We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't come back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Banderitsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Banderitsa
Ranked #75 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Won't come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Basic hotel. Four stars? A really bad joke. Spacious room, but cheap-looking furnishing. Very strange bathroom - big and spacious, but uncozy and uncomfortable. Scruffy pool area, small pool. A disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaiIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
23
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I was there with my boyfriend in january for a weekend.The hotel is nice,the food is good and enough,the spa was really nice ,only the pool was too small and the water was quite cold.The only thing that really bothered me was the bad service of the employees,their frowning faces with no smile and kind words,and the cleaning ladies are behaving really bad with the guests.If they improve this very important thing about the hotel everything will be just great.I think that everybody wants the good service and that is one of the main things that make the hotel excelent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

i have been there not only once,
is a nice place, warm and very polite staff.
not very close to the slopes but there is a bus you can get.
it has a nice cafe place and the breakfast served there.
nice view.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week in February for a ski break with another couple. Our room was clean but basic, although we booked an apartment rather than standard room so we had a separate lounge/dining/kitchen area from the bedroom. The overall room was large which is appreciated when you have a lot of ski luggage. That said, there was minimal cutlery etc. We had a kettle and two tiny cups, no teaspoons. One saucer, no plates, a pyrex bowl and two forks - all very random. We booked half board and paid £500 each incl flights with neilson, so were happy to not expect much! Breakfast was OK, pretty bog standard for this type of place (cereal, toast, few hot things, cheese). Evening meals were not brilliant but again standard for this type of hotel and as mentioned before we had not paid a huge amount for the holiday so were happy to eat out in the evening which we did on a couple of nights. We would highly recommend Molerite which is directly across from the hotel (over the river). Very nice food and as usual for Bulgaria, cheap!! Four of us had a 3 course meal with a couple of drinks for a total of 100 Lev (about £50!). May be worth booking a table though as we were lucky to get the last available table. Many others after us were turned away. This hotel was OK and served its purpose for the week, it was warm which is important after a day on the slopes, staff were friendly and helpful. But, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not for you and if we return to Bansko again, we would stay elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyRubble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute Snowboarding holiday over the Christmas period in Bulgaria. It was a Neilson holiday booked through a company we found online called Cheapskiholidays.com.
Our choices were very much guided by the operator as neither of us had ever been on a winter sports holiday and the Hotel Banderitsa was personally recommended by the operator who had stayed with them on a number of occasions.

The Hotel is a three hour transfer from Sofia International Airport – but don’t let this put you off. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 10pm local time and so it was dark and we did not get to see the surrounding area until the morning. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the directions to our room were very clear. The first thing that hit us was the warmth. It was always warm in every part of the hotel. The corridors were clean, fresh and nicely decorated. The décor was very much in keeping with a ski chalet/log cabin theme which was a nice change to the usual white, clinical, characterless, minimalistic look many hotels seem to have adopted.
On arrival to our room, there was a sandwich; an apple and a bottle of water each waiting for us as we had missed the evening meal. This was a lovely touch. The room was lovely. There was a big wardrobe, dressing table, sofa, coffee table, bedside tables and storage for coats and shoes by the door. The bed was huge! It was great. It was like sleeping separate beds but not. Perfect! The bathroom was clean, light and very spacious. We had lovely fresh clean towels every day. The bed was pristine upon every return and not one of our belongings had been touched. I felt very safe leaving personal possessions in the room. There was free wifi, you just needed to ask for the code at reception.

The hotel provided an excellent shuttle bus service (with a very friendly driver) every half an hour to and from the ski resort. It was 5 mins in the bus and even if you missed the bus, the hotel was only a 15 min walk from the resort along the river. I won’t say impossible to get lost but it was very straightforward.

We stayed half board. We were given a card that you had to present at the restaurant each day to prove we were guests. The breakfast and evening meals were buffet style. Again, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the English was fantastic. Typical Brits eh? At each meal, we got a full explanation of what was on offer both Bulgarian options and the other cuisines. My boyfriend has a food allergy and the staff we very helpful in checking with all the staff involved in the cooking, that the food was safe for him to eat. I believe the breakfast sitting was from 7:30. The breakfasts were not the usual ‘continental’ breakfasts that you expect from a buffet style. There were usually three breakfast cereals on offer, white bread which you could toast with the toasters provided, yogurt and a selection of fruits, and then a hot buffet which comprised of scrambled egg, boiled eggs, a Bulgarian flakey cheesy pastry thing (I forget the names of them) frankfurter style sausages… I can’t remember anymore as I stuck to cereal, eggs and toast. I would have liked to have seen bacon etc on offer too but you don’t go abroad and expect everything to be the same, so we tried to embrace the local delicacies on offer.
Evening meals were very interesting and varied. It was clear that the staff had tried to accommodate for many nationalities which was lovely, however it may be of no surprise that the Bulgarian options were much nicer and enjoyable than the carbonara and cottage pie etc. Don’t get me wrong, the food was more than edible, just don’t expect it to taste or look like the cottage pie and carbonara you know. We did not go hungry in the slightest. You could have a little of everything on offer and go back for more of what you discovered you did like. Like breakfast, it was self-service.
The only criticism was the lack of drinks. You could purchase drinks from the hotel to accompany your meals but it was not clear if you had to go to the bar upstairs to do that. You were not allowed to bring drinks with you but it would have been nice to just have some table water on offer to accompany the meals.
We were away on Christmas day and the Hotel put on Christmas dinner for everyone including music and traditional Bulgarian dancing. It was lovely. A really nice touch when you realise you’re missing family and friends back at home. The Christmas dinner was no less than SEVEN courses, again not what you would expect a Christmas dinner to be but if you do visit on Christmas day, no need to eat at all until the evening or possibly until the following evening! So much food! The only unfortunate thing was that the Christmas dinner wasn’t very well advertised to guests. I’m not sure if it was put on for guests of Neilson Holidays or whether it was for everyone staying at the hotel but we only found out about it by chance.
All in all, we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Banderitsa. So much so, that we have already enquired about prices for next Christmas. Next time I think we will book directly and just stay B&B as there are plenty of restaurants up in the old town that are only 10 mins walk away where we can experience different foods and more of the Bulgarian experience. We found that as great as the Snowboarding was, it was exhausting and knowing we had half board made us lazy and not venture out very often. By going B&B we will have to go out and Bulgaria is so cheap that it won’t cost a great deal to eat out every night. It is a holiday after all!
Highly recommended and we can’t wait to go back! Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so relaxed, pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelJCoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a week in the hotel Banderitsa with my daughter, although we did not get there until after midnight the staff were very friendly, curtious and professional in helping us settle in. The bar was open and the price was very reasonable 3.50lev about £1.50 a large beer. The food was mostly very good although you did not get a drink hot or cold with your evening meal.
The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day.
The hotel is situated approx. 15-20mins walk from the central action area of town (the gondola) but they do provide a shuttle service every half hour from 8am-5pm. The steam room, pool and spa area are well worth a visit to ease off the muscles and are free to guest,s
You pay for what you get and although cheap, the Banderitsa is well worth the money paid, a superb little hotel with a big heart.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked to go with a mate for a weeks snowboarding. Not much snow but that's not the hotels fault! Good bargain hotel. Booked a room but got an apartment which was feather large and had a fridge, dining area, sofa, balcony, large bedroom and bathroom with shower. The swimming pool was nice but a tad on the cold side. Didn't get to use the sauna or jacuzzi as there was a school group staying who seemed to hog it. Staff were very friendly and helped when we needed it. Not very much variety on the food but I'm a fussy eater and I survived! Would stay again. A bit out of town but only took 10 mins to walk to gondola on a morning in snowboarding gear when I'd missed the free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie_crawford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.1 mi away
Evelina Palace
Evelina Palace
#48 of 96 in Bansko
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#51 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tanne
Hotel Tanne
#36 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elegant Lux Hotel
Elegant Lux Hotel
#22 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#38 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aneli Hotel
Aneli Hotel
#57 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banderitsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banderitsa

Property: Hotel Banderitsa
Address: Han Asparuh str 2, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
#42 Spa Hotel in Bansko
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banderitsa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art hotel “Banderitsa” is located next to Glazne River, just a few hundred meters away from the gondola station or downtown. The Hotel and its staff will make sure that you experience a most enjoyable stay, benefiting from all kinds of holiday possibilities, ranging from sports to fine arts throughout the whole year.The Complex has thirty four rooms, seventy apartments, pub, restaurant, BBQ garden and a lobby bar. The Spa center of hotel Banderitsa includes a swimming pool, authentic Turkish bath – Hammam, sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Banderitsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banderitsa Hotel Bansko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing