. The Happy End pub is a great place to have a bit of apres ski on the way back to the hotel with a live band.
The currency exchange in the hotel was competitive and always had equivalent rates to the kiosks in town.
We booked with Thomas Cook who partner Neilson. Our rep Marina was lovely and always had time and a smile for you. Our lift passes and all necessary ski hire tickets were given out on the bus on the way in so saving us time on our first day.
Overall we had a very enjoyable visit and would suggest that if the pool water temperature and the noise from the night club was addressed this would be the top family hotel in Bansko

Room Tip: Room 443 was the double apartment but does have some night club noise from 11pm on. The rooms to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAJ019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A great hotel. Clean and comfortable. Family rooms very large with a small kitchenette, dinning table and microwave. No equipment or kettle in kitchen which was a bit strange so will need to take a few things if going to do any catering.
Only thing is family rooms are at the front of the hotel and you get occasional noise from a club next door, although this did not appear to disturb the kids.
Spa facilities are brilliant, great pool, steam room and massages are reasonable priced a brilliant after a hard day skiing.
Food is ok but as with all half board, gets a bit boring after a week. If you have fussy eating kids a bit of a problem, ours ate pizza for a week. Lots of lovely fresh fruit and a good Bulgarian breakfast.
Bar reasonable priced and very comfortable with open log fires.
10 min walk to gondola or you can use the bus which leaves ever 15 min.
This hotel was a real bargain for the price you pay and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Family rooms are large with a massive double bed and 2 comfortable twin beds. Be aware of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.7 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
1.1 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Strazhite Hotel
Strazhite Hotel
#11 of 95 in Bansko
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
#9 of 95 in Bansko
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LION Hotel Bansko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Bansko

Property: LION Hotel Bansko
Address: Georgi Nastev Str., Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Bansko 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star LION Hotel Bansko starts December 2005 in one of the most beautiful and peaceful spots of the country - Bansko resort - the newest and most modern ski resort in Bulgaria. Hotel Lion offers a full range of services and amenities to provide you a memorable gateway experience. The hotel has 190 rooms in different room categories: single rooms, double rooms, studios and luxurious apartments, offering comfort and privacy for your stay. Each guest room features private bathroom with a bath-tub and hairdryer, satellite TV, mini bar and direct telephone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your LION Hotel Bansko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing