We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope you like it hot!”
Review of Feynan Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feynan Ecolodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I freely admit that my review of this hotel is coloured by the fact that when I arrived there I was suffering from heat exhaustion and spent the night on the bathroom floor vomiting.

This hotel is in the most stunning location. It is also beautifully designed and built. The staff seem helpful and pleasant.

However, be under no illusion, you are in the middle of a wadi in Jordan with no electricity in your room. There is no air con and the fan is not operable. The windows are small and when open you hear animals (hyenas, camels, dogs?) howling all night. All this is far from ideal when you are suffering heat stroke, or even (as in the case of my husband) not suffering from heat stroke.

We were also booked into a twin room, not a double as requested. But maybe in the circumstances, this was just as well.

The food, I am told was basic, and I noticed flies everywhere.

This is an amazing place to stay, but be under no illusion, it is basic and hot, hot, hot. Do not go there if you are lacking the spirit of adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boswarthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was on a mini road trip with a traveller I met in Amman who had booked themselves a room here. After seeing Petra, Wadi Rum etc. I decided to have a couple of nights here too and I'm so glad I did.

We arrived as the sun was setting so we couldn't do the sunset walk which wasn't a problem. We were picked up at a local village and it was a 30min drive in pretty much pitch black (the Bedouins must have great vision!) before we arrived. The lodge is lit up with candles everywhere - an amazing sight and it set the mood for our stay. After our vegetarian dinner (I'm a major meat eater, but the meals were delicious) we had a briefing on what activities were on offer. We were then taken to the rooftop and given an astronomy lesson (we did this both nights!)

Activity wise, we did the short hike (4-5 hours) and the sunset hike the next day. The guides are amazing and so knowledgeable. The stories they tell about Bedouin life and their knowledge on plant life and nature are so interesting and inspiring. Half way through our short hike, we stopped for tea. Our guide literally collected his materials to make a fire and within minutes had the kettle on it. It was a truly peaceful moment - sipping tea in the beautiful landscape that surrounds the lodge.

The lodge itself is stunning. Made from mud/clay (not really sure) there are no electrical lights and all the rooms, hallways, dining area are candle lit. The rooms are super clean and spacious and the beds are very comfortable. There is nothing around for miles so its easy to get a good nights sleep, ready for next days hike. WiFi is also available here but why would you want to distract yourself with what's going on in the 'real world'?!

It was a sad moment to leave this place. Although I didn't budget for the stay (it's not cheap if you're a budget traveler), it's one of those places I would've regretted not seeing if I saw it when I returned home. I've not been to a place quite like Feynan Ecoldge before and not sure if I will ever find one that can compare!

Room Tip: The booking system they have is a little strange. Everything needs to be confirmed by email so try a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Y82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a great place to just get away from everything. it's remote, quiet, dark, i mean really dark and natural.

The people are very friendly, make you feel welcome and help you enjoy the place.

The surroundings are picturesque, very remote with just the odd goat walking by.

We paid for the deluxe double room - it's spacious enough

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent one great night at the Feynan Ecolodge. We arrived in 4x4s from across the wadi near sunset. My partner and I were able to join a little hike with a few others to see sunset. As we watched the sun disappear behind the haze, we were served tea. The atmosphere was wonderfully serene, and I could have sat there for hours.

The lodge offers basic accommodations, candle-light in the evenings (except for the bathrooms). There is a great roof-top viewing platform with mattresses for star gazing. I spent a quiet hour there.

The lodge has adequate buffets for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is beautifully remote. And it is everything that a remote location should be: disconnected and natural. If this doesn't sound like your cup of tea, it probably isn't. But for anyone wanting to spend time truly getting "away," Feynan is quite perfect. The setting is gorgeous and undisturbed by noise and light pollution—it almost looks like you’re on another planet at times. Our room was clean and as well appointed as an eco-lodge should be. (Note to those negative reviewers who were bent out of shape that their sheets weren’t changed daily: that’s not how an eco-lodge works, nor how anywhere should work, really). While vegetarian, the food was delicious and filling and left no one wanting. For the warm/hot months that make up most of the calendar year, this food is perfect: not super greasy or heavy and full of flavor.

Personal highlight: stargazing on the roof at night. It’s amazing to see the entire sky unobstructed by city glare and buildings. Even cooler was the high-tech GPS telescope that allowed us to see Saturn’s rings with clarity and dense star clusters. Our stargazing guide told us interesting tales of constellation naming and mythology.

My friend and I chose to do the Bedouin Experience, a 5+ hour immersion into Bedouin culture. We walked to a number of tented homes and learned about the ceremony of coffee, bread baking, and kohl making. It was fun and our hosts made us feel so welcome. I’d recommend it to anyone—it’s a once-in-a-lifetime experience for most people.

The local Bedouin who manage the lodge and side trips are knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and (bonus!) totally appropriate. All of these characteristics were demonstrated when a member of our hiking party fell and fractured her ankle. The staff immediately jumped into action, calling and coordinating an ambulance (not an easy task as the nearest hospital is 50 km away and the lodge itself is far removed from any main roads). The staff and local community could not possibly have done more to make this potentially nightmare-ish situation more calm and organized.

All in all, I’d recommend Feynan to anyone looking for a bit of adventure and some quality immersion into truly authentic living. Note: This reviewer is by no means a hippie nor someone trying to find an existential experience in every trip. I like clean and I like courtesy. I’m fairly well traveled and have lived in the Middle East for a number of years and still found Feynan to be unique and totally worthwhile. Ignore the naysayer reviews. This place is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything about Feynan is great.

Sunset Walk - what a great way to start the early evening. I can't credit Feynan for the view, but it was remarkable

Star Gazing - we got to see Saturn and other galaxies, the staff was trained well to teach about astronomy and were happy to give that knowledge to others

Dinner was simple, vegetarian, and delicious. Oh, and fresh and good for you.

Breakfast was just as good as dinner.

Room was comfortable, hot water for showers. Bed could have been a little more comfortable, but still got a good night sleep.

We wish we had a weeks time to stay, and would have been happy to do it here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here. Picked up and dropped off at reception centre which is a half hour drive over rough road to eco lodge. We were glad we did not walk from Dana Village it looked like a hot dusty track, not advised in warm weather. Enjoyed the food, candle lighting, and ambience in general. Did a fascinating guided walk when vegetation and bedouin lifestyle talked about. Memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamnothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana
21.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,608 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dana
316 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dana Guesthouse
Dana Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Dana
175 reviews
21.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,310 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dana Hotel
Dana Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dana
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feynan Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feynan Ecolodge

Address: Dana Nature Reserve | Off the Dead-Sea Aqaba Highway, Dana, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Tafilah Governorate > Dana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as one of the top 25 ecolodges in the world by National Geographic Traveler Magazine, Feynan provides an adventurous, enchanting escape into the Dana Biosphere Reserve. The solar powered lodge is lit by candles and stars by night, with 26 en-suite rooms boasting unique arabesque designs. Enjoy regional vegetarian dishes made from local ingredients. Hike or bike across diverse landscapes, discover local Bedouin culture, and explore archeological sites including some of the world's oldest copper mines. All stays are all-inclusive of 3 meal, accommodation and a range of guided activities and experiences including hikes, Bedouin experiences, cooking classes and demonstrations and stargazing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feynan Eco-Lodge Hotel Dana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing